![]() |
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Post
#1
|
|
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,018 Joined: 3-July 10 Member No.: 18,786 ![]() |
If I were to shapechange into, say, a wolf or a great cat, would I now have two initiative passes, or is that not a physical attribute?
Thanks in advance, Mads |
|
|
![]()
Post
#2
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 427 Joined: 24-June 09 From: Earth...I hope... Member No.: 17,317 ![]() |
I'd play it as you would, since Init Passes are kind of based off the idea that you are faster than everyone else and can thus do more in the same time period. That's kind of what the cyberware/adept powers do, increase your speed so you can do more, so I'd imagine that changing into an animal that is naturally quicker would have the same effect.
Don't really know if this is how it would work according to RAW, but it makes sense to me at least. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#3
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 165 Joined: 4-August 10 From: West Seattle, WA. Member No.: 18,888 ![]() |
Good day, this is from the Frequently Asked Questions section at the Catalyist Shadowrun site:
"Does the Shapechange/(Critter Form) spell grant the target character the critter's powers? Yes. While in critter form the character loses access to any abilities and powers particular to their normal physical form (e.g., natural low-light vision, natural armor, cyberware, etc.) and gains any of the critter's Powers (Enhanced Senses, Natural Weapon, etc.) while they are in that form." Hope this helps, Naga-Nuyen |
|
|
![]()
Post
#4
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
No, you do not gain their initiative passes. Initiative Passes are not "abilities or powers" that are listed for animals, and an elf with a agility of 10 and reaction of 9 still gets only 1 IP, so I don't see why turning into a Dog +2 gives you an extra IP.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#5
|
|
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,373 Joined: 14-January 10 From: Stuttgart, Germany Member No.: 18,036 ![]() |
my GM and i ruled, that IPs is a physical stat, so i'd get it. however SR4A p68 lists IPs under special attributes
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#6
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
my GM and i ruled, that IPs is a physical stat, so i'd get it. however SR4A p68 lists IPs under special attributes Exactly - you don't get it (the IP, that is). If you rule it as a physical stat then you get the successes from the Spellcasting Test added onto it as well. How would you balance that? The answer is: Initiative Passes are a Special Attribute and Special Attributes are not conferred by Shapechange/(Critter) Form. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#7
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 572 Joined: 6-February 09 From: London Uk Member No.: 16,848 ![]() |
Personally I say yes you get them, it is part of how the animal is and its natural (ie not magical in nature). But rule which ever you want until a official rulling comes out one way or another.
In my mind just as a adept can get multiple passes and enhanced vision / senses through magic nature does them better / easier just by being nature. This being the case using magic to ape a animal gives you the base animal benefits IP's included but this would also mean you get any negative qualities too (like if your a low body person and turn into a small bird then you get fragile too whilst in that form). It is also a viable way for a mage to get multiple IPs when they need it but at a reasonable cost (sustained spell if not in a GM approved focus ((not all focuses should be viable in animal form)) plus lack of talking or doing normal human stuff whilst shifted). |
|
|
![]()
Post
#8
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 427 Joined: 24-June 09 From: Earth...I hope... Member No.: 17,317 ![]() |
No, you do not gain their initiative passes. Initiative Passes are not "abilities or powers" that are listed for animals, and an elf with a agility of 10 and reaction of 9 still gets only 1 IP, so I don't see why turning into a Dog +2 gives you an extra IP. Doesn't matter whether the animal/mage has a high agility or reaction. I wasn't using that to determine speed, I was using the fact that turning into something like a Cheetah would be pretty stupid if you can't run 50-something mph while transformed. The initiative passes, to me at least, go along with that kind of thinking because if the animal you turn into has a fast reaction time (as in NOT the actual stat) then as that animal so should you. I do agree with your later post though, and it should not be increased via getting extra hits on the dice. Since I couldn't find anything specifically referring to how init passes are handled when transforming, I'd say it really just depends on the GM in question... |
|
|
![]()
Post
#9
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
Ok, let's try it this way:
QUOTE (Shapechange Spell Description, page 204 SR4) Consult the Critters section, p. 285, for the subject's Physical attributes while in critter form. Page 60, SR4, describes Physical attributes as: Agility, Body, Reaction, and Strength. Edge, Essence, the Initiative Score, Initiative Passes, Magic, and Resonance are clearly defined as Special Attributes. Since Shapechange only grants the Physical Attributes, it cannot grant an extra Initiative Pass. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#10
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 219 Joined: 16-November 09 From: United States Member No.: 17,876 ![]() |
Even if that is so, the extra IP is an integral part of the animal's physiology and is non magical in nature. Common sense says that a mage shapechanging into said animal would gain the extra IP as well, in addition to enhanced senses that the animal receives.
