IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Do I need skill wires for this set-up, Activesoft and rigging
Balcon13
post Sep 21 2006, 02:07 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 18-September 06
Member No.: 9,415



I have a PC set up with a Sim Module (Cold), Datajack, and Control Rig. My question is, if I load and activesoft "Pilot Aircraft" Level 4, and "Jump" into the aircraft with Rigger Adaptation and go full VR, do I need Skill wires since its my mind doing the driving and not my body?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Sep 21 2006, 02:08 PM
Post #2


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



Yes, you need skillwires.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Balcon13
post Sep 21 2006, 02:44 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 18-September 06
Member No.: 9,415



Thats the think skillwires say, "Skillwires are a system of neuromuscular controllers placed alongside the body's natural nervous system to override muscular movement." Since I don't need muscular movement when I use the cyberwear to drive in full VR then why do I need the wires.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Sep 21 2006, 02:52 PM
Post #4


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



Because the rules state that you need skillwires to use activesoft.
The techno-babble explaination is actually crap, as you only need to create an interface to the CNS... but you need that special interface to access the stored motor memories of the activesoft, no matter wheter you actually use muscles or not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Sep 21 2006, 10:54 PM
Post #5


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



besides, you obviously need your muscles to drive with your mind.

after all, you drive using the exact same attribute, whether rigging or not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Serbitar
post Sep 22 2006, 12:02 AM
Post #6


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,498
Joined: 4-August 05
From: ADL
Member No.: 7,534



My answer would be: No, you do not need skillwires. Matrix-like. Not too unbalanced, as Autosoft actually does the same for drones and you would have paid for the soft (or hacked it).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post Sep 22 2006, 02:56 AM
Post #7


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,924
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



Other then the rule you need skillwires to use activesofts, when jumped in p. 239 "Any tests are made using the rigger’s own skill and attributes." Not the drones, so autosofts don't apply. You need skillwires to use activesofts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Domino
post Sep 22 2006, 03:12 AM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 498
Joined: 31-May 02
From: All the way in the Back to the Left.
Member No.: 2,800



Do what makes sense and using your meat body to control a vehicle you jumped into doesn't make sense.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Sep 22 2006, 03:21 AM
Post #9


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



neither does using reaction to drive, or agility to shoot (while rigging, that is).

but, that's how the rules go.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Domino
post Sep 22 2006, 03:25 AM
Post #10


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 498
Joined: 31-May 02
From: All the way in the Back to the Left.
Member No.: 2,800



Agreed use Intelligence for gunnery.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Serbitar
post Sep 22 2006, 08:58 AM
Post #11


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,498
Joined: 4-August 05
From: ADL
Member No.: 7,534



I recommend intuition instead of reaction and agility when jumped in.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taki
post Sep 22 2006, 11:32 AM
Post #12


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 316
Joined: 18-April 05
From: France
Member No.: 7,343



Active soft are designed to help you using your corpse doing a task.

I think you should need a different soft to conduct the plane in VR, even if that seems strange by the rules.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Sep 22 2006, 12:05 PM
Post #13


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



Activesoft are stored motor memories. You don't need anything else than those and an interface to access them... and such interface is called skillwires.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Balcon13
post Sep 22 2006, 01:14 PM
Post #14


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 18-September 06
Member No.: 9,415



So what your saying is that for me to do what I want its nto activesoft programs that I want but knowsoft versions of the pilot skills that way the info is there that I can put through the rigger control while in full VR?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Sep 22 2006, 01:34 PM
Post #15


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



No, as you need motor memories to actually do something... be that real or virtual.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Sep 22 2006, 02:14 PM
Post #16


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,186
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



Another possible answer would be, that you cannot use Activesoft when you go full VR, because Activesoft only works in connection with the neuromuscular connection created by skillwires. ;)

If you want to have it the way you are imagining it to work, you would probably need to rewrite parts of the rules, that deal with VR.

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Sep 22 2006, 02:27 PM
Post #17


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



QUOTE (Thanee)
Another possible answer would be, that you cannot use Activesoft when you go full VR, because Activesoft only works in connection with the neuromuscular connection created by skillwires.

Unfortunatly, that would remove any possibility for rigging, as you couldn't even use your own learned motor memories.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Sep 22 2006, 04:02 PM
Post #18


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,186
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



I don't think those are Activesofts. :D

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mahali
post Sep 22 2006, 04:12 PM
Post #19


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 8,996



QUOTE (Rotbart van Dainig)
Unfortunatly, that would remove any possibility for rigging, as you couldn't even use your own learned motor memories.

?
Looking at Activesofts that way wouldn't change anything. Your brain is what's learned and controls the bodies actions. "Muscle memory" is just a term used to describe something so ingrained you're not thinking about it ("learned" reflexes). It doesn't remove the brain from the process.

Only thing different would be lack of kinesthetic input which would, presumably, be replaced by drone sensors.

Of course unless the rigger is so familiar with the drones responses that you'd describe them as "motor memories" the rigger won't be as proficient.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Sep 22 2006, 04:42 PM
Post #20


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



QUOTE (Mahali)
?

As there is no difference, if you can't use motor memories stored in activesoft and fed to your CNS via skillwires, you couldn't use your real motor memory, too.

Which would you require to learn a different set of skills for VR alone... possibly knowledge skills, which, subsequently, you can load without skillwires as knowsofts only need a sim module - which is needed for VR anyway.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th July 2024 - 03:16 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.