Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: So How does this all work then?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Welcome to the Shadows
DocMorbius
I am new to shadow run in general but I have had a few games and got my head around most of it, I have never played an online pen and paper game though and am a bit confused as to how it runs. Does the GM roll all the dice? is there some kind of online random generator that does that? does everyone have to be online at one time or is it done via email?

any help is appreciated.

P.S Sorry if I am posting this in the wrong place!
DireRadiant
For an online dice roller often used, try http://invisiblecastle.com/

Games are slow, take patience, and often don;t get past the initial meet. Keep trying, the good games are very rewarding. GO read a few threads. Each game is run a little differently.
De Badd Ass
QUOTE (DocMorbius @ Feb 5 2009, 09:42 PM) *
Does the GM roll all the dice? is there some kind of online random generator that does that? does everyone have to be online at one time or is it done via email?

Actually, there are various ways to play online.
  1. Games on Dumpshock use a method called Play by Post. Just like it sounds, you play by posting your actions in a bulletin board thread dedicated to a particular game.
  2. Internet Relay Chat (IRC) requires everyone to be online at the same time. It is like AOL Instant Messenger (or Yahoo, MSN, etc)
  3. OpenRPG is an example of a Gameboard: It is like IRC with GUI enhancements like an interactive mapboard, programable character sheets, etc.
  4. Whereas AIM and IRC act like peer to peer networks, Multi-User Dungeons (MUD), Multi-User Shared Environments (MUSH), etc. are client server network. These systems are usually operating 24 hours a day. Players log on and log off at different times, some at random, some on a regular schedule, and others pre-arrange meetings. The classic MUDs and MUSHes are the text based predeccesors of the MMORPGs like Everquest.