Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [News] Navy developing nanotech to improve ships, Size matters
JongWK
post May 30 2006, 03:13 AM
Post #1

Shooting Target

Group: Validating
Member No.: 3,992

For those of you interested in militech, here's the CNN story.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
HMHVV Hunter
post May 30 2006, 03:22 AM
Post #2

Running Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,840

Could be very interesting.

There's gotta be some other applications for this to. I'm no scientist, but there's gotta be other applications - tiny welders to weld small cracks in hull armor, maybe nanobots that act as instant sutures in the personnel themselves (knitting wounds shut).

Pretty cool stuff.

+Quote Post
Cray74
post May 30 2006, 12:32 PM
Post #3

Running Target

Member No.: 2,860

QUOTE (HMHVV Hunter)
There's gotta be some other applications for this to.  I'm no scientist, but there's gotta be other applications - tiny welders to weld small cracks in hull armor, maybe nanobots that act as instant sutures in the personnel themselves (knitting wounds shut).

Alas, that CNN article had nothing to do with microscopic, free-roaming robots - the nanotech of science fiction.

In real life, nanotech is control of materials at a nanoscale.

A typical example is control of grain (crystal) sizes in metals and ceramics by careful heat treating - no mini-robots involved, just a metallurgical furnace, laser, or other heat source.

Another example are modern electronics manufacturing, which reliably reproduces electronic structures on microchips at a scale of tens of nanometers. That involves careful crystal growth, spraying new layers, and selective etching.

For the foreseeable future, that's all nanotech's going to be. Microscopic robots remain the domain of sci-fi.

+Quote Post
PBTHHHHT
post May 30 2006, 12:37 PM
Post #4

Neophyte Runner

Member No.: 6,327