IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A matter of dual weild weapon foci?
Pendaric
post Jun 17 2014, 03:57 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 993
Joined: 5-December 05
From: Crying in the wilderness
Member No.: 8,047



I run SR3 but in general, how would you run this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Machiavelli
post Jun 17 2014, 04:02 PM
Post #2


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,911
Joined: 26-February 02
From: near Stuttgart
Member No.: 1,749



Basically SR says, that you cannot buff the same DP with the same source. In these cases, only the highest factor applies. Means: weapon focus force 6 and one force 4, means that you only get 6 dice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pendaric
post Jun 17 2014, 04:13 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 993
Joined: 5-December 05
From: Crying in the wilderness
Member No.: 8,047



Is that an SR4 ruling? And I presume the extra weapon would (SR3)stack/ (SR4) split dice pool?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jun 17 2014, 04:19 PM
Post #4


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



You get the bonus dice only to attacks made with that weapon specifically, if i remember correctly.
So if you are not actually attacking with both at the same time, you get only 4 or 6 dice depending on which weapon you use.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pendaric
post Jun 17 2014, 04:48 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 993
Joined: 5-December 05
From: Crying in the wilderness
Member No.: 8,047



Rightyho.
Thinking of the Native Amerindian long knife and tomahawk style for a NPC. So good to check..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jun 17 2014, 04:50 PM
Post #6


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



Do remember that usually the secondary weapon has to be one size category smaller than the main weapon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KCKitsune
post Jun 17 2014, 10:10 PM
Post #7


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,188
Joined: 9-February 08
From: Boiling Springs
Member No.: 15,665



QUOTE (Stahlseele @ Jun 17 2014, 12:50 PM) *
Do remember that usually the secondary weapon has to be one size category smaller than the main weapon.

What if both weapons are of small size? Like two knives. I can see if someone wants to use two broadswords, but banning two knives is silly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpellBinder
post Jun 17 2014, 10:54 PM
Post #8


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,351
Joined: 19-September 09
From: Behind the shadows of the Resonance
Member No.: 17,653



Only checked in Arsenal (SR4a), but the section for Two Weapon Melee Combat (page 163) simply limits this to weapons of Reach 0 or 1, and says nothing about the off-hand weapon having to be smaller. And on the subject of the OP, the same page in Arsenal says to split the DP before adding modifiers, and the section on Weapon Foci (SR4a, page 199) does say their bonus is a modifier.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jun 17 2014, 11:14 PM
Post #9


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



SR3 had a Table for this somewhere actually.
Which weapon can be used with what as primary/secondary.

@KCKitsune:
Oi, i like to play Trolls, i should be able to wield 2 claymores as one handed Weapons if i so chose <.<
But yes, 2 small sized weapons should work i think.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Curator
post Jun 18 2014, 12:06 AM
Post #10


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 177,727



then there's the figure of one gun one sword, switching the favored weapon to your dominant hand in case of odd dice pools. i guess a troll could duel wield shotguns if he isn't moving, right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jun 18 2014, 12:30 AM
Post #11


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



Guns are a different Matter altogether.
In SR3, a Troll can more or less comfortably dual wield ANY gun.
Yes, this includes the Minigun and the Panther Assault Cannon.

Shadowrun Third Edition Canon Companion Page 94 and onwards are interesting here.
And yes, a Troll can wield 2x Claymore as well.
QUOTE
Trolls can wield any of the 2-handed weapons with one hand, and add only a +1 TN and -1 to power

The lesser races add a +2TN and -2 Power
QUOTE
Large Firearms (anything rifle sized and up) are typically used with 2 hands. A Character wielding a large firearm with only 1 hand will suffer a +2 TN modifier. Trolls are not subject to this modifier.

Due to how the Recoil works, yes, 2xPAC or 2x Barret Sniper Rifle is VERY easy for a Troll to do.

Technically, anybody can do it, but the loss in power and the added difficulty/TN make it unviable pretty fast.

Yes, Trolls WERE the Combat-Master-Race for anything Close-Combat related and if you wanted to simply do unholy ammounts of damage down range with BIG GUNS in SR3.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pendaric
post Jun 19 2014, 07:33 PM
Post #12


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 993
Joined: 5-December 05
From: Crying in the wilderness
Member No.: 8,047



How would this work with 3rd ed Ambidextrous rules?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jun 19 2014, 07:34 PM
Post #13


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



If you have Ambidexterity 6 you actually don't need the off hand skill anymore.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pendaric
post Jun 19 2014, 07:56 PM
Post #14


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 993
Joined: 5-December 05
From: Crying in the wilderness
Member No.: 8,047



Yes but what happens with the 'off hand' weapon focus bonus dice? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/question.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jun 19 2014, 08:00 PM
Post #15


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



You only get the bonus dice from one focus it seems.

So with 2 Knives it would be:
Skill+Force+off hand skill/2, if i understood this correctly.

which is, actually, in accordance with the general rule that any single test can only ever benefit from one single focus, if i remember that bit of magic correctly too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2024 - 09:23 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.