IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Magic Casting Rules Disagreement, How does it really work?
eightball1011
post Aug 7 2006, 03:09 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 27-December 04
Member No.: 6,909



This week we had our first run using new SR4 rules. I am playing a mage, so naturally I spent days reading over all the rules for mages before the game. There became a disagreement between the GM and I about how a certain spell was cast. I had hoped that someone on here could help resolve this issue before the next gaming session.
I was casting the spell Influence using 10 dice (spellcasting 5 + magic 5). I had 4 hits! The GM, reading the casting rules from SR4, decided that it was a successful cast. Then I had to re-roll those dice so that the Defender could make an opposed test. (This is where the problem came in) I thought that he would use my 4 hits to roll his Opposed test against, but apparently the rules seem to state a separate Opposed test. This doesn't seem correct. Apparently he only believes these rules to apply to Manipulation and Illusion spells. Can anyone set us straight? Do we have to re-roll so the defender can oppose? or do the original hits count as the target?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th September 2025 - 10:47 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.