![]() |
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Post
#1
|
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 76 Joined: 29-August 10 Member No.: 18,981 ![]() |
What happens if I use 2 ranged weapons (one in each hand) both with Recoil Compensation 3 and I make a Full Auto attack with each one?
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#2
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 366 Joined: 17-March 10 Member No.: 18,317 ![]() |
Works as usual: Split dice pool, then apply modifiers to each of the two pools. For further reference see p. 150, SR4A.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#3
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,803 Joined: 3-February 08 From: Finland Member No.: 15,628 ![]() |
What happens if I use 2 ranged weapons (one in each hand) both with Recoil Compensation 3 and I make a Full Auto attack with each one? Depend on what you mean by full auto, if you mean a long bursts then what modular man said is correct. But if you mean a full burst, then that doesn't work as it's a complex action. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#4
|
|
Advocatus Diaboli ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 13,994 Joined: 20-November 07 From: USA Member No.: 14,282 ![]() |
There's some debate about what to do with the uncompensated recoil. I'd make it count fully to both, because it penalizes the shooter more. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Does the OP mean 'right hand *then* left hand', or 'both together'? |
|
|
![]()
Post
#5
|
|
Immortal Elf ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 14,358 Joined: 2-December 07 From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Member No.: 14,465 ![]() |
Ah, American-style shooting. Shoot, shoot, shoot some more, and hope one of the bullets hits the target.
Or, as the old Western Gunslingers put it, "One good shot is better than six bad ones." |
|
|
![]()
Post
#6
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,579 Joined: 30-May 06 From: SoCal Member No.: 8,626 ![]() |
Ah, American-style shooting. Shoot, shoot, shoot some more, and hope one of the bullets hits the target. Or, as the old Western Gunslingers put it, "One good shot is better than six bad ones." You don't need to be a good shot when you can put enough rounds down range. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#7
|
|
Advocatus Diaboli ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 13,994 Joined: 20-November 07 From: USA Member No.: 14,282 ![]() |
Besides, SR completely dispenses with that. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) Your guns should have 5 RC minimum.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#8
|
|
Immortal Elf ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 14,358 Joined: 2-December 07 From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Member No.: 14,465 ![]() |
You don't need to be a good shot when you can put enough rounds down range. Right... Reminds me of a funny story I heard from some fellows that just got back from "The Sandbox"... This idiot comes running at them with some bad AK-knock off spraying everywhere, screaming like a madman. Doesn't hit jack, not even the truck. They knock him down and strap him down. Checking out the AK, they find that the sights are set at maximum range, 300-metres or so. Through a translator, they're told, "That is the setting so that we can kill that many infidels." Apparently he's not the only idiot who thinks that, either... Skill is still needed. And, well, I guess in this day and age, "1 good shot is better than 30 bad ones." On the flipside, I'm really glad he was such a lousy shot. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#9
|
|
Prime Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,577 Joined: 26-February 02 From: Gwynedd Valley PA Member No.: 1,221 ![]() |
You don't need to be a good shot when you can put enough rounds down range. uh, This is so wrong it should just stand on it's own. QUOTE What happens if I use 2 ranged weapons (one in each hand) both with Recoil Compensation 3 and I make a Full Auto attack with each one? you end up on your back hoping the medic can relocate your shoulders without too much pain. Seriously Rambo momments aside since you can't properly brace the weapon withonly one hand you should get full recoil for both weapons on all shots-forexample the unbraced right hand gun is going to be shaking you so it is also going to be throwing off the left hand gun even IF that is just firing SS.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#10
|
|
Advocatus Diaboli ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 13,994 Joined: 20-November 07 From: USA Member No.: 14,282 ![]() |
Again, in Shadowrun, one shot is *not* better. All you need is RC.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#11
|
|
The back-up plan ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Retired Admins Posts: 8,423 Joined: 15-January 03 From: San Diego Member No.: 3,910 ![]() |
It also depends on if you want to hurt someone, or just get them to take cover. If you fill an area with suppressive fire while running across a hallway, it makes the enemy stay down and generally not shoot back at you while exposed. This can be done with a single weapon rather than two, but if you are in an action movie, sometimes two looks cooler.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#12
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 633 Joined: 16-March 05 From: 51° 16' North 7° 11' East Member No.: 7,168 ![]() |
You don't need to be a good shot when you can put enough rounds down range. uh, This is so wrong it should just stand on it's own. Wrong's a relative term when it comes down to miniguns in confined space. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/grinbig.gif) |
|
|
![]()
Post
#13
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 337 Joined: 1-September 06 From: LI, New York Member No.: 9,286 ![]() |
Wrong's a relative term when it comes down to miniguns in confined space. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/grinbig.gif) Someone else's problem field? |
|
|
![]()
Post
#14
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 113 Joined: 2-September 08 Member No.: 16,303 ![]() |
Quickie maths check...
