IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

41 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> NSRCG - PC Windows Character Generation Program, Bug reports, hints and tips for NSRCG
mcmackie
post Aug 31 2003, 08:21 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



I'm starting this topic for bug reports, updates, and tips for the program NSRCG - a PC Windows based SR3 Character Generator. Ths is built on top of the original work of Paulo(Adam)'s SR2 CharGen.....

Update: Version 3.61 now posted. Rigger3 data courtesy of Karl Kendricks, bug fix for Otaku (frail physical attributes ->2 free mental points). Support for Magic Loss now enabled. German DAT files now posted.

Please post your bug reports here and not in the other forums.
thanks! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Aug 31 2003, 10:19 PM
Post #2


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



I'm having a mysterious issue where it locks up on the skills page when I'm starting out (selected race and not much else, I'm investigating what's going on to see if I can figure out a pattern). Aside from that, when you select the adept power "Improved ability..." (either one) it gives you a popup window and asks for you to click on one skill. Only the list is blank and clicking Okay doesn't purchase the power.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcmackie
post Aug 31 2003, 10:25 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



I suspect your skills.DAT file is corrupt or in the wrong location. That's also why you cannot upgrade/select a skill for your adept ability. It has to exist first.

Hmm. Okay, backup your NSRCG main directory... then try a reinstall OR you could update the DAT files by hand.

good luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Aug 31 2003, 11:08 PM
Post #4


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



First, I hadn't had the software installed on this machine before so it was a clean, full install. Secondly, I removed the program and reinstalled it and still had the same results. Maybe something isn't placing the .DAT files right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcmackie
post Sep 1 2003, 12:42 AM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



Current SKills.DAT file is about 28K... Send me a copy of your SKILLS.DAT file and I'll look it over. What version are you using?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Sep 1 2003, 02:26 AM
Post #6


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



I've mailed the .dat file to you. I did figure out what the "sticking" issue with the skills menu was, though. I was creating an Otaku and I hadn't entered the appropriate computer skill. It won't leave that screen till you do. The adept issue still seems to be hanging around, though.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcmackie
post Sep 1 2003, 03:54 AM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



Okay, you're DAT file is correct...

The problem is you NEED to select some skills on the skills page before you goto the Magic/Adept page. Without some skills to match to, the listbox will give you an empty selection list. (This matches your symptoms.) NOTE: THese have to be active skills, not knowledge or language skills.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TinkerGnome
post Sep 1 2003, 07:17 PM
Post #8


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,138
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 4,706



Gah. That was, indeed, the problem. I usually do the checking for that on the back end when I do it by hand, and totally forgot about needing to do it on the front end for a computer program.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Johnny the Bull
post Sep 2 2003, 08:36 AM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Abu Dhabi
Member No.: 318



McMackie, how do you plan on implementing complex forms, sprites and daemons?
I have some ideas but I'll need a rough idea of how the program is structured before I can see if they'll work or not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dashifen
post Sep 2 2003, 11:14 PM
Post #10


Technomancer
********

Group: Retired Admins
Posts: 4,638
Joined: 2-October 02
From: Champaign, IL
Member No.: 3,374



BUG: I tried to print after upgrading from 3.60c to 3.61 and it gives me a "runtime error 76, path not found" message and closes. Any ideas?

NOTE: This problem was fixed when I installed from scratch. It must be a path issue when updating.

-- Dashifen --
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcmackie
post Sep 4 2003, 03:49 AM
Post #11


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



QUOTE (Dashifen)
BUG: I tried to print after upgrading from 3.60c to 3.61 and it gives me a "runtime error 76, path not found" message and closes. Any ideas?

NOTE: This problem was fixed when I installed from scratch. It must be a path issue when updating.

-- Dashifen --

Did this mean you got it to work? If not, please email me...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcmackie
post Sep 4 2003, 04:00 AM
Post #12


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



QUOTE (Johnny the Bull)
McMackie, how do you plan on implementing complex forms, sprites and daemons?
I have some ideas but I'll need a rough idea of how the program is structured before I can see if they'll work or not.

Complex forms would be very easy to implement... I would have to enable Karma purchases but it would work like MageGear.... Somebody would have to type in the various complex forms... Possible.

Sprites: Because of all the possible variations, it would have to be a separate form with sliders... a lot more effort. (Note: This would be equivalent to Magical allies)... Is there really a demand for this?

Daemons: I can't find them... Can you cite me the reference?

