Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Guy - Question on Mind Probe
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Eugene
I'm new to GMing Shadowrun and I have a few questions for you fine folks. One of my players, a Shadowrun veteran, has a shaman with (amongst other things) the Mind Probe spell. I have two questions on how it works - does the target get a spell resistance test (yes, right?) and, more importantly, since the spell is sustained, does that mean that he would enjoy however many successes he had as long as the target was in range, or would each additional piece of info force a reroll at the +2 cumulative penalty?
DV8
From memory; the spell requires a willing participant. If the participant isn't willing, he or she gets a Willpower(Force) test to resist. Stage successes up and down as appropriate.

The subject may probe for one piece of information per Initiative Pass. For each additional use of the Mind Probe against the same target within a number of hours equal to the target's Willpower, add +2 to the target number per attempt.

I interpret this as followed; as long as the caster sustains the spell he can glean 1 piece of information - corresponding to the Mind Probe Results Table, p. 193, SR3 - per Initiative Pass, without having to make any additional success tests. Only when the Mind Probe has been dropped, and reinitiated later, within a number of hours equal to the target's Willpower, does the +2 target number modifier come into play.
The White Dwarf
From the way you asked Im going to assume two things:
1) The target is unwilling
2) The caster is sustaining the spell

Assuming those are correct, then yes the target gets a normal resistance test using willpower against the spells force. As long as the caster has any net successes he may probe for 1 piece of information per initiative pass.