IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Implanted weapons in asteral space?
xizor
post Aug 30 2006, 04:07 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 160
Joined: 16-August 03
Member No.: 5,501



If a mage has an implated cyberspur, and projects into the asteral plane, can he/she use the cyberspur in asteral combat?

to be clear, the cyberspur is not a weapon focus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2bit
post Aug 30 2006, 04:29 PM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 749
Joined: 28-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



sorta. it'd just be a cyberspur shaped astral form. Still use Astral Combat skill, still do Charisma/2 damage.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lorechaser
post Aug 30 2006, 04:35 PM
Post #3


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,333
Joined: 19-August 06
From: Austin
Member No.: 9,168



What about an adept with astral perception?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post Aug 30 2006, 04:44 PM
Post #4


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,924
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



QUOTE (lorechaser)
What about an adept with astral perception?

Same.

P 184

"Astrally perceiving and dual natured characters use their
Physical attributes and skills to fi ght opponents with a physical
body, and their Willpower + Astral Combat skill to fi ght wholly
astral entities."

Adept who is only perceiving, and not projecting, would attack with WI + Astral Combat SKill,a nd do damage of Cha/2. (Assumes the cyberspur is not a weapon focus.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2bit
post Aug 30 2006, 04:44 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 749
Joined: 28-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



just to clarify, the cyberspur doesn't have to "come with" the projecting mage. It depends on his self-image, which depending on the person may or may not include their implants.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xizor
post Aug 30 2006, 04:58 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 160
Joined: 16-August 03
Member No.: 5,501



my thoughts are along these lines

a weapon focus does 3 things in asteral plane:

1. it comes with you.

2. it adds dice = to force to your asteral combat pool.

3. it does the same damage it would have done in the physical world.


a (mundane) cyber spur would have all of those attributes

1. it comes with you because you paid essence for it.

2. it adds dice to your attack equal to force ( = 0 ).

3. Its still a cyberspur, so i think it should have the same effect in asteral plane as it does in physical world.
Because an unarmed attack in asteral space does the same amount of damage as an unarmed attack does in the physical world.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post Aug 30 2006, 05:12 PM
Post #7


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,924
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



QUOTE (xizor)
3. Its still a cyberspur, so i think it should have the same effect in asteral plane as it does in physical world.
Because an unarmed attack in asteral space does the same amount of damage as an unarmed attack does in the physical world.

Unarmed Attack also does Charisma/2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2bit
post Aug 30 2006, 05:17 PM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 749
Joined: 28-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



Making something a part of your body by paying essence doesn't make it magic, which is the difference here. A cyberspur just changes the shape of your natural body into something more pointy. Pointiness is irrelevant on the astral plane unless you're a weapon focus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gunsnammo
post Aug 30 2006, 06:01 PM
Post #9


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 19-August 06
From: Whiteland, IN
Member No.: 9,169



Do you use your astral strength (charisma) in astral space for damage with a weapon focus or do you use your regular strength?

gunsnammo
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cabral
post Aug 30 2006, 07:49 PM
Post #10


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 30-August 05
Member No.: 7,646



When using a Weapon Focus, the Astral Combat skill only applies to astral combat while astrally projecting. While dual-natured, you use the normal physical skill (Ie, blades for a weapon focus spur) and damage when fighting purely astral opponents. See the second paragraph of the Weapon Focus entry which starts on pg 192 and continues onto pg 192.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post Aug 30 2006, 08:34 PM
Post #11


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,924
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



The simple answer is when using physical skills use physical damage, when using astral skill, use astral damage. However, the following may help.

There are several Modes of Astral Combat

Projecting/Astral vs Projecting/Astral
- Attack Pool = Astral Combat Skill* + WI
- Damage = CHA/2 or By Weapon Type if weapon focus, use Astral Attribute score

perceiving/Dual Nature vs Projecting/Astral
- Attack Pool = Astral Combat Skill* + WI
- Damage = CHA/2 or By Weapon Type if weapon focus, use Astral Attribute score

Projecting/Astral vs perceiving/Dual Nature
- Attack Pool = Astral Combat Skill* + WI
- Damage = CHA/2 or By Weapon Type if weapon focus, use Astral Attribute score

perceiving/Dual Nature vs Percieving/Dual Nature
- Attack Pool = Astral Combat Skill* + WI
- Damage = CHA/2 or By Weapon Type if weapon focus, use Astral Attribute score
OR
- Attack Pool = Active Combat Skill + Agility
- Damage = By Weapon Type, Use Physical Attribute scores

Mundane vs Percieving/Dual Nature
- Attack Pool = Active Combat Skill + Agility
- Damage = Per weapon

Projecting/Astral vs Mundane
- N/A

Mundane vs Projecting/Astral
- N/A

* The Astral Combat Skill can vary
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lorechaser
post Aug 30 2006, 09:01 PM
Post #12


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,333
Joined: 19-August 06
From: Austin
Member No.: 9,168



So, weapon focus allows you to use the weapon's damage type even as an adept?

Cause I'm all confused again.

Normally, an adept astrally perceiving that attacks a spirit uses cha/2 for damage, yes?

If they have a weapon focused combat axe, do they now do combat axe damage + the weapon focus rating?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post Aug 30 2006, 09:09 PM
Post #13


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,924
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



QUOTE (lorechaser @ Aug 30 2006, 04:01 PM)
So, weapon focus allows you to use the weapon's damage type even as an adept?

Cause I'm all confused again.

Normally, an adept astrally perceiving that attacks a spirit uses cha/2 for damage, yes?

If they have a weapon focused combat axe, do they now do combat axe damage + the weapon focus rating?

I could quote the entire rule book, that may help in this case.

For an astrally perceiving adept, using a weapon focus, fighting a spirit, either materilized or astral, the adept uses physical skill roll to attack, and physical damage roll for damage.

The only point I can't be certain about is in refernce to this phrase, p 192. "Th e
damage of the weapon is the same on the astral plane as it is in
the physical world." used for an astral projecting character atttacking an astral oppponent, it's not explicit whether you use astral strength or physical strength when calculating damage of the weapon focus. I think it would be astral strength.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th May 2024 - 12:38 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.