IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Health Spells and Ritual Magic
chazuli
post Nov 24 2006, 11:34 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 18-January 06
Member No.: 8,178



Near as I can tell from the RAW, health spells can not be cast with ritual magic unless the target is present at the ritual. Is this in fact the case, or am I missing something?

I had this idea to target a PC with a Reduce (characteristic) spell cast via a symbolic link (ie the classic voodoo doll that caused a character to become crippled until they managed to find the source of the spell). But from what I read it doesn't appear to be possible.

Any thoughts or ideas on this regard?

Best,
Charles
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post Nov 25 2006, 12:27 AM
Post #2


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



Well, I can see how an astral spotter would be a bit weird under the rules (unless the spotter touched the subject), but material, sympathetic and symbolic links should work fine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crowley
post Nov 25 2006, 09:37 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 28-October 06
Member No.: 9,729



I might allow it to work if the spotter cohabitated in astral space with the target the whole time, which basically means that anyone who has any idea what's what with magic will find someone to help, and quick.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chazuli
post Nov 25 2006, 02:55 PM
Post #4


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 18-January 06
Member No.: 8,178



QUOTE (Ancient History)
Well, I can see how an astral spotter would be a bit weird under the rules (unless the spotter touched the subject), but material, sympathetic and symbolic links should work fine.

Of course the spotter can only interact with the target if the target is astrally active, though. so... by that logic a spotter could only deliver a touch spell on a mage or a dual natured creature?

As to the links, I can't see anything in the rules addressing ritual magic and touch range spells working with a link. Is the logic that so long as the link is within touch during a ritual it will work?

best,
Charles
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post Nov 25 2006, 05:29 PM
Post #5


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



Nah, a bound spirit could act as a spotter materialize and touch (or, I suppose, possess) the target as necessary - but again, the point of ritual magic is to overcome the typical range limitations of conventional sorcery, so it's likely a normal spotter would work fine. Depends on how the GM rules until the errata comes in.

As for material, sympathetic, and symbolic links, the astral link is the important part of the process - touching the link is essentially touching the target.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jervinator
post Nov 25 2006, 06:43 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 4-September 05
Member No.: 7,682



QUOTE
...the astral link is the important part of the process - touching the link is essentially touching the target.


That is what I always thought; material links are as effective as LOS for purposes of spell-casting as both allow a caster to sync up with the target's aura and channel mana.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chazuli
post Nov 25 2006, 07:01 PM
Post #7


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 18-January 06
Member No.: 8,178



QUOTE (jervinator)
QUOTE
...the astral link is the important part of the process - touching the link is essentially touching the target.


That is what I always thought; material links are as effective as LOS for purposes of spell-casting as both allow a caster to sync up with the target's aura and channel mana.

Oh no question on ritual magic and LOS spells. The rules are pretty explicit on that situation. My concern is about Health spells which all MUST have a range of touch, b/c the description of ritual magic only mentions LOS, not touch.

I'm probably going to rule that links work w/ touch spells, but I'm still unsure whether spotters will need to 'touch' the target to deliver the spell or not. Obviously a spotter can touch an astrally active target, but only a spirit could materialize to deliver a touch spell on a mundane or a non-percieving mage.

Best,
Charles
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jervinator
post Nov 26 2006, 01:05 AM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 4-September 05
Member No.: 7,682



I mispoke. What I mean is that for purposes of spellcasting, having the link in your hands pretty much negates the range requirement as you are (metaphysically) touching the target. If it weren't that way then ritual sorcery would be practically useless.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th June 2025 - 04:20 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.