Lets pretend I'm some kind of lunatic with sixteen dice in the pool, a Uzi in each hand, RC 3 on each gun, Ambidextrous, firing at a single target. First Simple Action: fire a three round burst from each gun. Eight dice a time. Second Simple Action: same again, but now I have uncompensated recoil modifiers. How do I stack them up? Eight dice for right hand, drop two for the recoil leaves six (five rounds after the first, less the three points of RC). Eight dice for the left hand, drop two for the recoil (for that hand only), and then another two for the recoil from the first hand, leaves four. Am I right or otherwise? |
|
|
![]()
Post
#15
|
|
Advocatus Diaboli ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 13,994 Joined: 20-November 07 From: USA Member No.: 14,282 ![]() |
Messy. If one hand transfers to the other, why not both directions at once? Your options include (but probably are not limited to):
1. Neither hand affects the other 2. Only one hand affects the other (huh?) 3. Both hands affect the others. Honestly, I do not know the answer here, after all the threads on this same topic. It never comes up, luckily. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) It does seem like your example (#2) is the least tenable. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#16
|
|
Immortal Elf ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 14,358 Joined: 2-December 07 From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Member No.: 14,465 ![]() |
And that's why a pair of cyberarms with Gyro-stabilizers are a nice idea.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#17
|
|
Advocatus Diaboli ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 13,994 Joined: 20-November 07 From: USA Member No.: 14,282 ![]() |
I guess. It's easy enough to get RC 5 anyway, and there's the ORAW STR->RC rule.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#18
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 113 Joined: 2-September 08 Member No.: 16,303 ![]() |
Fields of Fire, second edition. Loved that book.
Smeg it, I'll just have them track recoil per gun, should it come up. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#19
|
|
Immortal Elf ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 14,358 Joined: 2-December 07 From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Member No.: 14,465 ![]() |
Yeah, well, it comes up in my group, I'm pulling out my "Little Suzy Bullet Sponge" home rules.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#20
|
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 76 Joined: 29-August 10 Member No.: 18,981 ![]() |
Messy. If one hand transfers to the other, why not both directions at once? Your options include (but probably are not limited to): 1. Neither hand affects the other 2. Only one hand affects the other (huh?) 3. Both hands affect the others. Honestly, I do not know the answer here, after all the threads on this same topic. It never comes up, luckily. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) It does seem like your example (#2) is the least tenable. That's exaclty my problem too. I think I'll stick with "any uncompensated recoil is applyied to both weapons". |
|
|
![]()
Post
#21
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 222 Joined: 12-July 10 Member No.: 18,814 ![]() |
But if you mean a full burst, then that doesn't work as it's a complex action. To elaborate on this, firing a weapon set to full auto can be done in one of several ways, you may fire short or long bursts with a simple action or you may fire a full burst or suppressive fire with a complex action. In order to fire two weapons with the same action the action must be a simple action, thus you may fire short or long bursts whilst duel wielding machine guns, but you may not fure full bursts or suppressive fire with more than one weapon with the same action. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#22
|
|
Prime Runner Ascendant ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 17,568 Joined: 26-March 09 From: Aurora, Colorado Member No.: 17,022 ![]() |
That's exaclty my problem too. I think I'll stick with "any uncompensated recoil is applyied to both weapons". Which is what the rules actually state if I am not mistaken... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) |
|
|
![]()
Post
#23
|
|
The back-up plan ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Retired Admins Posts: 8,423 Joined: 15-January 03 From: San Diego Member No.: 3,910 ![]() |
SR4A, p. 150 -- Attacker Using a second firearm
"Additionally, any uncompensated recoil modifiers applicable to one weapon also apply to the other weapon." FauxKnight is referencing Arsenal, p. 163. It seems to be: Split the dice pool--use the smaller one if firing weapons with different skills. Apply modifiers--Note SmartLinks and Laser Sights do not provide bonuses when using two weapons simultaneously. Modifiers that apply to both tests: Wounds Uncompensated Recoil Movement Melee Combat Cover Modifiers that apply to individual tests: Range Tracers Additional targets |
|
|
![]()
Post
#24
|
|
Advocatus Diaboli ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 13,994 Joined: 20-November 07 From: USA Member No.: 14,282 ![]() |
I cannot imagine firing two guns at once at separate targets in different *range* categories. Jeez. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#25
|
|
The back-up plan ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Retired Admins Posts: 8,423 Joined: 15-January 03 From: San Diego Member No.: 3,910 ![]() |
Yerameyahu--Range I figure would probably come in when using different classifications of weapons. Pistol and an SMG at a target around 6-10 meters, would be short for the SMG and Medium for the Pistol.
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 13th June 2025 - 01:10 PM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.