Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Zero Successes on Healing Test
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
bit_buckethead
I am kind of new to Shadowrun and I have a question on healing damage. What happens if the character gets no successes on the healing test? Does he not heal for the base time for the damage level, or does he heal the one level in that base time? Could anyone point me to the rule for this?

Thanks
Bit_Buckethead
Herald of Verjigorm
If you are referring to the natural healing test (Body vs. TN based on damage, measured mostly in days), a total failure takes double the base time.

So a light physical wound, total failure (but not rule of 1) will take 2 days to heal.
Fortune
I don't know the canon rule off-hand, but I would think that a failed Healing test would result in no healing, with the added bonus of +2 to the Healer's TN to try again.

Incidently, A Biotech test is one of the only rolls my character, Fortune ever botched. This resulted in one dead troll, and a very pissed-off Johnson. biggrin.gif

Edit: I assumed the poster was refering to a Biotech/First Aid test.
Kagetenshi
Is there a doctor in the house? ...that isn't Fortune, that is?

wink.gif

~J
bit_buckethead
Whoops, sorry should have been more specific. Sometimes having my head in a bit bucket has it's disadvantages. The rolls to which I am referring to are pages 126-127 of SR3.

The first is the test under "Healing Stun Damage" on page 126. I know that most people don't fail this roll under most conditions but if you have Serious Stun damage and Serious Physical Damage the roll is an 8 (2 + 3 (Serious Stun) + 3 (Serious Physical)). This can sometimes make it hard for a Magic User to heal stun damage quickly.

The second is under the "Stages of Healing" on page 127.

Thanks again,
Bit_Buckethead
mfb
magic can't heal stun damage; otherwise, drain wouldn't suck.
Lilt
Not only can magic not heal stun, it can't heal Drain at-all so magic can't heal physical drain either.