![]() |
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Post
#1126
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
I'm off to California tonight and will be back on Sunday. I should have internet access the whole time but may not be posting extensively.
Atropos, try to get a post up while I'm gone. We're coming up on the 3-year anniversary (in four weeks) and I'm eager to keep the ball rolling. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1127
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1128
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 318 Joined: 22-September 11 From: Columbia Member No.: 38,630 ![]() |
How coherent is the troll? Would he be able to talk or did the pain knock him out? If Ellesar can get a response from him then he probably wouldn't try to treat his wounds before making sure his own life wasn't in danger from an enemy pumped full of adrenaline. Also, would Ellesar need the medicine skill to be able to determine the condition of the troll or will first aid give him enough of a general idea?
Roll for Perception of any weapons besides the shotgun: LOG 4 + Perception 2 = 6 Dice >>> 4 Hits |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1129
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
Good roll! Ellesar will uncover lots of stuff on the troll with 4 hits. I'll list that out ICly.
You do not need Medicine to determine the condition of a subject; first aid will do just fine for that. Ellesar's skill is decent so, combined with your stellar Perception roll, I won't make you roll for it. He will know: 1) The troll is not dead; but, 2) the troll is not conscious; and, 3) the troll is an absolute mess and will bleed out from his wounds very quickly. Like, in the next 30 to 60 seconds. Should Ellesar attempt first aid, it would be -2 for working outdoors and -1 for the subject's essence loss. Your emergency field dressing functions as a medkit 3 (per WAR!) so that would negate those penalties. That would make it 7 dice against a threshold of 2. Odds of success are pretty good (74%). |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1130
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
Jeez, what is this game coming to? We shoot 'em and then heal 'em?
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1131
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
You don't have to. Even if he's stabilized his outlook is questionable. Losing a boatload of blood in the mountains in November is not a successful strategy for survival.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1132
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
In the interests of continued progress, I will be doing my best to add at least one substantial post each week regardless of response. Pbangarth, please feel free to advance the plot as you see fit. Atropos, post when you can.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1133
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
From your IC post, Tecumseh, I gather that Gunny is the last person standing in the valley. Is that right?
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1134
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
Correct. He's conducting a tactical withdrawal.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1135
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
Stogie doesn't have much in the way of social skills. There's Etiquette but that's not directly applicable here. Negotiation or Leadership would work, neither of which Stogie has. You can roll (defaulting) if you like.
Ellesar does have those skills, plus decent dice pools. Atropos, if you get this in a timely manner you can roll them. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1136
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 318 Joined: 22-September 11 From: Columbia Member No.: 38,630 ![]() |
Fifteen...hour work days....slowly stealing my soul....must not give in.....
Everything should be back to normal for me starting this Monday. Until then I'll be doing my mundane zombified reading with sparse posting. I remember the mention of a weak signal between Stogie and Ellesar due to the distance of their comm range. How much of Stogie's message would he get? Even taking a couple of words away from the message could greatly skew the meaning, leaving Ellesar to wonder what is going on. Once I have the information I'll get an IC post up of him sending his own message (either to just Stogie or to everyone, depending on the answer to my question) and addressing the dead/dying troll. Also, isn't Stuffer Shack a convenience store? |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1137
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
The first message was at the limit of our range, so I adlibbed some interference on that one. The second message sent to everyone should be in range for all to hear, and Gunny clearly reacted to it.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1138
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
Communication is less-disrupted now that Stogie is out of the thickest part of the trees and standing in a small clearing, primarily so that he can see what's happening in the river valley below but there's the secondary benefits of being closer and less obstructed than before.
His first message to Ellesar may not convey much information but the primary takeaway is, "I am alive. Are you also alive?" |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1139
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
Yeah! What he said.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1140
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
It's almost been a week. Post any responses or actions you might have. Otherwise I will assume no action and the storyline will continue to advance.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1141
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
It's been almost two weeks. Also, almost three years. The game's anniversary is in a couple days. Anyone still around?
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1142
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
Yeah, yeah. Still kicking. I'll get IC later today.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#1143
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
Gunny was dragging one of his accomplices out of the water. Did he leave the downed man on the shore or did he drag him with him into the trees? Is there anyone else visible down below? Or the downed troll up with Ellesar?
