Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Use CFS book?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
wowbragger
Hey,

I'm a Sacramento resident (Sacramentonian? Saccite? whatever) and was eyeballing the pdf release of this book for some localized campaign ideas. However...it's 2ed and to be honest I haven't really read anything outside of 4'th edition books. Will this book feel "dated" compared to info given in core and other supplementary books currently out there?

Honestly, we've only done one real Sacramento region mission so far so we haven't invested too much into the setting here. I know there's always the debate of established setting vs personal creativity in the setting but mostly I'm just looking to see if this book will fit in well with other current resources.
Matsci
QUOTE (wowbragger @ Aug 30 2010, 12:50 PM) *
Hey,

I'm a Sacramento resident (Sacramentonian? Saccite? whatever) and was eyeballing the pdf release of this book for some localized campaign ideas. However...it's 2ed and to be honest I haven't really read anything outside of 4'th edition books. Will this book feel "dated" compared to info given in core and other supplementary books currently out there?

Honestly, we've only done one real Sacramento region mission so far so we haven't invested too much into the setting here. I know there's always the debate of established setting vs personal creativity in the setting but mostly I'm just looking to see if this book will fit in well with other current resources.

It's dated. CallFree is sort of the punching bag for the setting, and got a sever facelift between 2065 and 2070.
Acme
For the area you're going to run in, Sacramento-Chico-Oroville? Probably not. Saito didn't get too far out of Frisco; though he was supported by Sacramento, he didn't get far out and was stymied by C-O. The whole mess retreated to the bay and returned to about where it was before, though still heavily human and Japanese biased.