IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

11 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Symbolic Links: Any way to defend yourself?, Are they crazy or merely insane?
Aku
post Aug 6 2007, 04:36 AM
Post #51


Running, running, running
*****

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,220
Joined: 18-October 04
From: North Carolina
Member No.: 6,769



not entirely, no, but then, i dont think that ritual spellcasting is really needed, as a PC option either.

i also dont think the sole use of ritual spellcasting should make wards null and void
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Aug 6 2007, 06:34 AM
Post #52


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



QUOTE (Fortune)
QUOTE (fistandantilus3.0 @ Aug 6 2007, 02:27 PM)
My understanding was that the spell simply comes in to being at ground zero.

Thereby still having to pass through and be affected by a Ward.

Since it comes into being inside the ward, how does it differ from a spell that is cast inside the ward?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravor
post Aug 6 2007, 07:06 AM
Post #53


Cybernetic Blood Mage
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,472
Joined: 11-March 06
From: Northeastern Wyoming
Member No.: 8,361



And if the Ward surounding the target affects the spell why doesn't the various background counts and wards scattered across the world also affect the spell?

In fact, as has been asked, forget fireball, how does firebolt work via Ritual Magic IF you assume spell travel?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
knasser
post Aug 6 2007, 07:33 AM
Post #54


Shadow Cartographer
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,737
Joined: 2-June 06
From: Secret Tunnels under the UK (South West)
Member No.: 8,636



QUOTE (Adarael)
The question assumes direct spells travel. They don't. They simply erupt at the target without an intervening travel time. It's the link between caster and target that is impeded by the ward. It's unfortunate that the wording of wards implies direct spells 'travel', because they don't and never have. As the FAQ states:

Do spells cast in the astral have an astral form? What about spells cast in the physical plane?

"Spells never have an astral form. They have auras, as all living and magical things do, but spells never have an actual astral form. That's why you can't attack a spell in astral combat, for example (as you could in SR2)."

Consequently, the spell's form isn't what the ward blocks - it has no form - and it's their echoes are what you're seeing. Spells don't move. They simply are. That's why you see auras of spellcasting where the caster of a mana bolt was and an aura on the target's body - not in a path between the two.


:applauds:

Works for me.

-K.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Aug 6 2007, 08:41 AM
Post #55


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (toturi)
Since it comes into being inside the ward, how does it differ from a spell that is cast inside the ward?

I can't really express it any better than Adarael.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NightmareX
post Aug 6 2007, 10:46 AM
Post #56


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 831
Joined: 5-September 05
From: LAX, UCAS
Member No.: 7,687



Ok, frankly I'm seeing alot of nonsensical rules-lawyering garbage in this thread, time to put it straight. In this response I'll referance previous editions (yes, the fluff logic of such in regards to magic should still hold between editions as nothing happened between '64 and '70 to change it) and common sense. Why? Because the SR4 rules on ritual sorcery in relation to wards are apparently as clear as mud.

QUOTE (Tarantula)
If I target Joe's big toe with my manabolt.  Joe takes damage.  Not just his big toe.  Why?  Because Joe's big toe is linked to joe (physically and magically).  If I cut off some of joe's hair (material link) and manabolt it ritually, it affects joe.  Why?  Because its linked to joe (magically).  If I take Joe's lucky boxer shorts, and manabolt them ritually via metamagic (symbolic) Joe takes damage.  Because they are linked to joe (meta-magically).  If I make a statue of joe (hard enough as it is), and manabolt that, joe takes damage.  Because its linked to joe (meta-magically).

This is correct. Ritual magic works based on the Law of Association (Sota 63, page 32) which states: If two subjects or objects have one or more factors in common, then they interact through those commonalities and facilitate control over one or the other.

This means, that in targeting the sympathetic link ritually, the magician is actually targeting the ritual target (thus bypassing LOS). This does not mean that the effect simply teleports to the target and poofs into being however (no teleporting, remember?). Various folk are correct in stating that the spell does not travel from the ritual team to the target as well - you aren't going to see a lightning bolt ripping around the world to strike some schmuck (astrally or physically). However, this does not mean that the spell uses some mythical "third route" akin to a metaplanar shortcut to get to the target as Frank states. In fact, the spell doesn't get to the target at all.

In all previous editions, ritual sorcery has been divided into two stages, the targeting and the actual sending (MitS page 37). This has been collapsed into one stage in SR4 to streamline the process - a mistake IMO. The targeting phase and test was the point in which the ritual team forged a functional magical link (made possible by the Law of Association) with the target. Logically, what is a magical link folks? A connection forged of mana. The same thing as a bond between a magician and his trusty power focus. When the link is forged, the second part of the ritual begins - the sending. What the sending does is builds the spell around the target, manipulating the ambient mana at the target's location to do so remotely via the ritual link.

