IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Questions about nature spirit power in SR3, Is there any resistance roll?
Wolfgang
post Dec 5 2007, 08:51 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 13-January 03
From: Seattle
Member No.: 3,899



The topic title and description pretty much sum up my question. Reading the section on nature spirit powers it sounds as if the target number penalty (equal to the spirit's force) of the confusion power is applied without any chance to resist.

It does describe a willpower resistance test in order to take any actions or make a decision, but says nothing about resisting the above mentioned penalty.

If I am reading this right it seems like it's mighty powerful to me. If so, how do you feel about this in your games? and do you use the rules as written?

If I'm not reading this correctly or I have missed something how is this power supposed to be applied?

Also, what is the area of effect for this power?

Thanks!

--Michael
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
Herald of Verjig...
post Dec 5 2007, 12:39 PM
Post #2


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



Yup, some of those spirit powers are really strong.

As for AoE, no. Spirit powers are single target per service unless it's a great form, in which case it's targets = force per service. Also, except for the conjurer, spirits must materialize to affect any targets that are not astrally present or to use physical powers.

So, confusing the one cyberzombie: single action, single service, easy.
Confusing the entire crowd of rioting gnomes: better just go with concussion grenades.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Dec 5 2007, 01:18 PM
Post #3


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,010
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



QUOTE (Wolfgang @ Dec 5 2007, 03:51 AM)
The topic title and description pretty much sum up my question.  Reading the section on nature spirit powers it sounds as if the target number penalty (equal to the spirit's force) of the confusion power is applied without any chance to resist. 

It does describe a willpower resistance test in order to take any actions or make a decision, but says nothing about resisting the above mentioned penalty.

That's correct, there's nothing about resisting it. Can't be done.

QUOTE
If I am reading this right it seems like it's mighty powerful to me.

Yep.

QUOTE
If so, how do you feel about this in your games?

Hate it. It's far too easy to do to have an unresistible effect.

QUOTE
and do you use the rules as written?

I don't know if there was an actual houserule or just a proposal, but since the last time it got used someone suggested an alternative which may or may not have gotten approved. The answer, then, is "probably not any more".

QUOTE
Also, what is the area of effect for this power?

As HoV says, single target except where indicated otherwise.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wolfgang
post Dec 5 2007, 06:10 PM
Post #4


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 13-January 03
From: Seattle
Member No.: 3,899



Hey thanks for the quick replies!

I had assumed this power could be used on multiple targets (without requiring a Great Form Spirit) as a single service because in the example story in the magic section explaining conjuring Man-of-Many-Names summons a hearth spirit, tells it to use confusion on some guards (plural) and then changes domains. It seems to me that since you can only get one remote service if you leave one domain for another and as described multiple guards were effected that the implication was there was some area of effect to the power.

If it's a single target then that's still powerful, but far more manageable.

Thanks!

Michael
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tisoz
post Dec 7 2007, 01:27 AM
Post #5


Free Spirit
*******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,948
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Bloomington, IN UCAS
Member No.: 1,920



QUOTE
I had assumed this power could be used on multiple targets (without requiring a Great Form Spirit) as a single service because in the example story in the magic section explaining conjuring Man-of-Many-Names summons a hearth spirit, tells it to use confusion on some guards (plural) and then changes domains.

Let's see if we can make this work. The shaman instructs the spirit to use the power on multiple targets, using multiple owed services. The spirit can use the power on a different target each pass, while sustaining it on all previous targets. Sometime during these actions, the shaman changes domains, giving up any further owed services.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Dec 7 2007, 01:32 AM
Post #6


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (tisoz)
Sometime during these actions, the shaman changes domains, giving up any further owed services.

As soon as the Shaman changes Domains, all unused Services are forfeited, and whatever Service the Spirit is currently fulfilling is treated as a Remote Service.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th June 2025 - 05:46 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.