IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Benshai
post Aug 21 2009, 04:07 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-August 09
Member No.: 17,529



In the S4a book its mentioned in the examples of Drain, that hits while casting a Combat spell directly adds to the Drain value. Where is the exact rule in the book?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
McAllister
post Aug 21 2009, 04:13 PM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Joined: 16-June 09
Member No.: 17,282



Welcome to Dumpshock!

It's in the BBB (which, I recently learned, stands for Big Black Book, and refers to the core rulebook) in the section on spells where direct combat spells and indirect combat spells are defined. The rule (which was optional before SR4A and is no longer listed as optional; make of that what you will) is that, when casting DRECT combat spells, net hits which add to damage also add to drain, because it's more difficult to channel that mana directly. Indirect combat spells, on the other hand, add net hits to damage with no such drawback.

Sound good?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Benshai
post Aug 21 2009, 04:24 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-August 09
Member No.: 17,529



Thanks. After rereading it I see where it says Direct Damage spell hits increase the drain pg 204 3rd paragraph.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
X-Kalibur
post Aug 21 2009, 04:31 PM
Post #4


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,579
Joined: 30-May 06
From: SoCal
Member No.: 8,626



According to the errata (since I don't have the SR4A, just the first run of SR4) it is still an optional rule. See this link http://shadowrun4.com/resources/sr4a/sr4a_changes.pdf

However, that in mind, if you find that the drain on indirect spells is too low, use the same formula. Drain = ((F/2) + spell mod) + net hits. So if you throw a Force 4 Lightning Ball You have ((4/2) + 5) = 7, yes? Now if they want to add in net hits to increase the damage, you add to the final value.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mäx
post Aug 21 2009, 05:35 PM
Post #5


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,803
Joined: 3-February 08
From: Finland
Member No.: 15,628



QUOTE (McAllister @ Aug 21 2009, 07:13 PM) *
Welcome to Dumpshock!

It's in the BBB (which, I recently learned, stands for Big Black Book, and refers to the core rulebook) in the section on spells where direct combat spells and indirect combat spells are defined. The rule (which was optional before SR4A and is no longer listed as optional; make of that what you will)

That rule didn't excist before SR4A, second version of that book made it an optional rule.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TeOdio
post Aug 22 2009, 06:44 AM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 344
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Wherever this piece of meat rests.
Member No.: 6,937



Yes. The print release of the new and awesome BBB says it is optional to calculate the drain that way (even though the example a couple pages before follows the optional, not the standard rule, hehe). I've never had a problem with the drain as it has been calculated. As an optional rule I thinks it is utter shite for many reasons well articulated on other threads. If you think combat spells are too overpowered, there are better things to "house rule". You can cap the force to the magic rating of the caster, or let targets get a damage resistance test after getting hit by a spell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th August 2025 - 12:50 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.