Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Licensing Magic
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
JanessaVR
The laws surrounding magic are a mish-mash of references spawning multiple editions at this point, so which ones you end up using are kind of like visiting a salad bar. That said, looking over them I definitely see some issues.

The Basics

The most comprehensive reference I’ve found is the old Lone Star sourcebook, pp. 54-59. There are some “Magic and the Law” sections in SR4 Street Magic, pp. 13-14 and SR5 Street Grimoire, pp. 26-27, but they’re more general than specific. So I’m trying to get an idea on what the laws on magic use and mage registration are in at least the major countries of the Sixth World. The following are my comments on various legal components regarding magic that have popped up across the editions.

Licensing Individual Spells

I’m a programmer, and this would be like trying to license every individual program I create. I can always create more, in fact I could create multiple new programs per day if I’m just ripping up old programs for pieces of new ones. Trying to license all of those would be a fool’s errand of the highest order. Regardless of their intentions, I don’t see this requirement lasting very long, especially as there’s absolutely no way to confirm which spells a magician knows.

Limits on Foci Power

How does this make sense? They can’t exactly run your magic wand over a desktop scanner and then proclaim “Yup, that’s a Force 4 Summoning Focus.” The rating scale exists for players, not NPCs in-universe. If they wanted to invent the “Johnson-Smith” rating scale for magic in-universe then that would be different, but so far I see no evidence of that.

Licensing Fees