IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

theartthief
post May 27 2004, 06:50 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 1-March 04
From: Gulf Coast
Member No.: 6,111



SR3 page 160 says:

QUOTE

Elementalists can only cast spells and summon spirits related to one hermetic element. <snip> ... [ may use ] sills for all other purposes ... but must subtract 1 die from their skill for spells or spirits of their opposing element.


MitS page 17says:

QUOTE

... elemental mages [ gain ] +2 dice for spells and spirits of that element.  The penalty for such specialization is that the mage suffers a -1 die penalty for spells and spirits of the opposite element ... <snip> A fire mage for example has +2 diece for combat spells and fire elementals but applies -1 die for illusion spells and water elementals ...


OK, I'm confused. :dead:
I checked the errata and the FAQ at FanPro and am still confused. Am I misreading this or do they contradict each other?

A) You are misreading it and here is how to read it.

B) Hey, it's an optional supplement and the rule was changed.

C) Elementalist and Elemental Mage are NOT the same thing; therefore, there is no contradiction.

D) Other???

Thanks in advance for the help!

- theartthief
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th July 2025 - 09:36 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.