IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Contradictory Summoning and ritual rules
Wanderer
post Sep 11 2006, 01:03 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 6-September 02
Member No.: 3,234



The Enchanting section of SM (p. 81) cites ritual materials for ritual spellcasting as one possible product of alchemy, yet SR4 (p. 174), which the above quotes, amkes no reference whatsoever of ritual materials being necessary for ritual spellcasting, or their price.

What gives ?

SR4 rules for sending spirits on remote service tell in one place that they do not count for the total limit of spirits (p. 178), and in another place (p. 179) that they can. Am I correct in interpreting this apparent contradiction as that *unbound* spirits sent on remote service do not count vs. the limit (as remote service frees them from further obligations), whereas bound ones do (as they can still have further services to offer) ?

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Sep 11 2006, 02:05 PM
Post #2


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



the rule of thumb is that a later book overrides a earlier book if those two contradicts...

and that remote service contradiction have been debated atleast ones, do a search ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Slithery D
post Sep 11 2006, 02:12 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 750
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 9,059



I don't think you can count a throw away reference like that as a "contradiction." It's a mistake. After all, we still don't have any prices for these ritual materials.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post Sep 11 2006, 02:12 PM
Post #4


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



QUOTE (Wanderer)
The Enchanting section of SM (p. 81) cites ritual materials for ritual spellcasting as one possible product of alchemy, yet SR4 (p. 174), which the above quotes, amkes no reference whatsoever of ritual materials being necessary for ritual spellcasting, or their price.

What gives ?

That would be an 'oops.'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Sep 11 2006, 05:45 PM
Post #5


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



QUOTE
SR4 rules for sending spirits on remote service tell in one place that they do not count for the total limit of spirits (p. 178), and in another place (p. 179) that they can. Am I correct in interpreting this apparent contradiction as that *unbound* spirits sent on remote service do not count vs. the limit (as remote service frees them from further obligations), whereas bound ones do (as they can still have further services to offer) ?


Uh... no. That's just a "mistake". Page 179 is correct and page 178 is wrong. If you send an unbound spirit on a remote service, it should still count as your one unbound spirit.

"Oops."

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Sep 11 2006, 06:00 PM
Post #6


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,662
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



QUOTE (Wanderer @ Sep 11 2006, 03:03 PM)
SR4 rules for sending spirits on remote service tell in one place that they do not count for the total limit of spirits (p. 178), and in another place (p. 179) that they can. Am I correct in interpreting this apparent contradiction as that *unbound* spirits sent on remote service do not count vs. the limit (as remote service frees them from further obligations), whereas bound ones do (as they can still have further services to offer) ?

IMHO, the only way to read these two parts is the following... (as posted on the other thread ;))

An unbound spirit sent on remote does not count against your limit of summoned spirits, so you can summon a new one.

Any spirit on remote, however, counts against your bound spirit limit, so you cannot have unlimited ones, but only your Cha minus the spirits you have bound currently.

While you have as many spirits bound as your Cha, you cannot send unbound spirits on remote, only bound spirits.


This leads to a rule, that is not contradicted by either of the sentences in the book.

As Frank Trollman pointed out in the other thread, this rule might change in an upcoming FAQ to prevent abuse with multiple spirits on remote, or in any other way (like specifying what counts as a remote service, or disallowing remote services from unbound spirits).

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Slithery D
post Sep 11 2006, 06:35 PM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 750
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 9,059



I think either the Frank Trollman or Thanee interpretations are playable, but Frank's is better. Thanee's lets you still achieve bound spirit numbers at no time or cost to bind them by simply forgoing the extra services that only bound spirits can provide. Oh, and you do have to pay the drain of sequential summonings. Still, that's not such a bad deal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th September 2025 - 03:27 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.