![]() |
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Post
#76
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
If specializations were skill modifiers, the rules would say that they raise the skill by two under certain conditions. Specializations however add dice and as such are dice pool modifiers. There are only four kinds of modifiers as per p. 61 of SR4A. Only the dice pool modifier adds dice to a test. The specialization bonus is obviously intended to be used to create the dice pool, not modify it. Arguably the reason the specialization bonus is referred to as a "bonus" is to keep it from being a "modified skill." Otherwise, the rules are that when you go to improve a skill with karma, you use the modified value to calculate improvement cost as opposed to the base. Also there's a limitation on how much higher a modified skill can be over the base skill. Specialization doesn't play by those rules. QUOTE Here and in several other places the FAQ unfortunately contradicts the rules as they are in the books/errata. As such it is worthless. Only errata can change rules. You don't need errata to clarify RAI. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#77
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
The specialization bonus is obviously intended to be used to create the dice pool, not modify it. You don't need errata to clarify RAI. I would not say that it is obvious in any way; Your view is personal opinion... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) When RAI remains fuzzy, you do indeed need an Eratta... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) |
|
|
![]()
Post
#78
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
I would not say that it is obvious in any way; Your view is personal opinion... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) When RAI remains fuzzy, you do indeed need an Eratta... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) When the people who made the game keep an updated FAQ on their website, and they say something explicitly like: QUOTE How do you split a dice pool, such as using multiple weapons or casting multiple spells? A dice pool is generally Skill (+ Specialization) + Attribute + anything else that adds directly to the dice pool but is not listed as a dice pool modifier (foci, certain augmentations, etc.). When splitting the pool the player divides these dice however they want, keeping at least one die for each test. Dice pool modifiers (from certain augmentations, darkness, smoke, etc.) are then applied to each test separately. You don't have to go a long way with your personal opinion to figure out what they intended. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#79
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
When the people who made the game keep an updated FAQ on their website, and they say something explicitly like: You don't have to go a long way with your personal opinion to figure out what they intended. Again, it is not a Eratta, which is what you use to alter rules. And if you look real close, you will see that the FAQ is not accurate for SR4A (Glaring rules mistakes, in direct opposition to the Rules as printed in the actual books)... AND, It is not updated. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) What they intended is not the rules that they wrote. Want to change the Rules, write an Eratta, not a FAQ. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#80
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,507 Joined: 11-November 08 Member No.: 16,582 ![]() |
What he said +1
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#81
|
|
Shooting Target ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,512 Joined: 26-February 02 Member No.: 392 ![]() |
Honestly I think River in "Safe" may be a more accurate example of dance specialty. Yes. She doesn't know the steps to the dance but she uses her incredibly high Dancing dice pool to overcome the negatives and is able to correctly follow the steps. Baryshnikov can probably pick up on a waltz very quickly but if you asked him to perform Swan Lake without knowing the choreography it'd be pretty dicey. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#82
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
Again, it is not a Eratta, which is what you use to alter rules. And if you look real close, you will see that the FAQ is not accurate for SR4A (Glaring rules mistakes, in direct opposition to the Rules as printed in the actual books)... AND, It is not updated. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) From the FAQ: QUOTE Last Updated: 10 February 2011 Otherwise, having not carefully inspected every entry in the FAQ, could you point out some of the glaring rules mistakes? QUOTE What they intended is not the rules that they wrote. Want to change the Rules, write an Eratta, not a FAQ. In RAW they just fail to specify the complex case of building a dice pool with specializations and then splitting it. Personally, I don't see why a FAQ on the official website is not sufficient clarification. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#83
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
