IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A few questions on Regeneration
nezumi
post Nov 7 2003, 02:57 AM
Post #51


Incertum est quo loco te mors expectet;
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,548
Joined: 24-October 03
From: DeeCee, U.S.
Member No.: 5,760



In regards to stats, I don't see them as being more crippled. They lost a high priority slot, but they didn't have to split attributes. Yes, they were weaker than the critter counterparts, but that's why I'd be fine letting a PC play one! Considering the rules in the 3rd edition for regeneration (heal all damage in human form while wearing armor each turn), if I let PCs play shapeshifters I might as well let them play dragons! (Not great dragons, just measly little ones that I can pick on). The only thing I'd really want to change about the 2nd edition version is let them do physical damage with their natural weapons. Otherwise they're great; they're cool, they're realistic and they're balanced.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Syndyne
post Nov 7 2003, 03:10 AM
Post #52


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 20-October 03
From: Renton, Washington
Member No.: 5,743



Zazen:
QUOTE
I'm unable to find where it says that shapeshifters are not subject to standard rules for death. I did find this, however:


SR Companion Page 36 Regeneration Section Para 3, "Whenever a shapeshifter takes Deadly physical damage in one shot, or its cumulative damage reaches Deadly on the condition monitor, roll 1D6. On a result of 1, the shapeshifter does not regenerate, and may die if they do not receive medical care per standard rules."

I don't see an exception here for going over the overflow limit. To me, this specifically states that they don't follow the normal rules for death until they have failed their roll. If you get something else out of the same statement, then I don't think we can accomplish much by continuing to debate it. :)

Kagetenshi:
QUOTE
With regards to shapeshifters (which I presume you were speaking about), you're entirely accurate. For the rest of the world, though, it doesn't matter whether a shot splatters all of you or just your brain, you're just as dead.


My statement should definitely be construed as restricted to the effect of the damage on a regenerating creature. Otherwise, dead is dead.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post Nov 7 2003, 06:07 AM
Post #53


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



QUOTE (Syndyne)
I don't see an exception here for going over the overflow limit.

Me either. I see nothing that exempts them from it. :P

Yes, they may die if they roll a 1, but I don't see anything that says that they may not die if they roll 2-6. In fact, the earlier flavor text seems to support the notion that they are still susceptible to massive amounts of damage despite their regenerative powers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mercer
post Nov 7 2003, 04:07 PM
Post #54


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,326
Joined: 15-April 02
Member No.: 2,600



Well, if memory serves, when the regenner rolls his d6 and doesn't fail, the damage disappears (I think that was the 2nd ed wording). So, the creature couldn't even get any overdamage at all without first failing the d6 roll.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post Nov 7 2003, 04:19 PM
Post #55


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



edit- nevermind, I posted something that wasn't sound.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rock-Steady
post Nov 7 2003, 05:27 PM
Post #56


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 26-February 02
From: In the shadows of the SK Arcology Essen, ADL
Member No.: 1,934



QUOTE (Mercer)
Well, if memory serves, when the regenner rolls his d6 and doesn't fail, the damage disappears (I think that was the 2nd ed wording). So, the creature couldn't even get any overdamage at all without first failing the d6 roll.

In 3rd Edition the damage vanishes the next round after the creature got it.

So if you have some actions after the creature you can kill it with overdamage.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Syndyne
post Nov 8 2003, 01:06 AM
Post #57


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 20-October 03
From: Renton, Washington
Member No.: 5,743



Zazen:
QUOTE
Yes, they may die if they roll a 1, but I don't see anything that says that they may not die if they roll 2-6.


It says, in the same paragraph, "For any other result, the character suffers the standard combat penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted, but the damage vanishes at the beginning of the next Combat Turn."

Zazen:
QUOTE
In fact, the earlier flavor text seems to support the notion that they are still susceptible to massive amounts of damage despite their regenerative powers.


Yes, but the book specifically deals with that and the shapeshifter has a higher chance of dying in that case, dying on a 1 or 2.

Rock-Steady:
QUOTE
So if you have some actions after the creature you can kill it with overdamage.