I bolded that because it is crucial to understanding how this works. As you can see, the spell doesn't teleport or "third way" to the target, but it is rather formed around the target remotely. The ritual link is vital to this process, just like the wireless signal between a jumped-in rigger and his drone is vital from him to run the drone. Since that link is composed of mana, it will be hindered by anything that prevents the motion of mana, just like jamming or other interference degrades the signal between the drone and the rigger. Physical walls don't do that, but magical barriers (lodges, barrier spells, and wards) do - it's what they are designed to do.

When the time for the sending rolls around, too much interference in the link makes the formation of the actual spell effect more difficult, meaning impaired results (spell defense, btw works in the same manner (see SR4, page 176). In game terms, the ward's Force adds to the target's resistance dice pool, just like spell defense does.

Now, why does all this work in SR4? Because we know that this link is present and can be viewed (and tracked) astrally:

SR4, page 175
For the duration of the ritual, a link is present between the spotter’s
astral form and the ritual group. If the spotter is noticed by the
target, it is possible to use the link to track her back to the ritual
team’s physical location. See Astral Tracking, p. 185.


So, yes this means that Joe Wagemage can be walking down the street in MSP, look up (astrally perceiving) and see the ritual link between the Ritual Assassin Team in New York and their hapless victim in Seattle (logically, the link would take the shortest path of least resistance between the caster and target IMO). I would imagine this link would be very faint and hard to notice (5+ hits on an Assensing test) unless one was at either end of it, but it would logically be possible to notice it.

Thus it is written, thus it has always been, thus it shall be. QED

QUOTE (Adarael)
As the FAQ states:
Do spells cast in the astral have an astral form? What about spells cast in the physical plane?

"Spells never have an astral form. They have auras, as all living and magical things do, but spells never have an actual astral form. That's why you can't attack a spell in astral combat, for example (as you could in SR2)."

Another unfortunate design choice IMO, since it takes the "location" of a spell from being clearly defined as the astral plane and puts it into some ill-defined in-between "place". IMO it would have been better to state that yes, spells have as astral form, but it is diffuse enough that it cannot be harmed in astral combat but rather only be undone by the Counterspelling skill.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Synner
post Aug 6 2007, 11:25 AM
Post #57


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,314
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Lisbon, Cidade do Pecado
Member No.: 185



The closest you'll get to an official answer outside the FAQ is that Wards are "aspected disruption fields" affecting any external magic trying to affect anything within their boundries - once a ward is raised everything within the volume established by its boundries is "warded" (especifically on the physical and astral planes since wards are dual mana barriers).

I used "aspected" on purpose and I mean that wards are astral barriers specifically designed to interfere with magic being cast (and astral forms trying to break) into their area of effect (unlike, say, background counts/domains/mana static spells which affect all magic cast into and cast within their limits via the physical and astral planes) and not to interfere with magic cast within their limits (once inside those boundries all bets are off).

Spells do not "travel" at all - directly or indirectly. Magic users focus mana into a spell effect - channelling it on the physical or astral planes and suffering Drain for it, "syncing" it with a target - and the effect simply manifests/comes into being at the point/aura/whatever chosen as a target.

Furthermore, spells do not "go metaplanar" at any point when cast via ritual sorcery - in fact, spells cast on the physical plane do not even go astral.

Whether its remotely formed at the target as NightmareX suggests or the targeting link forms an instant "wormhole" to the target doesn't really matter. Wards are designed to interfere with any mana effects from without affecting things within (regardless of whether this means disrupting the remote manipulation or disrupting the instant wormhole effect )

Astral spotting and/or sympathetic/symbolic linking simply replace the need for LOS during the targeting of a casting. Otherwise, the spell works as normal (ie. mana is instantly channeled to the intended target through the link established by LOS/astral spotting/sympathetic or symbolic linking).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Talia Invierno
post Aug 6 2007, 11:39 AM
Post #58


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,677
Joined: 5-June 03
Member No.: 4,689



I'd avoided bringing SR2 into it, since that was the edition where you could physically fight the travelling spell construct on the astral. That was explicitly removed in SR3.