From the FAQ: Otherwise, having not carefully inspected every entry in the FAQ, could you point out some of the glaring rules mistakes? In RAW they just fail to specify the complex case of building a dice pool with specializations and then splitting it. Personally, I don't see why a FAQ on the official website is not sufficient clarification. And yet, if it was actually updated, the glaring rules contradictions would have been fixed, yet they were not. So, no, it is not updated. I can give you one example right off the top of my head... Mystic Adepts and how they treat their magic rating. The Book uses the rating (Total Rating) as the cap for Adept powers and the cap for your Spellcasting/Summoning for Overcasting. The Faq completely contradicts that... As for why the FAQ does not cut it, it is a FAQ, not an Eratta. If you want to fix a rule, you use Eratta. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#84
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
I can give you one example right off the top of my head... Mystic Adepts and how they treat their magic rating. The Book uses the rating (Total Rating) as the cap for Adept powers and the cap for your Spellcasting/Summoning for Overcasting. The Faq completely contradicts that... The book says QUOTE Every point of Magic invested in mana-based abilities grants the character one point to use with Magic-based skills. I've always read that section to mean that spending Magic points on phys ad abilities "locks up" that magic and prevents it from being used for spellcasting. It doesn't say "Every point of magic invested in mana-based abilities grants the character one point to use in Spellcasting tests." It says "with Magic-based skills." That's sort of a vague statement. Could you read that either way? I guess. But when the FAQ contradicts one interpretation, it is not a "glaring contradiction." Rather, it just shows that when you decided what they meant, you chose something different than what they later came out and said they actually meant. Obviously since the question is in the Frequently Asked Questions file, it's a point that a lot of people have gotten stuck on, and not some definitely cut-and-dry matter like you're saying it is. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#85
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
I've always read that section to mean that spending Magic points on phys ad abilities "locks up" that magic and prevents it from being used for spellcasting. It doesn't say "Every point of magic invested in mana-based abilities grants the character one point to use in Spellcasting tests." It says "with Magic-based skills." That's sort of a vague statement. Could you read that either way? I guess. But when the FAQ contradicts one interpretation, it is not a "glaring contradiction." Rather, it just shows that when you decided what they meant, you chose something different than what they later came out and said they actually meant. Obviously since the question is in the Frequently Asked Questions file, it's a point that a lot of people have gotten stuck on, and not some definitely cut-and-dry matter like you're saying it is. No, what it says is that if you have 6 magic, and you split the Magic at 4 Adept, and 2 Spellcasting, You use the magic of 2 for the actual skill roll for Spellcasting/Summoning (How you construct that Dice Pool), but your Magic rating is still 6 for determining how you Cast those Spells/Summon those Spirits (ie where Stun/Physical breaks at for overcasting/summoning). Likewise, your 4 Adept points are what you are allowed to spend upon Adept abilities, but you could have 6 Levels of Critical Strike because your Magic is a 6, not a 4. Look at the examples in the SR4A book, it makes it all very clear. The FAQ is completley opposite of the book at that point, and if one of the questions is incorrect, how many more are incorrect? The problem with the FAQ is that it was written by the Then-Writers for SR4, and then was half-assed into SR4A with no thought as to how the rules had changed. In the end, If you want to CHANGE A RULE, you need an Eratta, not a FAQ. FAQ's do not FIX anything, they attempt to clarify. In this case, the SR4A FAQ fails at that miserably. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#86
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,507 Joined: 11-November 08 Member No.: 16,582 ![]() |
The book says The relevant portion, which the FAQ ignores and contradicts, however comes directly afterwards:QUOTE Every point of Magic invested in mana-based abilities grants the character one point to use with Magic-based skills. QUOTE ('SR4A p. 195') For all other purposes, including the determination of the maximum level for adept powers, the character’s full Magic attribute is used. This line has always been there even in the first printing of SR4 (p. 187). |
|
|
![]()
Post
#87
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
No, what it says is that if you have 6 magic, and you split the Magic at 4 Adept, and 2 Spellcasting, You use the magic of 2 for the actual skill roll for Spellcasting/Summoning (How you construct that Dice Pool), but your Magic rating is still 6 for determining how you Cast those Spells/Summon those Spirits (ie where Stun/Physical breaks at for overcasting/summoning). No, it what it says is (and I'll add the rest of the line): QUOTE For every point of Magic invested in physical abilities, the character gets one Power Point that she can use to purchase adept powers. Every point of Magic invested in mana-based abilities grants the character one point to use with Magic-based skills. For all other purposes, including the determination of the maximum level for adept powers, the character's full Magic attribute is used. Such