IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Channeling an elemental and Materialization?
Espiritu
post Sep 2 2004, 04:09 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



Could a mage channel an Elemental into themselves via the Channeling metamagic in Awakened Lands and use the elemental power of Materialization? I ask because it says that you get access to all the powers of the elemental at it's equivalent force.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Sep 2 2004, 04:22 PM
Post #2


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,006
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



Given that you are still physical, I’d say you have the power but can’t use it meaningfully.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Espiritu
post Sep 2 2004, 04:25 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



For the moment I need rational answers. Objectional are appreciated but I require specific reasoning.

I need to know why I wouldn't be able to use materialization when I am technically the elemental form.

Here's an aditional point...this is in regards to my character who is a Drake recently, and they are dual beings when in Drake form. Does that help or change any of the "aspects" associated with Materialization?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Sep 2 2004, 04:42 PM
Post #4


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,006
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



Rationalization: you are physical. The elemental has been channeled into your body. Since you are physical, while you might be able to materialize, the fact that you are already physical makes that ability worthless.

It’s like giving a fish the Water Breathing power or something.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Espiritu
post Sep 2 2004, 04:45 PM
Post #5


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



Ok so your saying that Elementals naturally rest upon the Astral plain and simply are relaxing the use of Materialization to leave the Physical plain? And that they don't actively use Materialization to move between the two plains?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Sep 2 2004, 04:50 PM
Post #6


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,078
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 67



That's basically what he is saying, yes. Spirits naturally reside on the Astral Plane, and they activate Materialization to appear physically in the Physical Plane. They "turn off" Materialization to return to their natural state in the Astral.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Sep 2 2004, 04:51 PM
Post #7


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,006
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



Correct, as the writers have not made it clear at all in my reading that they mean to imply anything but the general use of materialization (other than the specifically stated rules), being , loosely,“to make physical”. Given that there are no references to mages materializing on the astral, I’d say the evidence is decent.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Espiritu
post Sep 2 2004, 05:11 PM
Post #8


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



Damn... Thanks guys.

I was really hoping I could deMaterialize to the Astral plane and physically project onto the Astral for the duration of the Channeling. And move about as an elemental would. ^_^
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Sep 2 2004, 05:14 PM
Post #9


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,006
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



It would be nice. Broken, certainly, but nice :)

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Sep 2 2004, 05:19 PM
Post #10


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



Nice trick, Espiritu, if you could make it work. I look forward to seeing whatever other tricks you come up with.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shockwave_IIc
post Sep 2 2004, 11:29 PM
Post #11


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,512
Joined: 16-August 03
From: Northampton
Member No.: 5,499



But doesn't Channeling rules specifically forbid the use of Materialize to the point where you don't actually get it?? (Along with Engulf i think...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tenebris
post Sep 3 2004, 02:56 AM
Post #12


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-July 04
Member No.: 6,455



! Maybe you've just found the source of that old Lightbearer power to physically shift oneself into the astral.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Espiritu
post Sep 3 2004, 10:33 PM
Post #13


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



Tenebris:
Maybe you've just found the source of that old Lightbearer power to physically shift oneself into the astral.[/QUOTE]

Lightbearer?? Can you site this ability at all? I'm very interested in anything that can make my mage-drake "astrally versatile". Astral space is his focus...well until he turned drake it was. ^_^


And yes, I found out last night that it does explicitly forbid materialization and engulf.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Sep 3 2004, 10:59 PM
Post #14


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



do a search for "Manifesting" on this page. Wireknight's come up with SR equivalents of that ability.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kayne
post Sep 4 2004, 10:08 AM
Post #15


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 5-August 04
Member No.: 6,541



Interesting idea, espiritu.

I wonder, would you be able to astrally project, and then materialise?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Espiritu
post Sep 5 2004, 05:27 PM
Post #16


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



Wow, that's some strong stuff...Transubstantiating at Initiate level 15? That's insanely high up there.

Thanks for the Materialization info...but Transubstantiating is really what I was looking for.

Kayne,

read the resource that "mfb" provided. It answers that exactly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tenebris
post Sep 8 2004, 01:49 AM
Post #17


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-July 04
Member No.: 6,455



Sorry, Espiritu, missed seeing your request.

That initiate level would not be at all inappropriate - the ability I mentioned was from the Earthdawn books (Earthdawn Companion), and could only be learned at the 15th (highest) circle. It also came tied to one heck of a commitment - call it the equivalent of a life's vocation to hunting out and trying to destroy the worst of life-destroying evils.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canid13
post Sep 28 2004, 10:49 AM
Post #18


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 28-September 04
From: The Smoke
Member No.: 6,709



I could have a corrected printing, but in my T:AL it specifically says you can't use Engulf and Materialisation when channelling spirits.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zenmaxer
post Sep 28 2004, 02:21 PM
Post #19


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 241
Joined: 20-September 04
Member No.: 6,682



Thankfully.... There's too many glitches otherwise, especially with engulf. Can one astrally project while channeling? I don't have me books with me so..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canid13
post Sep 28 2004, 02:32 PM
Post #20


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 28-September 04
From: The Smoke
Member No.: 6,709



You can but when you do the channeling ends and you take the drain for the channeling, which is kinda severe - (Force)D I think.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zenmaxer
post Sep 28 2004, 02:37 PM
Post #21


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 241
Joined: 20-September 04
Member No.: 6,682



Yeouch, okay, thought so.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canid13
post Sep 28 2004, 03:11 PM
Post #22


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 28-September 04
From: The Smoke
Member No.: 6,709



Yeah, it has problems, but it's definately something my wolf shaman will be learning once he's done the usual techniques (shielding, masking, invoking).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 09:28 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.