Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Somewhat weird character concept question
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
GREGi
Hi everyone!
I have been playing SR for a few years now (3rd edition with some house rules, honestly our group never tried more recent versions) but lately, me and my friend have been reading through Augmentation (SR4 i think) and we encountered an (from my point of view) interesting oversight.

The new cyborg type character (the brain-in-the-jar) is said to have essence lowered due to the procedure to 0.01, but there are no other limitations in this matter. So the question itself is (and I know its weird to do something like that xD I care only for the raw mechanics, ignoring the somewhat crazy background): Did i missed something important or is there an oversight (maybe its intended?) allowing to create cyborg-technomacer (practically useless thanks to the low essence) or cyborg-mage who could "easily" keep his/her magic rating through the use of geasa?

Thanks for all the feedback .... need to sate my curiosity and GM is somewhat busy these days to solve this xD and I really wonder if I overlooked some important fact.

Nice day to you all!
GREGi
Nevermind .... of course I overlooked an important line about "no magic/resonance" in cyborgs a page or two later xD
.... sorry for the post then!
KCKitsune
QUOTE (GREGi @ Jun 11 2017, 06:03 PM) *
Nevermind .... of course I overlooked an important line about "no magic/resonance" in cyborgs a page or two later xD
.... sorry for the post then!

No problem. Most likely the developers saw that exact thing and said "Hey! Wait a minute!" and hastily wrote that rule in.
SpellBinder