IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Physical Magicians, Physical vs stun damage
Grimtooth
post Oct 25 2004, 05:09 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 312
Joined: 9-October 02
Member No.: 3,430



I have a question.

I am currently playing a physical shaman. I used 2 magic points for increased reflexes and 4 points for magical power.

My spell casting rating is effectively 4 but my magic rating is 6. If i were to throw a rating 5 manabolt at a target, would I take physical or stun damage from the drain?

Also since i am currenlty at work could anyone by chance point me to the book and page for rules regarding spell stacking?


Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Oct 25 2004, 05:23 PM
Post #2


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



Magic Power gives you a virtual Magic Attribute that is used for *all purposes* dealing with your conjuring and spellcasting abilities. If you cast that Manabolt 5, you would suffer Physical Drain. It's also used for calculating Spell Pool and anything else relating to any related aspected of magic. Your real Magic Attribute is used for everything else including any adept powers that may be dependant on it.

In addition, your virtual Magic Attribute will only increase if you increase your Magic Power adept power. Initiating without doing so will not increase it, though a Power Focus will (since it only applies to Magic for purposes of spellcasting and conjuring).

Not sure what you mean by spell stacking, though. If you mean just having more than one spell sustained at a time, you suffer a +2 target modifier on all actions while manually sustaining a spell. If using a sustaining focus or some other technique, the penalty is reduced or nullified completely depending on the technique. If you mean casting more than one spell at a time, it's in the Sorcery section of the Magic chapter in the SR3 sourcebook. It's almost never worthwhile, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 26 2004, 03:48 AM
Post #3


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



I think he means having something like an Armor 4 and Armor 6 spell active at the same time. In every case I can think of, only the highest force spell applies.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Oct 26 2004, 04:10 AM
Post #4


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



Stacking could mean three things, I will comment on the last.

Simultaneous casting lets you unleash multiple spells as one complex action. Your available dice must be divided between each spell being cast that way. Drain is handled seperately for each spell, but there is a +2 on each test for each other spell being cast.

Example: drain of manabolt, armor, and increased reflexes: each of these will be at +4 drain, but you do get to use your entire willpower for each test.

Page 181, bottem left, read carefully.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:57 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.