IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Micro Transceiver, What matrix attributes does it have?
Maxwell
post Aug 3 2009, 09:22 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 29-May 09
Member No.: 17,218



Hi there,

if I buy a rating 6 micro transceiver, what device rating does it have? The rules are just talkin about a signal rating of 6, but what about respons, firewall and system.

And what can I do with it? Can I upload an encryption programm so that nobody can alter the datastream or listen to our communication?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stingray
post Aug 3 2009, 11:03 AM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 673
Joined: 21-March 09
Member No.: 17,002



QUOTE (Maxwell @ Aug 3 2009, 12:22 PM) *
Hi there,

if I buy a rating 6 micro transceiver, what device rating does it have? The rules are just talkin about a signal rating of 6, but what about respons, firewall and system.

And what can I do with it? Can I upload an encryption programm so that nobody can alter the datastream or listen to our communication?

"Transciver's Signal rating is equal to its Device Rating", so rating 6 Transciver is rating 6 device, no responce,firewall
or system..I am not sure but i think it can be slaved to your commlink and sharing it's responce,system and firewall..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Maxwell
post Aug 3 2009, 11:59 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 29-May 09
Member No.: 17,218



But as any other device in SR4 it must have device rating. What is it then?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stingray
post Aug 3 2009, 12:33 PM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 673
Joined: 21-March 09
Member No.: 17,002



QUOTE (Maxwell @ Aug 3 2009, 02:59 PM) *
But as any other device in SR4 it must have device rating. What is it then?

..If (?) slaving to the commlink it uses commlinks signal rating as device rating.(IMO)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
otakusensei
post Aug 3 2009, 02:28 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 695
Joined: 2-January 07
From: He has here a minute ago...
Member No.: 10,514



First thing, slaving a device does not change it's device rating.

According to SR4A, the MT has a signal rating equal to it's device rating. That would be for purposes of determining the range at which two units could speak with each other. Yes, you could load an agent on to the node to act as IC and run encryption, and I believe you can run encryption directly.

Because it is a device, and not a commlink, you cannot take comm calls on it or do any of the fun things a commlink can do. Effectively, it's only ever going to do what's written on the tin. To secure it you're better off slaving it to your commlink. You might also want to look into ECCM if you're running encryption as well. A dedicated Electronic Warfare agent is always a good idea if you can swing it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Maxwell
post Aug 3 2009, 03:47 PM
Post #6


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 29-May 09
Member No.: 17,218



That means that a rating 6 microtransceiver has a signal rating of 6 and also respons, firewall and system rating of 6. Is that right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deek
post Aug 3 2009, 03:53 PM
Post #7


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,706
Joined: 30-June 06
From: Fort Wayne, IN
Member No.: 8,814



QUOTE (Maxwell @ Aug 3 2009, 11:47 AM) *
That means that a rating 6 microtransceiver has a signal rating of 6 and also respons, firewall and system rating of 6. Is that right?

I believe that is the correct, but you can't run a persona, load programs or agents to it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DWC
post Aug 3 2009, 03:53 PM
Post #8


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,973
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Fairfax, VA
Member No.: 13,526



QUOTE (Maxwell @ Aug 3 2009, 10:47 AM) *
That means that a rating 6 microtransceiver has a signal rating of 6 and also respons, firewall and system rating of 6. Is that right?


That is correct. It is treated as having a 6 in each of its' matrix attributes. It will have limits in what you can do with it (set by the GM), but by definition will have a 6 in Response, System, and Firewall.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2020 - 10:41 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.