Quite a few of us have argued that simple overdamage doesn't kill a shapeshifter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rock-Steady
post Nov 8 2003, 11:42 AM
Post #58


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 26-February 02
From: In the shadows of the SK Arcology Essen, ADL
Member No.: 1,934



QUOTE (Syndyne)
Quite a few of us have argued that simple overdamage doesn't kill a shapeshifter.

Nothing wrong with that.

But i dont agree.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Nov 8 2003, 04:27 PM
Post #59


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



There are holes in the regeneration rules you could drive a citymaster through. For instance, it doesn't actually say that stun damage heals quickly, overdamage doesn't kill the shifter, or that any non-deadly injury heals. The rules as written only appear to kick in when the shifter takes a deadly wound... which is odd.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post Nov 8 2003, 08:20 PM
Post #60


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



QUOTE (Syndyne)
Zazen:
QUOTE
Yes, they may die if they roll a 1, but I don't see anything that says that they may not die if they roll 2-6.


It says, in the same paragraph, "For any other result, the character suffers the standard combat penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted, but the damage vanishes at the beginning of the next Combat Turn."

You've slightly misquoted the text. It says "For any other result the character suffers the standard damage(not combat) penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted..."

Note that a standard penalty associated with taking your body rating in overdamage is death.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Nov 8 2003, 08:58 PM
Post #61


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE
Note that a standard penalty associated with taking your body rating in overdamage is death.
Correct, which unless the magic number was rolled, all that damage vanishes at the beginning of the next turn.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Nov 8 2003, 09:06 PM
Post #62


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



QUOTE (BitBasher)
Correct, which unless the magic number was rolled, all that damage vanishes at the beginning of the next turn.

Yes, but he's arguing that the death effect is one which cannot be reversed.

He may well be right, too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rock-Steady
post Nov 8 2003, 09:42 PM
Post #63


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 26-February 02
From: In the shadows of the SK Arcology Essen, ADL
Member No.: 1,934



QUOTE (BitBasher @ Nov 8 2003, 08:58 PM)
Correct, which unless the magic number was rolled, all that damage vanishes at the beginning of the next turn.

Thats the point.

In the next round. The critter still has the damage if it gets more damage, so it must be dead if the damage exceeds its body rating.

If the round ends before the critter can receive more damage its lucky. *g*

Btw

The german critter states that they dont regenerate stun damage.

I like two different rules....

[edit]

Spelling
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Syndyne
post Nov 9 2003, 12:37 AM
Post #64


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 20-October 03
From: Renton, Washington
Member No.: 5,743



Zazen:
QUOTE
You've slightly misquoted the text. It says "For any other result the character suffers the standard damage(not combat) penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted..."


I'm sorry, missed that one. . .

Zazen:
QUOTE
Note that a standard penalty associated with taking your body rating in overdamage is death.


Yes, I don't think that anyone ever argued that if you FAIL the roll and have more than your body in overdamage you will not die, simply that if you MAKE the roll you don't die. . .

I don't really think there is any real point in continuing to argue this issue, no one is going to change their mind without an official ruling.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spotlite
post Nov 9 2003, 12:47 AM
Post #65


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 611
Joined: 21-October 03
From: Yorkshire Toxic Zone
Member No.: 5,752



QUOTE (Rock-Steady)
The german critter states that they dont regenerate stun damage.

Any chance you could print up the full text, preferably translated in English?

ta.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Nov 9 2003, 12:47 AM
Post #66


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



Most people don't change their minds WITH an official ruling =)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post Nov 9 2003, 01:46 AM
Post #67


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



QUOTE (Syndyne)
Yes, I don't think that anyone ever argued that if you FAIL the roll and have more than your body in overdamage you will not die, simply that if you MAKE the roll you don't die. . .

