Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I'd misplaced my Deus Ex CD and it caused me to freak out
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > General Gaming
Wounded Ronin
Last night as I lay asleep in bed I reflected how Deus Ex is still the best game in the history of the world and nothing except for Fallout 3 really approached the Deus Ex experience. I got it into my head last night that this evening I definitely had to play Mutations, a pretty cool D&D dungeon crawl style Deus Ex mod someone made. (Mutations website: http://www.freewebs.com/dxmutations/ )

Well, it turned out that I had somehow misplaced my Deus Ex CD! I couldn't believe it. I checked my big CD stack like 7 times but nothing save for Deus Ex seemed to be missing. I tore through a closet and checked a laptop case three times.

That particular Deus Ex CD had went with me from New York State (where as a poor college student I'd originally ordered it used) to New Orleans and grad school, then to Micronesia while I was in the Peace Corps, and then to Las Vegas. Each time I travelled by plane I put it in my backpack or laptop case to keep it close. I played all sorts of mods over and over, which I really had loved, including Zodiac, Shifter, Hotel Carrone, Burden of Proof, The Cassandra Project, and RedSun 2020. I'm still keeping my fingers crossed on UNATCO Born and haven't yet checked to see if The Nameless Mod has been released or not.

So I really, really emotionally freaked out when it became apparent that somehow this CD had been misplaced. I mean I really did.

So you know what I did? I went to amazon.com and ordered myself TWO copies of Deus Ex, one to use, and one for eternal archive purposes. One used copy for like a dollar, and a new copy of the GOTY version for like ten bucks.

One to use, and one to forever be enshrined.

Bwah hwah hwah, I hope my emotional silliness this evening has entertained you.
MYST1C
QUOTE (Wounded Ronin @ May 21 2009, 05:08 AM) *