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FlakJacket
post Sep 4 2003, 04:02 AM
Post #13


King of the Hobos
*****

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,117
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 127



Slight bug with Otaku I think. Physical attribute max is set at five and mental at eight. It's meant to be seven for mental attributes IIRC unless you drop all your physical ones, but it's still letting you have both.

Not really sure if this is fixable since it's getting a little complex, may just have to have the GM doible check and rely on player honesty. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jetmaster
post Sep 4 2003, 04:19 AM
Post #14


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 18-March 02
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan Canada
Member No.: 2,412



McMackie: I just emailed you an updated Skills.dat file for use in your next version, has all the specializations for Otaku's channels.

As for Daemons, IIRC they're essentially the otaku equivilent of agents (or smart frames.. cant recall which), being able to load forms.. of course I could be horribly wrong, as all my books are at my friends place where we game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tziluthi
post Sep 4 2003, 06:42 AM
Post #15


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 596
Joined: 18-February 03
Member No.: 4,112



Ah, just a couple of real small things: Firstly, the troll metavariants that don't recieve dermal armour, giants and the like, still seem to get the body bonus for it on the attribute screen. Secondly, and this is really nit-picking seeing as you could just correct this with the custom gear, there's no vibro-sword/knife batteries.

Also, did you ever consider allowing, somehow, for custom edges and flaws?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Sep 4 2003, 04:03 PM
Post #16


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Tziluthi)
Also, did you ever consider allowing, somehow, for custom edges and flaws?

Custom Edges and Flaws should be able to be entered via the accompanying Dat Editor program.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stonecougar
post Sep 5 2003, 04:09 AM
Post #17


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Kirkland, WA, USA
Member No.: 1,816



So, I start to install the latest and greatest version, which I'm quite hopeful for, what with Rigger 3 vehicle upgrades and such... and setup tells me that certain system files are out of date. I tell it to install them and then restart about 4 times before getting fed up and deciding to trash it until I can get some help figuring out what's wrong. Ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grey
post Sep 5 2003, 05:39 AM
Post #18


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,035
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Anahiem, CA
Member No.: 100



What OS are you running? It sounds like it may be problems with the VB6 runtime, you may want to download the latest runtime files from here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcmackie
post Sep 5 2003, 05:45 AM
Post #19


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



QUOTE (Stonecougar)
So, I start to install the latest and greatest version, which I'm quite hopeful for, what with Rigger 3 vehicle upgrades and such... and setup tells me that certain system files are out of date. I tell it to install them and then restart about 4 times before getting fed up and deciding to trash it until I can get some help figuring out what's wrong. Ideas?

I bet you money right now it's WinXP. This is typically an administrator priviledge issue. As in "you don't have administrator priviledges" even though you know you do..
Sometimes logging into a domain will reset your admin priviledges... OR you could try:
Re-start your computer and while it is rebooting be pushing the F8 key
to get to the set-up screen. Boot in safe mode and choose administrater.
Install it while logged as the administrater and then re-boot to normal. It
should be all ready to go for you.


This worked for someone else... Let me know if it doesn't.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jetmaster
post Sep 5 2003, 10:22 PM
Post #20


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 18-March 02
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan Canada
Member No.: 2,412



McMackie: Did you get the updated Skills.dat file I sent you with the Otaku channel specializations?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stonecougar
post Sep 7 2003, 08:13 AM
Post #21


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Kirkland, WA, USA
Member No.: 1,816



'Matter of fact, it is XP. I'll give that a try...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sir fwank
post Sep 7 2003, 04:24 PM
Post #22


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 26-February 02
From: harrisburg metroplex, pa
Member No.: 623



after finalizing clicking on any Spirit bought at character creation causes the program to crash.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcmackie
post Sep 7 2003, 05:08 PM
Post #23


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 774



QUOTE (sir fwank)
after finalizing clicking on any Spirit bought at character creation causes the program to crash.

Just tested with the current version. I was unable to duplicate. Please send me your SR3 file so I can determine what's going on... email: mcmackie@hotmail.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dark Scrier
post Sep 8 2003, 01:05 AM
Post #24


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 1-August 02
From: The land of unforgiving doom
Member No.: 3,052



Hrm. I have this one problem, but it's mostly my fault.

Sometimes, and only sometimes, if I click either the "next" or "previous" page too much too quickly, the program crashes. Just figured I'd mention it, even though it tends to just be me being too lazy to use the drop-down.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sir fwank
post Sep 8 2003, 06:11 PM
Post #25


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 26-February 02
From: harrisburg metroplex, pa
Member No.: 623



whoops, didn't see you just put up a new version like a week ago. it works now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

41 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 08:39 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.