Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Bigity
post Nov 22 2004, 08:27 PM
Post #2

Shooting Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,024

How can they register the trademark, when I assume it is a trademark belonging to WizKids?

Also, if they are going to make an Xbox SR game, why bother. There are enough half-assed shooters on the Xbox already.

In my mind, the only system/console heafty enough to truely demonstrate all Shadowrun is, is a computer.

If it's Xbox, I see a game like Deus Ex 2. Crap from a good franchise.

+Quote Post
the_dunner
post Nov 22 2004, 08:33 PM
Post #3

Shooting Target

Group: Retired Admins
Member No.: 6,522

I'm not a lawyer, so please don't take my understanding of this as gospel. However, I worked with a patent attorney for a bit, so I've had trademark law explained to me. Again, I'm not a lawyer, don't bank on this.

It's my understanding that Trademarks are only relevant within the particular field in which they're trademarked. So, for instance, Shadowrun is trademarked within the publishing industry by Wizkids. If Microsoft were to use it within the computer gaming industry -- a completely distinct industry -- they'd need to first register the trademark.

It's where industries overlap or fail to overlap that makes for nightmares.

+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Nov 22 2004, 08:34 PM
Post #4

Runner

Member No.: 4,017

That's probably actually trying to trademark the custom Shadowrun logo that will be on the poster for the game that never gets produced. It'll be a slightly different creepy unidentified skull.

[edit] or the dunner could be right

+Quote Post
Spook
post Nov 22 2004, 08:35 PM
Post #5

Target

Member No.: 6,667

Six years later, I still have the promo sheet for "Shadowrun : Assassian" sitting in a box somewhere.

Sadly, after seeing bunk like what Halo became, I don't think it'll be any good if anything does come out of it.

+Quote Post
KarmaInferno
post Nov 22 2004, 08:43 PM
Post #6

Old Man Jones

Group: Dumpshocked