Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Aiming through Cameras?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
TickTalk
I just started learning shadowrun today and basically decided that I wanted a sniper character. So smartlink comes to mind. But I was wondering if there was a way for me to hack cameras or use camera drones to triangulate a target and use the information from all the cameras to aim my sniper rifle at targets that are say, blocked by cover. If I'm using a high enough powered rifle I should be able to shoot through walls. I just wanna make sure I can hit doing that. Is it possible? Or is that a little too far into the future for shadowrun?

I intend to go pretty heavy on the cyber and bioware so no worries if I need some chrome there.
Christian Lafay
In this world I could see it being done but it would require things like layouts and heavy math. Ever watch Myth Busters and see the guys measuring things on screens for movie myths? It would be like that. "Guy in room A. Guy is approx X tall, get reference. Guy is Y away from wall, use X as reference tool. Compare spot in room to room in building use blueprints." While it would seem completely cool to do to a sleeping target for Ss & Gs I don't see it working for those that might move around. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

As far as camera drones, if you can pin-point their location to a minute figure and they have a range finder on them (and maybe ultra-sound for mapping) and are hooked up to a computer to calculate it all, then that might be an option. Now if Commlinks have GPS and the technology has gotten more accurate then you could probably use that too, if you have a good hacker friend.
PoliteMan
You just basically described a Tacsoft. Look in Unwired.
Christian Lafay
And this is what I get for having GMs who stick to core only, haha
CanRay