IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rulelawyer Quiz -- Healing the Samurai, How many chances do you get to heal him?
Your Samurai is still wounded after successful First Aid, and your Treat spell failed to achieve the required TN 10. Pick the first TRUE statement among the following:
You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Total Votes: 65
Guests cannot vote 
RedmondLarry
post Oct 2 2004, 08:58 AM
Post #1


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



Simple question. I want the Canon answer. You may use your books.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shadow
post Oct 2 2004, 09:21 AM
Post #2


Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill.
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,545
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Gloomy Boise Idaho
Member No.: 2,006



My understanding is that magic healing and medical healing don't mix. If you try one, and it succeeds, you can't try the other.

I may be wrong though. (I didn't look at my book).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Oct 2 2004, 09:36 AM
Post #3


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



Shadow -- First Aid before Magical Healing works, but not the other way around.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Oct 2 2004, 09:39 AM
Post #4


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



He can retry the Treat Spell (as long as he gets a success within the Magic Hour). I believe (not having my books) that the specific wording is in reference to successful magical healing attempts.

Shadow: First Aid can be successfully applied before any procedure, but has no effect if applied after any other type of treatment. Magic can be applied at any time in the healing process, as long as it has not been successfully applied to the same injury in the past.

My house rule on this matter is that the same Spell cannot be successfully applied to any individual Wound, thereby making it possible to use Stabilize, Treat, Heal, and any other sundry Health spell to further a patient's recovery. All at a cost, of course.

Edit: Spellink!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Oct 2 2004, 09:49 AM
Post #5


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



:notworthy:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dakhran the Dark
post Oct 2 2004, 01:47 PM
Post #6


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 26-February 02
From: DC/NOVA, USA
Member No.: 80



Only thing I can see is pg 172 of the BBB, "Successful use of either spell precludes the use of additional healing or treating spells, or of first aid..."

I'd say try, try again -- at least until you get a success.

My house rule in this case is that while the healing spell is being sustained to make it permanent (as per pg. 178), the same caster can attempt to add successes to it by casting the same spell again at the additional +2 TN for casting while sustaining. The first failure on these additional attempts will "lock" the healing at the current number of successes. And of course, if the caster knocks himself out with drain, then he can't sustain the healing any longer, and it all goes "poof"...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Oct 2 2004, 01:52 PM
Post #7


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Dakhran the Dark)
My house rule in this case is that while the healing spell is being sustained to make it permanent (as per pg. 178), the same caster can attempt to add successes to it by casting the same spell again at the additional +2 TN for casting while sustaining. The first failure on these additional attempts will "lock" the healing at the current number of successes. And of course, if the caster knocks himself out with drain, then he can't sustain the healing any longer, and it all goes "poof"...

I don't mind the sound of that. I might try it out and see what it works like in game.

I used to increase the TN by two for every additional Spell cast, but decided to be a bit more lenient.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Oct 2 2004, 02:29 PM
Post #8


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



He gets to Treat and Treat and Treat till he succeeds. By the way what is it with all the Rules Lawyer stuff on this and the other thread?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nezumi
post Oct 2 2004, 09:40 PM
Post #9


Incertum est quo loco te mors expectet;
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,546
Joined: 24-October 03
From: DeeCee, U.S.
Member No.: 5,760



BBB, p. 194:
"A character can only be magically healed once for any single set of injuries."

Thank goodness for that. If my characters knew they'd end the run either dead or with a really bad headache, running would be very, very different. Healing is already too kind, no reason to make it any sillier!

Edit: Didn't read the question, the treat spell FAILS. Hmm... By canon, I suppose you could technically keep trying. Just depends if you count '0' as a positive number : P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Oct 3 2004, 04:44 AM
Post #10


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (nezumi)
BBB, p. 194:
"A character can only be magically healed once for any single set of injuries."

Thank goodness for that.  If my characters knew they'd end the run either dead or with a really bad headache, running would be very, very different.  Healing is already too kind, no reason to make it any sillier!


