Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: knasser's campaign log
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
knasser
Okay, my players have all confirmed that they don't read much about Shadowrun online and they haven't read much non-rules material, so I'm going to post my current campaign outline here to see what people think of it. I'll probably keep it up to date with a log of the campaign as well, assuming that our group actually lasts, this time.

A couple of explanations of why things are falling out this way. Firstly, I started playing with 1st edition. I played through much of 2nd, but 3rd passed me by entirely. While I'm fine with moving on through all the events of these editions, my players weren't there for them and it seems a shame that they missed so much. Also, it can be problematic to hit people with everything that's happened in the Sixth World at once. One of the strengths of early Shadowrun was that it was still close to our world in a lot of ways. Fourth Edition actually does an even better job of making orks and trolls and magic feel real than 1st and 2nd did. Everything is so well thought out. But there's still the baggage of the big events. Chicago, Dunklezahn, Arcology: Shutdown. All put together at once, these risk breaking that fragile believability.

So although the technology is the same and the year is 2070, we're having an unofficial and non-explicit reboot. The second post will be more about my actual campaign plan. This will be more about the previous games.