Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie question here., Special armor spell
kill o gram
post Oct 12 2004, 01:15 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,742

Lately, I have been kicking around a yet-to-be-proven theory.

Now, neither I or anyone else I know have had any experience playing Mage characters(or any others seeing that I am quite new to this game), but the armor spell had me wondering: What would happen if there was a varient that, instead of having to sustain, would be allowed to run its own course without the mages concentration.

I'll clarify...

Character's armor spell is at 6 force points. Choosing this varient would cut it to 3 points. However, the reason is, that for every two successes, the spell would hold it's self, allowing the mage to pursue other actions.The length of time would be about one combat phase per two successes. Of course, the force would always be at half of whatever the true armor spell is.

Now, remember, I'm a newbie. So if there is a gross miscalculation or the idea is just plain stupid...

Please, go easy.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Oct 12 2004, 01:19 AM
Post #2

Runner

Member No.: 4,017

There are three ways to make that possible.
1) force 6 sustaining focus
2) quickening (see MitS metamagics section)
3) ritual sorcery aided duration (see MitS ritual sorcery section)

+Quote Post
Bane
post Oct 12 2004, 01:41 AM
Post #3

Target

Member No.: 6,654

In not so many words, Herald is saying that a change to something as fundamental as spell duration doesn't happen. There are 3 types: instant, sustained, and permanent. What you're describing doesn't fall under any of these three, and so cannot exist. However, the options Herald provided are all viable -- and while they don't exactly create the spell you have in mind, they accomplish the same thing your spell is meant to.

+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Oct 12 2004, 03:39 AM
Post #4

Shooting Target

Member No.: 6,465