Here's a Perception Test in case you want it: INT 5 + Perception 2 + visual 2 + bonuses 4 - damage 1 = 12 dice ==> 3 HITS |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1144
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
Here we are again, for the third time!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Birthday presents Edge is refreshed Karma PMs will be going out shortly Karma may be spent as you choose, no IC justification necessary Stogie may find some recoil comp for Bessie on one of these goons, if he's lucky. We'll see. There are bones for Jake. Lots of bones. People are still attached to them, but those people don't need them anymore. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1145
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
Stogie Boosting STR then BOD:
MAG 7 + Attribute Boost 1 - damage 1 = 7 dice ==> 2 HITS each So, STR 5, BOD 6 each for 4 rounds. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1146
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
There are two guys in the river. One - Gunny's right-hand man from the look of things - is your traditional athletic human. He's about Stogie's size when Stogie's pumped up on mojo. (Stogie is a tad bigger with his current boost.) We'll say he weighs 85kg, plus another 20kg of gear.
The other bloke is a dwarf and a small one at that. We'll call him 50kg with 10kg of gear. The lift-and-carry rules say that you can pick up STR*15kg without a test, but only STR*10kg if you want to carry. Since this is a dragging situation, I'll say that you're not technically "carrying" the men, so we'll use the 15kg multiplier. With Stogie's boosted Strength of 5, that's 75kg. He'll need two hits on a BOD+STR test to drag the man out. Lift-and-drag: 3 hits Stogie can drag the heavier human out without needing to take off the man's backpack or any gear. However, he needs both hands to do it. I do the farmer's walk in the gym frequently and I know that 100kg is going to be too much for one hand even for boosted Stogie. Two hands, sure. One hand, no. Stogie's boost will wear off after dragging the first man out of the river. He does not need to boost himself to pick up the dwarf. However, making two trips will make the human on the riverbank vulnerable to the Sisters while Stogie gets the dwarf. Let me know how you want to proceed. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1147
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
OK. Stogie's resist drain for the two Boosts:
WIL 4 + BOD 4 - 1 damage = 7 dice. He needs one hit for each. 7 dice ==> 3 HITS, 0 HITS (Critical Glitch!) Well, it had to happen sooner or later. Stogie takes at least one more Stun damage, plus whatever happens as the GM toys with him. I'll go part way in IC and let you do the rest, Tecumseh. EDIT: I edited the previous post to match the actual situation. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1148
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
The good news is that I don't think your wound modifier counts toward your soak test. 4th Edition is a little hazy on the matter - saying that wound modifiers "apply to nearly all tests the injured character may attempt, except for resistance tests." 5th Edition is a little clearer on the matter and, I think, what 4th Edition intended to say:
QUOTE Wound modifiers are applied to all tests not about reducing the number of boxes you’re about to take on your Condition Monitor (such as damage resistance, resisting direct combat spells, toxin resistance, and so on). So you get an extra die back for your resistance rolls. If you get a hit it will just be a glitch instead of a crit glitch: Extra die result: a 2 Still a crit glitch. Pretty impressive. Your odds of rolling a crit glitch with 8 dice are about 0.4%. You can downgrade it to a glitch if you want to spend Edge, although the consequences are not extreme. I'm going to say the drain from the critical glitch is 2P. Downgrading it to a glitch will make it 2S. I can't remember what your stun monitor is at but it's possible that you might prefer the damage as Physical instead of Stun. If you take the two boxes of Physical damage we can say that Stogie ripped at the seams a bit from his astral steroids. Maybe some stretch marks for kicks. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1149
|
|
Old Man of the North ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 10,131 Joined: 14-August 03 From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe Member No.: 5,463 ![]() |
I'll go for the 2P if that's alright with you. He already has 5S and another 2 will get him close to unconsciousness. Seeing as the 'Ladies' seem to be pissed, I better hold the Edge to survive their ire.
I've had to survive a woman's ire before, and it ain't pretty. You wanna do the IC for the damage or should I? |
|
|
![]()
Post
#1150
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 3,301 Joined: 1-September 11 From: Seattle Member No.: 37,075 ![]() |
IC post is up. I mentioned the damage but feel free to elaborate. The healing rules are so generous that a couple boxes will be healed within a day or two, so it doesn't have to be anything severe.
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 28th February 2025 - 11:46 AM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.