Joe Bob goes on a run against Ares. While getting out of the car in the alley two blocks away from the team meet, he takes a Moderate Physical Wound from a gutter punk that took a fancy to Joe Bob's nice new long coat. (This counts as 'one single set of injuries' if Healed now, or before Joe Bob takes any more damage)

Not having yet met up with his close friend and team healer Tommy Skyfeather, he merely shrugs off the wound's effects. Joe Bob makes his way to the diner across the round from the unremarkable warehouse that was to be tonight's target and checks in with the rest of the team. As they were running late, he fails to mention his little scrape.

The team puts their plan in action, but in the inevitable ensuing carnage Joe Bob takes a Serious Physical Wound as a result of a close encounter with some of Ares heavier ordinance. Back at the car, Tommy Skyfeather has his work cut out for him when attempting to heal his heavily-cybered chummer. (The 'single set of injuries' now includes all Joe Bob's Physical damage, as he hasn't received treatment for the first wound.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Oct 3 2004, 04:53 AM
Post #11


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



It all depends on how you rule that SINGLE set of injuries.

If you rules that the first wound is of a single set by itself and subsequent wound/s is of a different set, then the mage can heal one then the other. But if you count 1 set as all the wounds accumulated to that point, then it is another thing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post Oct 3 2004, 05:07 AM
Post #12


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



I think most GMs would rule that all damage taken up to a given point count as one "set" of injuries. It only gets differentiated if a character gets partially healed, then takes more damage.

First aid and healing can both be applies to that one set of injuries, though. Joe Bob, in the example, has 9 boxes of damage, a Serious wound plus three more boxes. However, first aid, when successful, reduces damage to the next wound level. This means that the damage drops to the lowest point for the next Damage Level (see Stages of Healing on pg. 127 of the main book). So first aid would bring Joe Bob down to 3 boxes of damage, which would be a lot easier for the shaman to try and heal. Which goes to show that first aid before healing can really make a difference.


QUOTE
Edit: Didn't read the question, the treat spell FAILS. Hmm... By canon, I suppose you could technically keep trying. Just depends if you count '0' as a positive number : P


If the spell fails, then the spellcaster can keep trying to use the Treat spell. The rules are very emphatic: "Successful use of either spell precludes the use of additional healing or treating spells, or of first aid." (pg. 127 of the main book).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Oct 3 2004, 05:11 AM
Post #13


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



QUOTE (SR3 page 129 @ 3rd paragraph, 4th sentence)
Biotech can never reduce the damage level by more than one level.


first aid (a specialization of biotech) has already been successfully used, ergo no more first aid can be applied.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 3 2004, 05:18 AM
Post #14


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Fortune)
My house rule on this matter is that the same Spell cannot be successfully applied to any individual Wound, thereby making it possible to use Stabilize, Treat, Heal, and any other sundry Health spell to further a patient's recovery. All at a cost, of course.

As a further house rule, I allow Ritual Healing to be attempted, generally at a hospital or the like. Basically, this means a hospital that has additional magical support can heal your wounds better and faster than one without. Yes, the same spell might be "repeated", but I consider the Ritual use to be different enough, and makes those magical hospitals very much in demand (and very expensive!).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Oct 3 2004, 06:21 AM
Post #15


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Cain: I like that! I have a tendancy to sometimes neglect Ritual Sorcery for some reason. :)

Glyph: While it's true that First Aid can be applied by Tommy, Joe Bob's low Essense will still make multiple successes with Health Spells difficult. If Joe Bob had received First Aid (bringing him to 1 box), then Treat on his first wound prior to being wounded again (only 1 success needed), it could have made a difference in the end.

Unfortunately, I happened to choose a set of numbers where it wouldn't, in fact make a difference (d'oh!). The newly healed Joe Bob gets wounded for a Serious wound (6 boxes). Tommy applies First Aid (bringing Joe Bob down to 3 boxes - just like the first example), then he still needs 3 successes. There are better examples out there. It was just pue misfortune that led me to pick those particular numbers :please: :D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Oct 4 2004, 06:47 PM
Post #16


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



Fortune, of course, has posted the Canon description of the rule. Very interesting spread of answers. Thank you all for taking this Quiz.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th April 2024 - 07:27 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.