It makes no sense that shapechange would allow enhanced olfactory organs but not increased neural response time. Basically, it's RAW vs. Common Sense. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#11
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#12
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 219 Joined: 16-November 09 From: United States Member No.: 17,876 ![]() |
It is so. You've overstepped the rules of the game (except "Rule 0"). House rules are absolutely fine, if you want to make that a houserule. But the actual RAW is very clear on this. House rules make the world go 'round. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/twirl.gif) |
|
|
![]()
Post
#13
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
As long as you admit that what you're using is a House Rule and the RAW way to run it is as I've described.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#14
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 219 Joined: 16-November 09 From: United States Member No.: 17,876 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#15
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 219 Joined: 16-November 09 From: United States Member No.: 17,876 ![]() |
Actually, upon further review of the Shapechange spell, you don't get any critter powers by RAW either.
So no natural weapon bite as a shark, no enhanced smell as a dog, and no adaptive camouflage as a chameleon. I believe this section could use some houseruling. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#16
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
Actually, upon further review of the Shapechange spell, you don't get any critter powers by RAW either. So no natural weapon bite as a shark, no enhanced smell as a dog, and no adaptive camouflage as a chameleon. I believe this section could use some houseruling. They may be quoting some expanded rule or FAQ. My point being that even if we give Shapechange Critter Powers, Initiative Passes are Special Attributes, not Critter Powers. I didn't feel the need to complain about a lack of rules that gave them Critter Powers because they still wouldn't get the IP even if they did gain the Powers. EDIT: Oh. QUOTE (SR4 FAQ) Does the Shapechange/(Critter Form) spell grant the target character the critter's powers?
Yes. While in critter form the character loses access to any abilities and powers particular to their normal physical form (e.g., natural low-light vision, natural armor, cyberware, etc.) and gains any of the critter's Powers (Enhanced Senses, Natural Weapon, etc.) while they are in that form. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#17
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,803 Joined: 3-February 08 From: Finland Member No.: 15,628 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#18
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 572 Joined: 6-February 09 From: London Uk Member No.: 16,848 ![]() |
I'm sorry but I'm still of the mind that the IP itself is not specifically discussed in the rule and that the surrounding rules / logic and circumstantial evidence points to the IP carrying over. But this is a grey area until a official answer is given and should be treated as such, GM choice if nothing else.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#19
|
|
Neophyte Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,236 Joined: 27-July 10 Member No.: 18,860 ![]() |
I am the first to say that something is not Raw.
But in this case it is a greay area. Shapchange just talks about physical and metal attributes. So there are two ways to handle it: First: You get the IPs and lose any cyber and bio enhancement. Second: You do not get the IPs but are to keep your enhancements. Since I see the second Possibility as kind of scary, I would go with the first. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#20
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,803 Joined: 3-February 08 From: Finland Member No.: 15,628 ![]() |
I am the first to say that something is not Raw. But in this case it is a greay area. Shapchange just talks about physical and metal attributes. So there are two ways to handle it: First: You get the IPs and lose any cyber and bio enhancement. Second: You do not get the IPs but are to keep your enhancements. Since I see the second Possibility as kind of scary, I would go with the first. Im pretty sure it explicitly say that you lose all benefits of ware. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#21
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 572 Joined: 6-February 09 From: London Uk Member No.: 16,848 ![]() |
Ware is one of those dont ask us parts of shape change.
