![]() ![]() |
Jan 27 2009, 01:03 PM
Post
#1
|
|
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 14 Joined: 8-September 08 Member No.: 16,328 |
QUOTE Multiple Targets If a character is attacking multiple targets within a single Action Phase, he takes a –2 dice pool modifier per additional target. For example, if a character engages two targets with burst fire, he receives a –2 modifier for the second target. QUOTE Adept Centering (Adepts Only) Adept Centering is a variation of Centering (p. 189, SR4) available only to adepts and mystic adepts that allows an initiate to reduce negative dice pool modifiers to Physical and Combat skills by her initiate grade—as long as she can physically perform her chosen method of centering. SR4 p.189 : QUOTE Centering requires a Free Action, which must be taken in the same Action Phase as the Drain Resistance Test. The character must be physically able to move and/or speak freely in order to center, and may attract attention to herself. Centering techniques include acts such as chanting in Latin, dancing, making arcane gestures, and so on. 1) If a shiva adept shots Initiate 3 with six guns on 12 differents targets, does the reduce negative dice pool from adept centering apply for each target after the first ? For example : _ target 2 - 2 dices -> Adept Centering + 3 -> 0 dices _ target 3 - 4 dices -> Adept Centering + 3 -> - 1 dices ... _ target 12 - 22 dices -> Adept Centering + 3 -> - 19 dices 2) If the Adept Centering need a free action, is it necessary to have another free action to maintain for the other phase actions ? Or not action necessary to maintain it ? Thanks for your future answer. |
|
|
|
Jan 27 2009, 07:15 PM
Post
#2
|
|
|
Shooting Target ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,754 Joined: 9-July 04 From: Modesto, CA Member No.: 6,465 |
QUOTE 1) If a shiva adept shots Initiate 3 with six guns on 12 differents targets, does the reduce negative dice pool from adept centering apply for each target after the first ? I am not understanding how you'd have any dice to shoot at 12 targets. For example : _ target 2 - 2 dices -> Adept Centering + 3 -> 0 dices _ target 3 - 4 dices -> Adept Centering + 3 -> - 1 dices ... _ target 12 - 22 dices -> Adept Centering + 3 -> - 19 dices (Assuming skill+stat=12) 6 Targets = 2 dice each? ...split again for 1 die each? I think Adept Centering only effects one roll per use (I could be wrong). But even if it does effect all rolls, you'd still only have 1 die. |
|
|
|
Jan 27 2009, 09:53 PM
Post
#3
|
|
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 14 Joined: 8-September 08 Member No.: 16,328 |
Please, read again the first post.
it is the penalties for the pool dice in my example and adept centering reduce the penalties. |
|
|
|
Jan 27 2009, 10:42 PM
Post
#4
|
|
|
Shooting Target ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,754 Joined: 9-July 04 From: Modesto, CA Member No.: 6,465 |
Please, read again the first post. You'd have to use the Free Action in each Action Phase to receive the Centering bonus. Assuming you had the dice to make 12 shots and depending on the rules (sorry no book handy), I'd say yes you could apply the Centering bonus to each roll (since they all take place in the same Action Phase).it is the penalties for the pool dice in my example and adept centering reduce the penalties. |
|
|
|
Jan 28 2009, 06:01 AM
Post
#5
|
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,363 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 |
There is no clear direction as to how long the Centering and Adept Centering Powers last after they are initiated, but the wording suggests that multiple actions can be affected by one application of the Power. Therefore, it would seem logical that a series of actions in the same Initiative Round all should be affected by these Powers.
In the example provided by the OP, 12 shots taken in the same action would suffer the following penalties due to multiple shots (modified by Adept centering 3): 1st shot == no penalty 2nd shot == -2 dice + 3 = no penalty 3rd shot == -4 dice + 3 = -1 die 4th shot == -6 dice +3 = -3 dice 5th shot == -8 dice + 3 = -5 dice 6th shot == -10 dice + 3 = -7 dice 7th shot == -12 dice + 3 = -9 dice 8th shot == -14 dice + 3 = -11 dice 9th shot == -16 dice + 3 = -13 dice 10th shot == -18 dice + 3 = -15 dice 11th shot == -20 dice + 3 = -17 dice 12th shot == -22 dice + 3 = -18 dice GrinderTheTroll's argument that the distribution of even a huge pool of dice over the 12 shots would make most of the shots ineffective is right. It does not contradict the applicability of the Adept Centering Power, but it makes it moot for multi-multiple shots in the same action. |
|
|
|
Jan 28 2009, 06:16 AM
Post
#6
|
|
|
Shooting Target ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,849 Joined: 26-February 02 From: Melbourne, Australia Member No.: 872 |
Why not use suppressive fire for that many targets?
I always saw that power as being useful for pistol adepts more than anything else. - J. |
|
|
|
Jan 28 2009, 06:22 AM
Post
#7
|
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,363 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 |
I think Waldham was looking for some fun with shiva arms, rather than the more prosaic suppressive fire.
|
|
|
|
Jan 28 2009, 06:36 AM
Post
#8
|
|
|
Shooting Target ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,849 Joined: 26-February 02 From: Melbourne, Australia Member No.: 872 |
I think Waldham was looking for some fun with shiva arms, rather than the more prosaic suppressive fire. Ahh right. In that case, I'd suggest dikote coated katana blades to remain with the theme. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif) - J. |
|
|
|
Jan 28 2009, 03:25 PM
Post
#9
|
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 992 Joined: 23-December 08 From: the Tampa Sprawl Member No.: 16,707 |
Dem dar t'ings was scary back in the SR3 days. Seen someone cut through a Ford Americar engine block.
|
|
|
|
Jan 28 2009, 05:55 PM
Post
#10
|
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,363 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 |
Years ago, an adept I was playing and his team were pinned inside an armoured van by heavy opposition outside. The van was parked over a booby trap, set to explode if they moved the van. (Yeah, yeah.. I know... we deserved the pickle we got ourselves into.) The adept cut through the bottom of the van with his dikoted katana to get access to the bomb, and another team member disarmed it. After which the team was free to drive to safety.
My one regret from the situation was not our stupidity for getting trapped, because we learned from it. But another player, an unrepentant power gamer who used to read RPGA games before he played them so he could get the treasure before anyone else could ( I only suspected at the time of this run.), didn't realize that one could buy dikoted swords, and offered a generous trade (Remember this guy got ALL the goodies.) for the sword. I took the high road (Fool!) and told him the truth about the availability of dikoted weapons. |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 18th November 2025 - 11:29 AM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.