IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Spirit Power: Confusion, Single or Multiple target?
Suriyel
post Mar 9 2004, 08:23 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,029



I'm left somewhat baffled as to whether the Confusion power (for [nature]spirits) is single target or multiple target. The confusion text (pp 263 BBB) does not explicity state it affects multiple targets, but the text includes lots of plurals (charcters, victims). Also, the Man-of-Many-Names example (pp 184 BBB) has him ordering a hearth spirit to use its confusion power on a group of guards. I'm guessing it would be single target, but would like to know for sure.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
L.D
post Mar 9 2004, 09:49 AM
Post #2


Harlequin
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 331
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 861



It gets even better, becuase in MitS on page 107 about Great nature spirits you have:

QUOTE
Great nature spirits may use their powers simultaneously on a number of targets equal to the sprits Force.


I mailed Kenson about this earlier, but the answer I got is not on this computer. I'll look it up and post it though.

Edit: This is what Kenson said about it:

QUOTE
I'll try and answer your questions as best I can. It looks to me like we're dealing with some slight inconsistencies in SR3 and MITS, some possibly holdovers from previous editions. Here's what I'd recommend:

Accident: One target at a time, up to (Force) targets at once for great spirits.

Concealment: (Force) subjects at once, (Force x 5)subjects at once for great spirits.

Confusion: One target at a time, up to (Force) targets at once for great spirits.

Engulf: One target at a time, great spirits can engulf an area up to (Force) meters in radius.

Fear: One target at a time, up to (Force) targets at once for great spirits.

Guard: One target at a time, up to (Force) targets at once for great spirits.

Movement: One target at a time, up to (Force) targets at once for great
spirits.

In either case, I'd say that the maximum number of targets a spirit can affect at once is equal to its Force, it's just that great spirits can afford more targets with a single use of a power (and can therefore sustain more powers affecting more people at once).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lilt
post Mar 9 2004, 10:08 AM
Post #3


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,965
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Edinburgh, Scotland
Member No.: 2,032



I think asked the same question on some boards a while back, the consensus was that they could only use it on a single target each Complex Action. IE: You can order a spirit to use confusion on multiple targets as a single service (up to the limit of # of powers sustained = force), but the spirit must spend a complex action to confuse each of them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Apathy
post Mar 9 2004, 02:47 PM
Post #4


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,408
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Reston VA, USA
Member No.: 6,046



QUOTE
but the spirit must spend a complex action to confuse each of them.

But the confuse power only affects opponents for a turn, right?

So if a manifested force 6 hearth spirit has init=6+1D6+10 => 19, then he can affect 3 enemies with confusion that turn (3 complex actions) even though his force would allow him to affect 6?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rev
post Mar 9 2004, 05:57 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 675
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Seattle
Member No.: 2,034



It is a sustained power.

The spirit starts confusing a target, and that target remains confused until the spirit turns off the power, or is destroyed. While the spirit is confusing a target it is busy and can't do much else (I would say it can defend itself in melee but cannot attack, for example).

So yea a spirit could confuse a different target on each of its actions, but it would only ever be confusing one of them at a time (unless it was a great form).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spotlite
post Mar 9 2004, 06:46 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 611
Joined: 21-October 03
From: Yorkshire Toxic Zone
Member No.: 5,752



P7, Critters, under action:

QUOTE
Certain powers are exclusive...

snip



Neither Confusion nor Concealment are exclusive, and both are sustained, so a being may have both up at the same time, concealing friends while confusing enemies. That means it could use confusion on multiple opponents, it would just have to do them one at a time.

Have a read further down the same page....

QUOTE
Sustained powers can be maintained by the critter for a length of time at no effort or cost. Because these powers are innate to such critters they do not suffer from any strain or target number modifiers for sustaining an effect, taking damage does not disrupt their ability to sustain an effect, and they need not maintain line of sight to the target (though targets who leave a nature spirit's domain are no longer affected by the spirits' powers).

<snip>


Critters may simultaneously sustain a number of powers equal to their Essence


So that should cover that... :D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th August 2019 - 11:48 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.