Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hidden Nodes
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Jimson
My group will be breaking into an Ares Testing facility (I’m actually converting a 3rd edition SR Missions “A Dark and Stormy Night� to 4th edition). The Mission discusses camera and a Security Rigger, but it doesn’t mention anything about trying to hack it (node stats). Here are my questions:

1. How common are “wired� facilities in 2070?

2. If I decided to make it a “wired� facility, how would runners bypass the cameras to avoid alerting security?

3. If I make it a “wireless� facility, what is the difference of hiding vs. Matrix Perception (Hacking + Stealth (or Firewall + Stealth for programs/nodes)) (BBB p. 217), and using Electronic Warfare+Scan to detect a hidden node (BBB 225, Detecting Wireless Nodes).

I’m slowing incorporating the Matrix rules as I go, and did not want to learn all the rules at once.
Murrdox
I'm not a Matrix expert, but here's my 2 Nuyen.

1. Wired facilities are as common as you, the GM, want to make them IMO. Wireless in 2070 is easily hackable. Having certain portions of a network being wired-only enhances your security on one hand, but on the other hand it reduces its capability.

2. If the facility is wired, then the hacker would need to find somewhere inside the building to jack in and access the wired network. Alternatively, the hacker would need to locate a WIRELESS node which had access to the wired portion of the network. For example, you might not be able to access all the security cameras wirelessly, but there might be a highly protected wireless security node which is wired up to them all. If you can hack your way into that wireless security node, you'd be able to get to the cameras.