IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Magic Casting Rules Disagreement, How does it really work?
eightball1011
post Aug 7 2006, 03:09 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 27-December 04
Member No.: 6,909



This week we had our first run using new SR4 rules. I am playing a mage, so naturally I spent days reading over all the rules for mages before the game. There became a disagreement between the GM and I about how a certain spell was cast. I had hoped that someone on here could help resolve this issue before the next gaming session.
I was casting the spell Influence using 10 dice (spellcasting 5 + magic 5). I had 4 hits! The GM, reading the casting rules from SR4, decided that it was a successful cast. Then I had to re-roll those dice so that the Defender could make an opposed test. (This is where the problem came in) I thought that he would use my 4 hits to roll his Opposed test against, but apparently the rules seem to state a separate Opposed test. This doesn't seem correct. Apparently he only believes these rules to apply to Manipulation and Illusion spells. Can anyone set us straight? Do we have to re-roll so the defender can oppose? or do the original hits count as the target?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
James McMurray
post Aug 7 2006, 03:11 PM
Post #2


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,430
Joined: 10-January 05
From: Fort Worth, Texas
Member No.: 6,957



The original hits are used for the opposed resistance test.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
m00p
post Aug 7 2006, 03:14 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 14-July 06
Member No.: 8,889



The Game Master can certainly organize spellcasting that way, if he likes, but that makes it slanted against you in that you will be more likely to glitch. The way the rules are described, the Opposed Test is one-in-the-same with the test to cast the spell. Just like combat, if you roll no hits with your attack, your attack strictly failed; if you roll zero hits while casting a spell, it fizzles, but if it is successful, than it is successful to (number of hits) degree, and must be opposed as such.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aaron
post Aug 7 2006, 05:34 PM
Post #4


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,148
Joined: 27-February 06
From: UCAS
Member No.: 8,314



Tell your GM that we pointed you to the rules on page 202 under "Mental Manipulations." You might want to tell him that you thought he was right until we pointed those rules out, to help smooth things over with him; you don't want an annoyed GM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eightball1011
post Aug 7 2006, 09:03 PM
Post #5


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 27-December 04
Member No.: 6,909



Thanks everyone. I couldnt prove it, but I knew I was right. Thanks Aaron for the page reference. I appreciate it everyone.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2025 - 10:35 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.