IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Targetting people with spells while Astral.
Lord Ben
post Nov 14 2005, 08:19 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 600
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 7,659



In the section on astral perception it says that while astrally perceiving you can cast mana spells at astral targets. Can you also target street sams, etc with spells? What penalty to your casting roll?

Saturday we had a battle in the dark and while most people had negatives due to visabilty the mage could target ultra-stealthy enemies with impunity.

Is there no modifiers for this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 7)
hobgoblin
post Nov 14 2005, 08:32 PM
Post #2


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



while you can see a street sam from the astral, you can pass straight thru him. basicly you can only target a astraly solid target while on the astral.

astraly solid targets are spirits, even while materialized as they then are dual beings. other dual beings, like say ghouls and dragons. astraly active magicans, be it via perception or projection. and allso the astral side of a active foci.

the rest are visible but ghostly nonsolid objects and creatures.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Nov 14 2005, 08:38 PM
Post #3


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



If you are astrally projecting, your spells cannot target physical enemies and physical enemies cannot target you.

If you are astrally perceiving, your spells can target physical or astral opponents and physical and astral opponents can target you.

So yes, an astrally perceiving magician has the best of both worlds when it comes to shooting manabolts at enemies. He can see enemies with physical or magical vision and target them with spells on either plane. It's hillarious.

But it requires that you allow enemies on the astral to attack you without giving yourself the bonus speed of being an astral form yourself, so it's pretty dangerous.

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demon_Bob
post Nov 14 2005, 08:51 PM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 511
Joined: 24-March 05
From: On a ledge between Heaven and Hell
Member No.: 7,226



Well first he would be considered dual natured so anything Astral could attack him without materializing. This would make him a better target for enemy spirits.

While performing a physical task while astrally perceiving your at -2 dice.
I would say this would override darkness penalties.

Astrally perceiving magician can cast spells on a target in either the physical world or Astral. pg 173

Still looking but can't seem to find it yet.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Nov 14 2005, 09:00 PM
Post #5


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



why oh why did i not spot that he was talking about perception?
i must have rule-of-one'd my own perception roll.
not a good day to be me this one...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Liper
post Nov 14 2005, 10:13 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 24-October 05
Member No.: 7,885



QUOTE
While performing a physical task while astrally perceiving your at -2 dice.
I would say this would override darkness penalties.


don't forget unless you're a dual natured bieng hehe.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Nov 14 2005, 11:01 PM
Post #7


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



QUOTE (SR4 p. 182 Astral Perception)
it is not possible to see both at the same time, though almost everything in physical space is reflected on the astral, albeit without detail.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakkie
post Nov 14 2005, 11:28 PM
Post #8


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,718
Joined: 14-September 02
Member No.: 3,263



QUOTE (Rotbart van Dainig @ Nov 14 2005, 05:01 PM)
QUOTE ((SR4 p. 182 Astral Perception))

it is not possible to see both at the same time, though almost everything in physical space is reflected on the astral, albeit without detail.

However that quote still leaves the queston open, is does "almost everything in physical space" include the lighting conditions in physical space? In the past i believe you could still have lighting modifiers in the Astral as you were relying on the glow from nearby auras, including the normally present from the giasphere, to see things that had no aura. But if the giasphere glow is blocked, can you see nonliving things at a distance?

EDIT: Of course targeting a person that's in the dark isn't normally going to have the lighting penalty. Just the -2 penalty. The problem can only arise for things like targeting a physical spell on an unmanned drone in the dark.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th January 2025 - 11:19 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.