In theory a mage can have some nice headware to boost for arguments sake his logic (Chaos mage FTW) then shape changes into a bird (with a much much smaller head). Where does the wear go? Granted this is a issue for all shape changing in shadowrun (drakes and shifters mostly but also covers vampires when in mist form and I'm sure I've forgotten one or two more). Part of me says to avoid the whole shape change thing because we are getting close to "it goes into the astral or a pocket dimension" kind of answer which opens doors to nastiness. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#22
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
I'm sorry but I'm still of the mind that the IP itself is not specifically discussed in the rule and that the surrounding rules / logic and circumstantial evidence points to the IP carrying over. But this is a grey area until a official answer is given and should be treated as such, GM choice if nothing else. There is no grey area. It explicitly only grants you the critter's Physical Attributes and Powers. Initiative Passes are Special Attributes, not Physical Attributes or Powers. You are working outside of the rules and now you are refusing to actually understand basic mechanics of the game. Page 60 and 61 of SR4 cover Physical Attributes, where Strength, Body, Agility, and Reaction are listed. Page 61 and 62 of SR4 cover Special Attributes, where Resonance, Magic, Edge, Essence, Inititiative, and Initiative Passes are listed. Page 286 SR4 covers Powers. Powers are like Armor, Natural Weapon, and Enhanced Senses. Physical Attributes are Strength, Body, Reaction, and Agility. Initiative and Initiative Passes are explicitly Special Attributes and as such are not conferred by the casting of Shapechange/(Critter Form). |
|
|
![]()
Post
#23
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 572 Joined: 6-February 09 From: London Uk Member No.: 16,848 ![]() |
There is no grey area. It explicitly only grants you the critter's Physical Attributes and Powers. Initiative Passes are Special Attributes, not Physical Attributes or Powers. You are working outside of the rules and now you are refusing to actually understand basic mechanics of the game. Page 60 and 61 of SR4 cover Physical Attributes, where Strength, Body, Agility, and Reaction are listed. Page 61 and 62 of SR4 cover Special Attributes, where Resonance, Magic, Edge, Essence, Inititiative, and Initiative Passes are listed. Page 286 SR4 covers Powers. Powers are like Armor, Natural Weapon, and Enhanced Senses. Physical Attributes are Strength, Body, Reaction, and Agility. Initiative and Initiative Passes are explicitly Special Attributes and as such are not conferred by the casting of Shapechange/(Critter Form). Right as you seem to feel the need for this to be personal lets lay this down Att ributes There are thirteen attributes in Shadowrun, though each character has just eleven or sometimes twelve. There are four Physical attributes, four Mental attributes, and five Special attributes. Out of the five Special attributes, most characters will have three while some (magicians, adepts, mystic adepts, and technomancers) will have four, but none can have all five. Attributes are typically used to complement skills when making tests, though some tests are made with only an attribute or pair of attributes (see Using Attributes, p. 138). A character’s attributes—Agility, Body, Reaction, Strength, Charisma, Intuition, Logic, and Willpower—represent the raw material that makes up every person: her body and mind, what the character has done with both, and what’s inside the person that makes her unique. Because attributes can be improved during the course of a character’s life, they represent something more than genetics. The thirteen listed in order in SR4A page 67 are 1) Agility 2) Body 3) Reaction 4) Strength 5) Charisma 6) Intuition 7) Logic (IMG:style_emoticons/default/cool.gif) Willpower 9) Edge 10)Essance 11) Initiative 12) Magic 13) Resonance Initiative passes is not listed as any form of attribute. Now before you go off on one the part of the Initiative listing says this A derived attribute, Initiative is the sum of Reaction and Intuition, plus any additional dice from implanted or magical reflex enhancers. As it sounds, Initiative is used to make Initiative Tests (p. 144), which determine the character’s Initiative Score for a Combat Turn. Any enhancements to Reaction and Intuition also affect Initiative. Some implants and magic may give a character extra actions to take in each Combat Turn. These are noted as extra Initiative Passes on the character’s record sheet. The maximum number of Initiative Passes a character can have is 5, but most character types can only ever achieve 4. But as I said this does not list it as a attribute if it was the list would be 14 not 13. This is why I have stated it is a grey area as it is not attribute in the RAW rules nor is it a power. I look forward to you retracting your statement of IP's being attributes and your personal attack on my level of understanding. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#24
