IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
rlor
post Nov 9 2011, 10:37 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 42,612



I tried searching for this first, and from reading other posts I think I know the answer, but I want to make sure.

Example (not worrying about the drain portion):
Mage summons a spirit, mage gets 4 successes, spirit gets 1 for 3 net. Mage has 3 services from the unbound spirit at this point.

Mage then binds the spirit, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets 1 for 2 net(1 of those used just to bind). Mage has 4 services from the now bound spirit at this point.

Mage decides to rebind the spirit for more services, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets none for 3 net. Mage has 7 services from the bound spirit at this point.

Is this all correct and if not where did I mess up?

*Edit - Forgot to state 4th edition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DMiller
post Nov 9 2011, 11:54 PM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 681
Joined: 23-March 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 18,343



This is how we've played it. I really don't know if this is the most common interpretation of the rules or not though.

-D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Nov 10 2011, 01:27 AM
Post #3


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



It is indeed correct. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Nov 10 2011, 05:29 AM
Post #4


Old Man of the North
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 10,236
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe
Member No.: 5,463



Shouldn't the original 3 services from the Summoning be increased by 2 from the first Binding to 5 and then to 8 by the rebinding? Where is it stated that being Bound is a service?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DMiller
post Nov 10 2011, 05:33 AM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 681
Joined: 23-March 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 18,343



QUOTE (pbangarth @ Nov 10 2011, 02:29 PM) *
Shouldn't the original 3 services from the Summoning be increased by 2 from the first Binding to 5 and then to 8 by the rebinding? Where is it stated that being Bound is a service?

Sorry, no. The first net hit on the binding test "binds" the spirit. Any extra net hits add to the services.

-D

*edited for spelling*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rlor
post Nov 10 2011, 06:36 AM
Post #6


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 42,612



Thanks much, appreciate it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dakka Dakka
post Nov 10 2011, 07:35 AM
Post #7


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,507
Joined: 11-November 08
Member No.: 16,582



If these are the results of the rolls, you are right, but it is unlikely that the spirit will achieve the same amount or less hits on the binding and rebinding rolls, because its dice pool is twice as large. So don't count on it happening that way.

It is actually better to summon and bind a new spirit than to rebind an old one, if you can handle the drain.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Nov 10 2011, 03:01 PM
Post #8


Old Man of the North
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 10,236
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe
Member No.: 5,463



QUOTE (rlor @ Nov 9 2011, 05:37 PM) *
I tried searching for this first, and from reading other posts I think I know the answer, but I want to make sure.

Example (not worrying about the drain portion):
Mage summons a spirit, mage gets 4 successes, spirit gets 1 for 3 net. Mage has 3 services from the unbound spirit at this point.

Mage then binds the spirit, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets 1 for 2 net(1 of those used just to bind). Mage has 4 services from the now bound spirit at this point.

Mage decides to rebind the spirit for more services, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets none for 3 net. Mage has 7 services from the bound spirit at this point.

Is this all correct and if not where did I mess up?

*Edit - Forgot to state 4th edition.



QUOTE (DMiller @ Nov 10 2011, 12:33 AM) *
Sorry, no. The first net hit on the binding test "binds" the spirit. Any extra net hits add to the services.

-D

*edited for spelling*

Yes, the first hit of 3 is used up to do the actual binding. So with 3 hits from before, that makes 3 + 2 = 5. Then 3 more from the rebinding makes 8. What am I missing?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Nov 10 2011, 03:49 PM
Post #9


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (pbangarth @ Nov 10 2011, 08:01 AM) *
Yes, the first hit of 3 is used up to do the actual binding. So with 3 hits from before, that makes 3 + 2 = 5. Then 3 more from the rebinding makes 8. What am I missing?


Except that there were only 2 Net successes from the actual binding roll (3-1=2), one of those of which is used for the Binding itself (2-1=1), so 4 total services at that point (3+1=4) not 5... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Nov 10 2011, 07:17 PM
Post #10


Old Man of the North
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 10,236
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe
Member No.: 5,463



Ah... I see now... I misread the 'net successes part'. Please forgive this interruption. We now return you to the regularly scheduled broadcast...

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st June 2025 - 12:54 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.