The original spun-off ritual magic/astral barriers thread
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 6 2007, 01:57 PM
Post #59


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,078
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 67



Insofar as writer's intention counts for anything, my intention with wards matches what Adarael and NightmareX said. The spell may be constructed at the ritual link inside the ward, but the link itself exists between the ritual object in the ritual team's possession and the sympathetic object within the ward. The ward still affects this linkage and consequently affects the ritual spellcasting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Aug 6 2007, 02:14 PM
Post #60


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



QUOTE (Synner @ Aug 6 2007, 07:25 PM)
Astral spotting and/or sympathetic/symbolic linking simply replace the need for LOS during the targeting of a casting. Otherwise, the spell works as normal (ie. mana is instantly channeled to the intended target through the link established by LOS/astral spotting/sympathetic or symbolic linking).


QUOTE
Insofar as writer's intention counts for anything, my intention with wards matches what Adarael and NightmareX said. The spell may be constructed at the ritual link inside the ward, but the link itself exists between the ritual object in the ritual team's possession and the sympathetic object within the ward. The ward still affects this linkage and consequently affects the ritual spellcasting.


Is this the developers/writers collective intent on Ritual Spellcasting?

Does a ward interfere with a spell cast from within that ward? Where is the point of origin of a ritual spell then? Can the spell originate from within the warded volume?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 6 2007, 02:27 PM
Post #61


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,078
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 67



QUOTE
Is this the developers/writers collective intent on Ritual Spellcasting?


No. I put writer's intention (note the singular possessive) in there intentionally. It is my intention only, which can be totally trumped by an official FAQ/errata statement.

More of my personal intentions:

QUOTE
Does a ward interfere with a spell cast from within that ward?


No.

QUOTE
Where is the point of origin of a ritual spell then?


Technically, the point of origin of a ritual spellcast would be at the sympathetic object (or its astral shadow).

QUOTE
Can the spell originate from within the warded volume?


It can, but the ability to remotely manipulate mana, which is what a ritual spellcast is doing, depends entirely on the strength of the sympathetic link, which is affected by the ward.

As for whether my intention matches up with Peter's intention, I don't know. I haven't talked to Peter about this before. If he needs to overrule me with an official statement, that's cool by me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Aug 6 2007, 02:34 PM
Post #62


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



QUOTE (Demonseed Elite)
QUOTE
Is this the developers/writers collective intent on Ritual Spellcasting?


No. I put writer's intention (note the singular possessive) in there intentionally. It is my intention only, which can be totally trumped by an official FAQ/errata statement.

And I quoted Peter's post as well intentionally.

What is the point of origin for a astral spotter ritual spell?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 6 2007, 03:00 PM
Post #63


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,078
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 67



QUOTE (toturi)
What is the point of origin for a astral spotter ritual spell?

Mechanically, this should work similar to a normal, non-ritual spellcast. The spotter is choosing a target using line-of-sight, and the point of origin for the spell is at the chosen target. Note that a ward can prevent him from picking a useful target, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Buster
post Aug 6 2007, 03:16 PM
Post #64


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,246
Joined: 8-June 07
Member No.: 11,869



QUOTE (Synner)
The closest you'll get to an official answer outside the FAQ is that Wards are "aspected disruption fields" affecting any external magic trying to affect anything within their boundries - once a ward is raised everything within the volume established by its boundries is "warded" (especifically on the physical and astral planes since wards are dual mana barriers).

I used "aspected" on purpose and I mean that wards are astral barriers specifically designed to interfere with magic being cast (and astral forms trying to break) into their area of effect (unlike, say, background counts/domains/mana static spells which affect all magic cast into and cast within their limits via the physical and astral planes) and not to interfere with magic cast within their limits (once inside those boundries all bets are off).

Spells do not "travel" at all - directly or indirectly. Magic users focus mana into a spell effect - channelling it on the physical or astral planes and suffering Drain for it, "syncing" it with a target - and the effect simply manifests/comes into being at the point/aura/whatever chosen as a target.

Furthermore, spells do not "go metaplanar" at any point when cast via ritual sorcery - in fact, spells cast on the physical plane do not even go astral.

Whether its remotely formed at the target as NightmareX suggests or the targeting link forms an instant "wormhole" to the target doesn't really matter. Wards are designed to interfere with any mana effects from without affecting things within (regardless of whether this means disrupting the remote manipulation  or disrupting the instant wormhole effect )

Astral spotting and/or sympathetic/symbolic linking simply replace the need for LOS during the targeting of a casting. Otherwise, the spell works as normal (ie. mana is instantly channeled to the intended target through the link established by LOS/astral spotting/sympathetic or symbolic linking).

Awesome, this is perfect thanks!

So the bottom line answer to my original question would be: "Wards do subtract their rating from all spellcasting and ritual spellcasting tests against a target who is inside the warded volume from outside the warded volume."

