IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Yum Donuts
post Apr 22 2004, 07:41 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 228
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 5,883



Ok, I heard of a rule a while ago (It might have been in SR2, that much of a while ago) that you cannot use your combat pool unless you got at least one success with your regular skill dice.
I was looking for that rule and couldn't find it. the reason I was looking for it is because I heard something else that you had to have a success on your skill dice to use bonus dice (such as from the adept power Improved Unarmed Combat).
If the rule exists, there is a big problem with it that is not apparent above: open tests (and pseudo-open tests, like jumping).

Lets say I have the Greatleap power at level 4 and athletics at 6. so I want to jump 10 meters (quickness 6+ 4 greatleap) I only need 1 success, so if I have to get one on the 6 skill dice to use the 4 great leap dice, I can't use the dice unless I've already passed the test and then I don't need them.

So please, if you can give me a page number for that ruling (that you need a success to add pool dice), or tell me it doesn't exist, either way, I will be happy for your input.

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 10)
Arethusa
post Apr 22 2004, 07:43 AM
Post #2


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,901
Joined: 19-June 03
Member No.: 4,775



To my knowledge, there is no such rool as pool and skill are rolled simultaneously.

eg I have pistols 6 and 12 cp, 6 of which I decide to toss into this shot; I then roll 12 dice, and calculate successes from there, not 6 skill dice and then 6 cp.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shadd4d
post Apr 22 2004, 08:06 AM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 515
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Chicago, IL...Ich vermisse Deutschland.
Member No.: 6,230



Think they ditched that rule from SR2. Now it works as Arethusa states. I remember it being in the 2nd ed combat, plus maybe in the basic dice rolling rules.


Don
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Apr 22 2004, 08:52 AM
Post #4


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



No, you don't need a success with your main skill in order for your Combat Pool successes to count.

The two places where you need at least one success before getting an additional bonus are:

1) Complementary dice (and Centering) where you need at least one success on the main roll for the additional successes from the complementary skill to count.

2) Purchasing a success with Karma Pool, where you have to have at least one success already in order to buy another.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gknoy
post Apr 22 2004, 09:53 AM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 413
Joined: 20-November 03
Member No.: 5,835



I think it also applies when re-rolling failures: I THINK you need one success there too. But I haven't looked it up, because I am lazy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Apr 22 2004, 01:48 PM
Post #6


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



It is a good idea however to roll your skill and cp separately in some cases, like dodging.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Austere Emancipa...
post Apr 22 2004, 02:02 PM
Post #7


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,889
Joined: 3-August 03
From: A CPI rank 1 country
Member No.: 5,222



QUOTE (Nikoli)
It is a good idea however to roll your skill and cp separately in some cases, like dodging.

There is no skill used in a Dodge Test, so it follows that the CP dice in a Dodge Test is not rolled with your skill dice. The Athletics (Gymnastics) must be rolled beforehand as a Complex Action to gain extra dice on the Dodge Test, if that's what you meant.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Luke Hardison
post Apr 22 2004, 02:32 PM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 334
Joined: 17-November 03
From: Texas
Member No.: 5,828



QUOTE (Nikoli)
It is a good idea however to roll your skill and cp separately in some cases, like dodging.

Or just use different colored dice for pools and skills, like the BBB suggests. ;)

That's what our team does. Skill / attribute dice are white with black pips, pool dice are blue with white pips.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon-Hawk
post Apr 22 2004, 05:08 PM
Post #9


Genuine Artificial Intelligence
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,019
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 4,715



You might be thinking of the rule that you cannot permanently burn a point of Karma pool to buy an extra success unless you have achieved one success on the roll already.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakkie
post Apr 22 2004, 05:36 PM
Post #10


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,718
Joined: 14-September 02
Member No.: 3,263



QUOTE (OurTeam @ Apr 22 2004, 08:52 AM)
....
The two places where you need at least one success before getting an additional bonus are:

1) Complementary dice (and Centering) where you need at least one success on the main roll for the additional successes from the complementary skill to count.
....

Ironically an Adept using Centering to jump over a pit is -exactly- like the goofy situation Yum Donuts mentioned where you have to get a success on a lesser number of dice to be able to use the extra dice...which you now don't need.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Apr 22 2004, 05:45 PM
Post #11


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



In that case, use centering to compensate for the low light, moderate wound, and other penalties, so you can get the one success easier.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2025 - 10:25 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.