IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Power Foci, Quick, stupid question.
Squinky
post Jun 1 2007, 05:00 AM
Post #1


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,479
Joined: 6-May 05
From: Idaho
Member No.: 7,377



I just have a quick question regarding power foci. It is my understanding that they add their rating to tests made with the magic attribute, and a player of mine believes that they add to his ability to cast higher force spells.

Example:

In his mind is he has a mystic adept with effectively 4 magic in mage power, he normally can cast at force four without physical drain. Using a level 2 power foci he believes he can cast at force 6 without physical drain.

I don't agree, but can't pinpoint exactly where it says otherwise. Is he correct?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Magus
post Jun 1 2007, 05:09 AM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 617
Joined: 28-May 03
From: Orlando
Member No.: 4,644



What is his Magic Attribute? How many PP did he sink into spell casting? If he has Magic 4, and he has 2 PP in Mystic Qualities he can cast force 2 with Stun Drain and Max Force 4 with overcasting. Throw in a Power Foci of Force 2 and he can safely cast at force 4. See the Errata/FAQ at shadowrunrpg.com.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Jun 1 2007, 05:19 AM
Post #3


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



He's thinking of the 3rd edition Power Focus, which added to your Magic Attribute. The 4th edition Power Focus gives you a dicepool bonus to rolls you make that include your Magic Attribute.

So in the previous edition, the Power Focus made you able to cast higher force spells without taking physical. In the current edition it does not.

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Jun 1 2007, 06:06 AM
Post #4


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



QUOTE (Magus)
What is his Magic Attribute? How many PP did he sink into spell casting? If he has Magic 4, and he has 2 PP in Mystic Qualities he can cast force 2 with Stun Drain and Max Force 4 with overcasting. Throw in a Power Foci of Force 2 and he can safely cast at force 4. See the Errata/FAQ at shadowrunrpg.com.

no, he can't cast the higher force spells without harm like you say.

it adds to magic tests, not to magic rating.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Squinky
post Jun 2 2007, 03:31 AM
Post #5


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,479
Joined: 6-May 05
From: Idaho
Member No.: 7,377



Thanks for the clarification guys.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th June 2024 - 05:30 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.