IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Flechette Rounds, Rule Clarification
theartthief
post Mar 10 2004, 06:17 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 1-March 04
From: Gulf Coast
Member No.: 6,111



Ok, this may be picking at straws but something is bothering me. I have a copy of SR3 (12th ed. if anyone cares) and I am reading about flechette rounds.

On page 116 it states that the higher of ballistic or 2*impact armor is used against flechette rounds.

On page 280 it states that the rounds "... will cut through standard ballistic armor."

So, which is it? Do my players get to bypass ballistic armor or not. Personally I don't care I just wanted to get some other thoughts on this.

If it truly does by-pass ballistic, then the Ares Viper Silvergun will most likely be getting new use... ;)

- theartthief
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shockwave_IIc
post Mar 10 2004, 06:18 AM
Post #2


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,512
Joined: 16-August 03
From: Northampton
Member No.: 5,499



May i suggest you do a search on the topic for this has been brought up before..............
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grendel
post Mar 10 2004, 06:22 AM
Post #3


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,763
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Special Hell
Member No.: 284



The rules are on p. 116. The text on p. 280 (gear section, right?) is most likely flavor text or description.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Austere Emancipa...
post Mar 10 2004, 11:37 AM
Post #4


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,889
Joined: 3-August 03
From: A CPI rank 1 country
Member No.: 5,222



Yeah. Just stick to the rules of Flechette ammo. If you start thinking about it, your head's gonna explode.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Mar 10 2004, 05:06 PM
Post #5


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



By "cutting through" I think they mean that no special penalty is applied. If you want you could reduce ballistic by 1/2, but most of the time twice impact is going to be the value used anyway.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2019 - 01:35 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.