Followup questions:
  • Is the ward rating also subtracted from the attempt to create the symbolic link in the first place?
  • Would background counts/domains/mana static spells be subtracted from ritual spellcasting and symbolic link creation tests?
  • Can you add all this to the FAQ?
Also, "especifically" is my new favorite word. :D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post Aug 6 2007, 03:25 PM
Post #65


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



QUOTE
So the bottom line answer to my original question would be: "Wards do subtract their rating from all spellcasting and ritual spellcasting tests against a target who is inside the warded volume from outside the warded volume."

No. The target of the spell adds the Force of the barrier to their resistance dice pool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Synner
post Aug 6 2007, 03:31 PM
Post #66


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,314
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Lisbon, Cidade do Pecado
Member No.: 185



QUOTE (Demonseed Elite)
QUOTE
Is this the developers/writers collective intent on Ritual Spellcasting?

No. I put writer's intention (note the singular possessive) in there intentionally. It is my intention only, which can be totally trumped by an official FAQ/errata statement.

As the lead developer on Street Magic, Jay's approach matches my own.

QUOTE
QUOTE
Does a ward interfere with a spell cast from within that ward?

No.
Agreed. See my earlier post.

QUOTE
QUOTE
Where is the point of origin of a ritual spell then?

Technically, the point of origin of a ritual spellcast would be at the sympathetic object (or its astral shadow).

To clarify: while Jay is correct about the spell using the sympathetic link to target someone, however the "point of origin" of a ritual spell is actually where it is for any spell at whoever is casting it, and in the case of ritual spells that's the ritual leader (and not the astral spotter since spotters aren't strictly necessary).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Aug 6 2007, 03:37 PM
Post #67


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



QUOTE (synner)
To clarify: while Jay is correct about the spell using the sympathetic link to target someone, however the "point of origin" of a ritual spell is actually where it is for any spell at whoever is casting it, and in the case of ritual spells that's the ritual leader (and not the astral spotter since spotters aren't strictly necessary).


So you're saying that a normal ritual spell cast through an astral spotter would have to get the spotter through the ward (because the ward is astrally opaque and the spotter cannot spot through it), and then the spellcasting would be opposed by the ward anyway?

That sounds an awful lot like double jeopardy.

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 6 2007, 03:59 PM
Post #68


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,078
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 67



QUOTE (FrankTrollman)
So you're saying that a normal ritual spell cast through an astral spotter would have to get the spotter through the ward (because the ward is astrally opaque and the spotter cannot spot through it), and then the spellcasting would be opposed by the ward anyway?

That sounds an awful lot like double jeopardy.

-Frank

That's my interpretation.

Obviously, the best time to use ritual sorcery is when the target is not inside a ward.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Aug 6 2007, 04:04 PM
Post #69


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Wait. If you get your spotter inside the ward, then the target doesn't get the bonus from the ward? You just lost any kind of credibility. Either, he should get the bonus always on spells incoming to him that weren't cast from inside the ward. Or he shouldn't get it on ritual spells.

Not, he gets it on ritual spells unless they get the spotter inside the ward. Why? Because, whats connecting the spotter to the ritual? A link! A link that someone can astrally follow. So, why wouldn't the ward impact that link the same as the sympathetic link. It would. Which, by your logic here, is that it does nothing to a spotter's link, and the sympathetic magic is a spotting link, thusly, it does nothing to sympathetic magic links either. Huzzah!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Aug 6 2007, 04:12 PM
Post #70


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



The mistake is here:
QUOTE (Demonseed Elite)
QUOTE (toturi)
What is the point of origin for a astral spotter ritual spell?

Mechanically, this should work similar to a normal, non-ritual spellcast. The spotter is choosing a target using line-of-sight, and the point of origin for the spell is at the chosen target. Note that a ward can prevent him from picking a useful target, though.

The point of origin is still the ritual team, casting through the link - thus being hindered by the ward.

If the spotter casts a spell himself, he would not be hindered in doing so... but usually, he wouldn't be able to cast at all, since usually he is astral and his target is physical.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 6 2007, 04:12 PM
Post #71


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,078
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 67



QUOTE (Tarantula)
Wait. If you get your spotter inside the ward, then the target doesn't get the bonus from the ward? You just lost any kind of credibility. Either, he should get the bonus always on spells incoming to him that weren't cast from inside the ward. Or he shouldn't get it on ritual spells.

Not, he gets it on ritual spells unless they get the spotter inside the ward. Why? Because, whats connecting the spotter to the ritual? A link! A link that someone can astrally follow. So, why wouldn't the ward impact that link the same as the sympathetic link. It would. Which, by your logic here, is that it does nothing to a spotter's link, and the sympathetic magic is a spotting link, thusly, it does nothing to sympathetic magic links either. Huzzah!

Where did I say that?