a character will not have as many adept powers as most other adepts, nor will they be able to cast spells with the same skill as true magicians. Mystic adepts may use their adept powers normally. What you've done is determined that "with Magic-based skills" means only on the Spellcasting/Summoning/etc tests. What other people (including myself) have done is determined that "with Magic-based skills" means on the Spellcasting/Summoning/etc tests as well as for determining Force, since Force falls within the reading of "with Magic-based skills." Force only ever comes into play when using Magic-based skills, and your Magic attribute (when using Magic-based skills) is what you would use to determine the Force of a spell. The people who make the game obviously side with the latter group. In other words, you read it wrong. Other people read it wrong, too, hence why the clarification is offered in the FAQ. Just like with splitting dice pools. If you're going to complain about glaring contradictions in the FAQ, it would help for the contradictions you think are in there to be, well, glaring. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#88
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
No, it what it says is (and I'll add the rest of the line): What you've done is determined that "with Magic-based skills" means only on the Spellcasting/Summoning/etc tests. What other people (including myself) have done is determined that "with Magic-based skills" means on the Spellcasting/Summoning/etc tests as well as for determining Force, since Force falls within the reading of "with Magic-based skills." Force only ever comes into play when using Magic-based skills, and your Magic attribute (when using Magic-based skills) is what you would use to determine the Force of a spell. The people who make the game obviously side with the latter group. In other words, you read it wrong. Other people read it wrong, too, hence why the clarification is offered in the FAQ. Just like with splitting dice pools. If you're going to complain about glaring contradictions in the FAQ, it would help for the contradictions you think are in there to be, well, glaring. Dakka Dakka provided the relevant Quote from the Rules that you apparently are missing. Also, Did you even look at the Examples? It is all there... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) |
|
|
![]()
Post
#89
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
Dakka Dakka provided the relevant Quote from the Rules that you apparently are missing. That line is included in what I quoted from the rules. "For all other purposes.." et cetera. If you read "with Magic-based skills" to include the Force, like I've explained, then it's already specified and "for all other purposes" doesn't have any bearing. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#90
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
Oh, and "for all other purposes" generally means: "we couldn't think of anything else that this could apply to, but use it like this just in case you find something obscure." Not: "this was intended to apply to this super-obvious and incredibly important thing that the entire rules are centered on, but we just didn't want to waste five words on it."
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#91
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
Oh, and "for all other purposes" generally means: "we couldn't think of anything else that this could apply to, but use it like this just in case you find something obscure." Not: "this was intended to apply to this super-obvious and incredibly important thing that the entire rules are centered on, but we just didn't want to waste five words on it." Except that: QUOTE For all other purposes, including the determination of the maximum level for adept powers, the character’s full Magic attribute is used. If the Adept is using his Full Attribute for determining levels of Adept abilities, the Mage is using the Full Attribute to determine the Force at which his spells become Overcast. No one is arguing that the dedicated Points of Magic are the only points used to construct dice pools for the Skill Tests... Any thing else falls under the "For ALL OTHER PURPOSES" Clause indicated above. Anyways... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) |
|
|
![]()
Post
#92
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
If the Adept is using his Full Attribute for determining levels of Adept abilities, the Mage is using the Full Attribute to determine the Force at which his spells become Overcast. No one is arguing that the dedicated Points of Magic are the only points used to construct dice pools for the Skill Tests... Any thing else falls under the "For ALL OTHER PURPOSES" Clause indicated above. Apples and oranges. Adept max power level does not equal Magician Force. It explicitly states that for adept powers they're allowed to buy a level up to their full Magic attribute, but it doesn't explicitly state that they're allowed to cast/overcast based on their full Magic attribute. Obviously (since they were getting questions on this and saw fit to clarify it in a FAQ), they meant for it to be read in such a way that Force is limited as I described earlier. If you screw up interpreting something, the correct response is not to claim that the rules are extremely clear and that the clarification (and all other associated clarifications) is wrong. The fact that there's a clarification strongly implies that the rules are not extremely clear. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#93
