Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Stupid Question involving binding spirits
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
rlor
I tried searching for this first, and from reading other posts I think I know the answer, but I want to make sure.

Example (not worrying about the drain portion):
Mage summons a spirit, mage gets 4 successes, spirit gets 1 for 3 net. Mage has 3 services from the unbound spirit at this point.

Mage then binds the spirit, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets 1 for 2 net(1 of those used just to bind). Mage has 4 services from the now bound spirit at this point.

Mage decides to rebind the spirit for more services, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets none for 3 net. Mage has 7 services from the bound spirit at this point.

Is this all correct and if not where did I mess up?

*Edit - Forgot to state 4th edition.
DMiller
This is how we've played it. I really don't know if this is the most common interpretation of the rules or not though.

-D
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
It is indeed correct. smile.gif
pbangarth
Shouldn't the original 3 services from the Summoning be increased by 2 from the first Binding to 5 and then to 8 by the rebinding? Where is it stated that being Bound is a service?
DMiller
QUOTE (pbangarth @ Nov 10 2011, 02:29 PM) *
Shouldn't the original 3 services from the Summoning be increased by 2 from the first Binding to 5 and then to 8 by the rebinding? Where is it stated that being Bound is a service?

Sorry, no. The first net hit on the binding test "binds" the spirit. Any extra net hits add to the services.

-D

*edited for spelling*
rlor
Thanks much, appreciate it.
Dakka Dakka
If these are the results of the rolls, you are right, but it is unlikely that the spirit will achieve the same amount or less hits on the binding and rebinding rolls, because its dice pool is twice as large. So don't count on it happening that way.

It is actually better to summon and bind a new spirit than to rebind an old one, if you can handle the drain.
pbangarth
QUOTE (rlor @ Nov 9 2011, 05:37 PM) *
I tried searching for this first, and from reading other posts I think I know the answer, but I want to make sure.

Example (not worrying about the drain portion):
Mage summons a spirit, mage gets 4 successes, spirit gets 1 for 3 net. Mage has 3 services from the unbound spirit at this point.

Mage then binds the spirit, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets 1 for 2 net(1 of those used just to bind). Mage has 4 services from the now bound spirit at this point.

Mage decides to rebind the spirit for more services, mage gets 3 successes, spirit gets none for 3 net. Mage has 7 services from the bound spirit at this point.

Is this all correct and if not where did I mess up?

*Edit - Forgot to state 4th edition.



QUOTE (DMiller @ Nov 10 2011, 12:33 AM) *
Sorry, no. The first net hit on the binding test "binds" the spirit. Any extra net hits add to the services.

-D

*edited for spelling*

Yes, the first hit of 3 is used up to do the actual binding. So with 3 hits from before, that makes 3 + 2 = 5. Then 3 more from the rebinding makes 8. What am I missing?
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
QUOTE (pbangarth @ Nov 10 2011, 08:01 AM) *
Yes, the first hit of 3 is used up to do the actual binding. So with 3 hits from before, that makes 3 + 2 = 5. Then 3 more from the rebinding makes 8. What am I missing?


Except that there were only 2 Net successes from the actual binding roll (3-1=2), one of those of which is used for the Binding itself (2-1=1), so 4 total services at that point (3+1=4) not 5... smile.gif
pbangarth
Ah... I see now... I misread the 'net successes part'. Please forgive this interruption. We now return you to the regularly scheduled broadcast...

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Dumpshock Forums © 2001-2012