IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> REALLY basic newb questions, combat, general, etc.
omie
post Dec 15 2003, 07:06 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 5,873

i am a near-complete newb to tabletop rpgs. i've always loved the SR universe, and i came to be familiar with it through reading the novels.

i came really close to being able to join a group for some SR gaming during the upcoming semester of school. however, due to class changes the would-be GM cannot run the game. problem is, i've gotten really into it. so into it that i now have ambitions of GMing a SR game with hardly any experience.

i bought most of the books, and i've been reading them. my first question may seem pretty dumb to you veteran and long-time RPGers.

ok, after reading a ton of SR3 and going through the combat rules, i decided to do some tests between two archetype characters (meaning only i was sitting at the table throwing dice for combat, trying to get the hang of it). i did get the hang of it. i understand initiatives, dodge rolls, staging damage, modifiers, etc.

what snagged me is this: when does the combat begin? when do characters roll initiative? and, perhaps more generally, how is combat initiated? for example, let's say i'm running a game and one of my players decides to attack someone. ok...so does he automatically go first for initiating the attack? let's say his initiative is really low...does the NPC he's attacking get to go first? do i announce, "the troll sees you reach for your gun." and begin the trolls combat phase instead of the player's? how do you go from just walking around a Stuffer Shack to combat turns? i could understand if the GM always initiates combat, then it's just "roll for initiative.", add details, etc. but what if you see a baddie walking around that you NEED to shoot, but he has higher initiative than you do. and if it's the case that he DOES get to go first, what about snipers?