No, if you get the spotter inside the ward, they can pick a valid target without worrying about the opaque barrier preventing them from seeing where the spell should be cast.

That's all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Aug 6 2007, 04:14 PM
Post #72


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



I'll quote myself from the thread Talia made on the subject...
QUOTE (Tarantula)
After some thinking, I've come up with some reasoning to why the mana barriers aren't going to effect the ritual spell. This goes into some of the explanations of how magic works, but here goes... Magic targets entities. You can't powerbolt someones foot, you can only affect them as a whole. In ritual magic, either you have a spotter, who is the one who "casts" the spell at the target. Or you have some sort of link. Material, sympathetic, or symbolic. With a material link, its a part of the target that is still alive (its why material samples have a certain timeperiod of usefullness, afterwhich they don't work for ritual magic). That time period is only while the sample is still alive. Why does that work? Because, much like how you can't only powerbolt someones foot, if you ritually powerbolt their just recently connected foot, it affects not only that foot, but the rest of them as well, even if they might not still be connected. Sympathetic rituals take that one step further, allowing you to affect them through a magical link they've created with an object. This works the same as the material sample, that your spell hits the object, and then also hits the target, because of their magical link. Symbolic magic goes one step again, and allows you to create a symbol of the target, and use that to forge a magical link to the target through their similarites. You hit the symbol with your spell, and through the magical link, the target is affected the same way.

Thusly, the path of a "spell" in a material ritual is from the leader of the ritual, to the material link. The target is then affected by the spell, and gets a chance to try to resist/counterspell it. In a sympathetic ritual (whether sympathetic or symbolic), the path is from the ritual leader, to the object/symbol. The spell hits that, and through magics way of affecting only whole objects (which, since the target is "linked" to the object/symbol in the same way it is to a material link) it also affects the target. Thusly, no matter how many barriers are in the way, there is no penalty to using ritual magic to hit a target. (Now, the only issue is in the case of indirect combat spells, and how they actually get to the target.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 6 2007, 04:15 PM
Post #73


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,078
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 67



QUOTE (Rotbart van Dainig @ Aug 6 2007, 11:12 AM)
The point of origin is still the ritual team, casting through the link - thus being hindered by the ward.

Yeah, sorry, I think the confusion here is due to a misinterpretation of what was meant by "point of origin."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Aug 6 2007, 11:56 PM
Post #74


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



QUOTE
No, if you get the spotter inside the ward, they can pick a valid target without worrying about the opaque barrier preventing them from seeing where the spell should be cast.


This implies that the spotter could try to cast from outside the ward, which is not the case. The ward is astrally opaque and the spotter cannot send the spell through the ward.

The spotter has to go through the ward, at which point what exactly is the point of Ritual Spellcasting? Once on the inside of the ward he could simply drop all his spirits in to materialize. There's no penalty for that, so why should there be a penalty for having him channel a spell from a itual team?

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eleazar
post Aug 7 2007, 12:41 AM
Post #75


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 398
Joined: 16-August 06
Member No.: 9,130



QUOTE (Synner)
QUOTE
QUOTE
Does a ward interfere with a spell cast from within that ward?

No.
Agreed. See my earlier post.

QUOTE
QUOTE
Where is the point of origin of a ritual spell then?

Technically, the point of origin of a ritual spellcast would be at the sympathetic object (or its astral shadow).

To clarify: while Jay is correct about the spell using the sympathetic link to target someone, however the "point of origin" of a ritual spell is actually where it is for any spell at whoever is casting it, and in the case of ritual spells that's the ritual leader (and not the astral spotter since spotters aren't strictly necessary).

1st quote response:

If the point of origin for the ritual spell is within the ward, which I realize you disagree with, then why would the ward even matter? To say that the ward somehow affects ritual spells is to say it is somehow going through the ward. How is the ward affecting the ritual spell? How is the ritual spell being cast through the ward? The only way I can think of a ward making a ritual test more difficult is if it affected the mana INSIDE the ward. But we know it does not. So, if the mana inside the ward is just as good as the mana outside, why would it hinder a ritual caster? Its the mana that matters, not what is in between, because there is no path the spell takes. Of course, this is bearing in mind that the point of origin is the link, which I believe to make the most sense.

2nd quote response:

If the point of origin is the ritual leader then how does the spell get from point A to point B? The spell would be forming at the ritual caster, correct? If the spell is forming at the ritual caster, how does it get to the link? I think it makes more sense that the ritual leader is remotely manipulating magic at the point of origin, this point of origin being wherever the link is. In my opinion, the point of origin for any spell, is wherever the mana is being manipulated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

11 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th November 2025 - 06:59 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.