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 5,542 Joined: 30-September 08 From: D/FW Megaplex Member No.: 16,387 ![]() |
A derived attribute, Initiative is the sum of Reaction and Intuition, plus any additional dice from implanted or magical reflex enhancers. As it sounds, Initiative is used to make Initiative Tests (p. 144), which determine the character’s Initiative Score for a Combat Turn. Any enhancements to Reaction and Intuition also affect Initiative. Some implants and magic may give a character extra actions to take in each Combat Turn. These are noted as extra Initiative Passes on the character’s record sheet. The maximum number of Initiative Passes a character can have is 5, but most character types can only ever achieve 4. But as I said this does not list it as a attribute if it was the list would be 14 not 13. This is why I have stated it is a grey area as it is not attribute in the RAW rules nor is it a power. I look forward to you retracting your statement of IP's being attributes and your personal attack on my level of understanding. It's actually fairly simple: Initiative Passes are a part of the Initiative attribute. Initiative itself is a Special Attribute, so any part of that stat would also be a Special Attribute. This is still within the realm of English comprehension. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#25
|
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 91 Joined: 6-July 10 Member No.: 18,795 ![]() |
There is no grey area. It explicitly only grants you the critter's Physical Attributes and Powers. Initiative Passes are Special Attributes, not Physical Attributes or Powers. You are working outside of the rules and now you are refusing to actually understand basic mechanics of the game. Page 60 and 61 of SR4 cover Physical Attributes, where Strength, Body, Agility, and Reaction are listed. Page 61 and 62 of SR4 cover Special Attributes, where Resonance, Magic, Edge, Essence, Inititiative, and Initiative Passes are listed. Page 286 SR4 covers Powers. Powers are like Armor, Natural Weapon, and Enhanced Senses. Physical Attributes are Strength, Body, Reaction, and Agility. Initiative and Initiative Passes are explicitly Special Attributes and as such are not conferred by the casting of Shapechange/(Critter Form). No, sorry, you are wrong. I've got the 20th anniversary edition, which supersedes the errata, the FAQ, Street Magic, the base 4th edition book, and pretty much everything else that's been published. Regarding attributes, powers, passes, and the like, the shapechange spell say two things: 1) the caster does gain the physical attributes of the new form (+1 per success) 2) the caster does not gain the mental attributes of the new form (keeping his base stats) The spell does not mention skills, powers, or other things (like the ability to breathe underwater, fly, or extra initiative passes). The book does not say that you don't get those things, it does not say that you do. It is undefined. Furthermore, the FAQ is not the rules; in fact, it gets a fair number of things wrong, and is regarded as somewhat unreliable - better than nothing, yes, but not the final word by any stretch of the imagination. Generally speaking, most people I've talked to assume, using basic logic, that turning into a bird gives you wings (meaning both the ability to move in the air and ranks in the Flying skill) and claws (meaning both the Natural Weapon power and ranks in the Unarmed skill). Likewise, turning into a shark gives you swimming (swim movement, swimming skill, and the untyped "thing" known as working gills). Otherwise, the spell is significantly weaker than it otherwise would be. Assuming that initiative passes also translate is a logical extension. But you're right, the book does not specifically say that you do get an extra initiative pass if you turn into a wolf. It doesn't say that you grow fur, either. It's implied. |
|
|
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 8th July 2025 - 04:45 AM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.