Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Advice on Magic?
Sigil
post Apr 19 2007, 11:25 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,758

Hey. I'm fairly new to SR4--I played SR2 a long time back and a little SR3 (on a MUSH, actually), and am trying to learn SR4. Been making a few example characters. I like the changes to cyber in general.

However, for a magician, 400BP just doesn't seem to -go far-. When I make a magician, I like having all the magical skills, and that, plus the magician quality, plus buying up magic, makes things really expensive.

What would you suggest for a Magic attribute for a magician? 4? 5? Higher to 6, or lower? Is there any tricks or tips you can suggest for a new player who's playing with magicians at present?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Grinder
post Apr 19 2007, 11:37 AM
Post #2

Great, I'm a Dragon...

Group: Retired Admins
Member No.: 5,698

Most mages in my games tend to have a Magic attribute of 5. That allows for a god punch when casting spells (a Force of 5 is possible without physical drain). For skills: spezialise and either chose summoning or spellcasting. It's no longer possible for a starting mage to be good in both fields.

+Quote Post
Aaron
post Apr 19 2007, 11:41 AM
Post #3

Mr. Johnson

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 8,314

A Magic Rating of 4 is adequate for a magician that intends to impose his or her will on others. A Rating of 5 is better. Rating 6 is a stretch at character creation, and will force you to lose out on something else (one of the magicians in our group has no Counterspelling, but a Magic Rating of 6).

You might want to start it off at 5, and then save up 18 Karma to buy it up to 6 during play.

+Quote Post
Deva
post Apr 19 2007, 12:18 PM
Post #4

Moving Target

Member No.: 8,432