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,507 Joined: 11-November 08 Member No.: 16,582 ![]() |
Apples and oranges. Adept max power level does not equal Magician Force. It explicitly states that for adept powers they're allowed to buy a level up to their full Magic attribute, but it doesn't explicitly state that they're allowed to cast/overcast based on their full Magic attribute. If you include the maximum level for adept powers but not the maximum force/overcast force, what is there besides the maximum for adept powers? "all other purposes, including the determination of the maximum level for adept powers" means that there must be at least one other thing to which the full magic attribute applies.Obviously (since they were getting questions on this and saw fit to clarify it in a FAQ), they meant for it to be read in such a way that Force is limited as I described earlier. It is not a clarification but a rules change, which has no business in a FAQ.If you screw up interpreting something, the correct response is not to claim that the rules are extremely clear and that the clarification (and all other associated clarifications) is wrong. The fact that there's a clarification strongly implies that the rules are not extremely clear. The rules are clear though. do you use any magic-linked skill to determine force? No, you pick a number between 1 and twice your magic Attribute. Skill has nothing to to with it.Could we get back to specializations now? |
|
|
![]()
Post
#94
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
If you include the maximum level for adept powers but not the maximum force/overcast force, what is there besides the maximum for adept powers? "all other purposes, including the determination of the maximum level for adept powers" means that there must be at least one other thing to which the full magic attribute applies. Cut and paste previous stuff about what "for all other purposes" generally means. QUOTE It is not a clarification but a rules change, which has no business in a FAQ. It doesn't seem like a rules change for me, because I've never read it in a different way than is clarified in the FAQ. QUOTE The rules are clear though. do you use any magic-linked skill to determine force? No, you pick a number between 1 and twice your magic Attribute. Skill has nothing to to with it. "Every point of Magic invested in mana-based abilities grants the character one point to use with Magic-based skills." Selecting Force is part of using Magic-based skills. It doesn't specify that the Magic attribute only applies to Magic-based skill tests. QUOTE Could we get back to specializations now? Sure. You apply Specialization bonuses when constructing the dice pool, before you split the pool. Dice pool modifiers (such as for wounds, range, cover, et cetera) are applied to each part after the split. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#95
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 222 Joined: 12-July 10 Member No.: 18,814 ![]() |
If someone were to look up from where "Bikes" is listed as a specialization for the skill in question, and then say "LOLOL bikes have wheels, I win," I'd probably hit them with my book or something. There's playing a game, and then there's playing a system to try and win; I don't have much fun gaming with folks that are interested in the latter, and to me that's where that sort of thing falls. I'd cover ATVs and Trikes under Bikes, if I had to choose an existing specialization (but I don't), because playability matters more than the letter of the law. Both of them have control set-ups more similar to a motorcycle (handlebars, etc) than to a car. It has yet to come up in a game, though, and if it a character wanted to be comfortable on one, I'd probably remind them that the specializations listed aren't all the specializations possible, and if he wanted some badass off-roading action, he could ask for a new spec and probably get it. There is a tracked bike in Arsenal, and bikes can be converted to have other movement modes like hover or walker. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#96
|
|
Douche ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 1,584 Joined: 2-March 11 Member No.: 23,135 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#97
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#98
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 2,801 Joined: 2-September 09 From: Moscow, Russia Member No.: 17,589 ![]() |
Alternatively, if your GM allows it, you could try using any flying medium drone (like the omnipresent Rotodrone) as a skateboard.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#99
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,507 Joined: 11-November 08 Member No.: 16,582 ![]() |
Aren't there skimmer discs already. Just duct tape them to a board. Give them 20/50 speed and use the other characteristics of the discs, finished.
I doubt that the classical hoverboard can fly much higher than 30 cm. BTW do they exist in other fiction besides back to the future? |
|
|
![]()
Post
#100
|
|
Advocatus Diaboli ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 13,994 Joined: 20-November 07 From: USA Member No.: 14,282 ![]() |
Isn't that a bit fast? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 20th June 2025 - 06:58 PM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.