Please reread my post, and the book quote in particular. It's talking about what happens when you make the roll. :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post Nov 9 2003, 01:54 AM
Post #68


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



QUOTE (BitBasher)
Most people don't change their minds WITH an official ruling =)

And what, praytell, is an "official ruling"? ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Syndyne
post Nov 9 2003, 03:03 AM
Post #69


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 20-October 03
From: Renton, Washington
Member No.: 5,743



QUOTE (Zazen)
QUOTE (Syndyne @ Nov 8 2003, 07:37 PM)
Yes, I don't think that anyone ever argued that if you FAIL the roll and have more than your body in overdamage you will not die, simply that if you MAKE the roll you don't die. . .

Please reread my post, and the book quote in particular. It's talking about what happens when you make the roll. :P

And it says that those standard penalties disappear. . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Nov 9 2003, 03:17 AM
Post #70


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,013
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



QUOTE (TinkerGnome)
He may well be right, too.

No, he mayn't be. Nowhere in the rules does it say that death cannot be regenerated from, merely that a failed regeneration roll can result in death.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Nov 9 2003, 04:57 AM
Post #71


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



QUOTE (Kagetenshi @ Nov 8 2003, 11:17 PM)
QUOTE (TinkerGnome @ Nov 8 2003, 05:06 PM)
He may well be right, too.

No, he mayn't be. Nowhere in the rules does it say that death cannot be regenerated from, merely that a failed regeneration roll can result in death.

There is a vast difference between "may be right" and "is right". Death in Shadowrun is a very final thing and magic can't generally get you back from it. Do you allow someone at body + 1 overflow to come back with anything other than regeneration? What if someone hits them with a heal or stabilize spell before the end of the pass?

If you don't allow that, it follows that regeneration shouldn't, either. After all, another kind of magic is healing the damage before the turn is over, and the PC is only suffering the effects of those wounds for the duration of the turn... Is death an effect that magic can reverse?

[edit] Heh, turns out this was my "running target" post. Not that it matters, or anything. [/edit]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Nov 9 2003, 05:44 AM
Post #72


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,013
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



No, but the suggestion that death from overdamage occurs was based on the fact that elsewhere in the rules it says that people die when they pass overdamage and it wasn't specifically contradicted in the Regen rules. In Regen, death isn't specifically stated as a cause of nonregeneration except in the case of a failed roll, so saying regen applies to death is equally valid, and I don't believe you can accept one but not the other and still claim to be "interpreting canon" rather than houseruling.

~J

Postscript: I got my "Running Target" post tonight too. Woo! 1,000 posts in under a year!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Nov 9 2003, 09:28 AM
Post #73


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



Also magic healing is not regeneration, and neither are they comparable, or interchangable. One's rules are not the other's. For the point of this conbersation I feel it is like compariing apples and hookers. Very different things ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rock-Steady
post Nov 9 2003, 11:22 AM
Post #74


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 26-February 02
From: In the shadows of the SK Arcology Essen, ADL
Member No.: 1,934



QUOTE (spotlite @ Nov 9 2003, 12:47 AM)
QUOTE (Rock-Steady @ Nov 8 2003, 09:42 PM)
The german critter states that they dont regenerate stun damage.

Any chance you could print up the full text, preferably translated in English?

ta.

Sorry dont own the german one personally.

[Update]

Ok my friend and me got it wrong. He though that we talked about the compendium (which states that PC shapeshifters can only regenerate physical damage).

The german critter says damage (regardless if stun or physical) too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Nov 9 2003, 02:37 PM
Post #75


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



QUOTE (BitBasher)
Also magic healing is not regeneration, and neither are they comparable, or interchangable. One's rules are not the other's. For the point of this conbersation I feel it is like compariing apples and hookers. Very different things ;)

It doesn't matter what the respective rules for the two types of healing are. What's important is the question:

"Once death has been suffered as a wound effect, can it be reversed if the damage is removed?"

The shapeshifter entry specificly says that the creatures suffers wound penalties until the end of the turn. Death certainly qualifies as a "wound penalty". Following this train of thought, if a shapeshifter suffers the death penalty, can they come back? The rules do not specificly address this (hell, the word "overflow" doesn't even exist in the regeneration section of shapeshifter entry).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th October 2025 - 09:07 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.