Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New MS Shadowrun game?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Everfast
Take a look. Interesting.

Team Xbox - Shadowrun
Bigity
How can they register the trademark, when I assume it is a trademark belonging to WizKids?

Also, if they are going to make an Xbox SR game, why bother. There are enough half-assed shooters on the Xbox already.

In my mind, the only system/console heafty enough to truely demonstrate all Shadowrun is, is a computer.

If it's Xbox, I see a game like Deus Ex 2. Crap from a good franchise.
the_dunner
I'm not a lawyer, so please don't take my understanding of this as gospel. However, I worked with a patent attorney for a bit, so I've had trademark law explained to me. Again, I'm not a lawyer, don't bank on this.

It's my understanding that Trademarks are only relevant within the particular field in which they're trademarked. So, for instance, Shadowrun is trademarked within the publishing industry by Wizkids. If Microsoft were to use it within the computer gaming industry -- a completely distinct industry -- they'd need to first register the trademark.

It's where industries overlap or fail to overlap that makes for nightmares.
Herald of Verjigorm
That's probably actually trying to trademark the custom Shadowrun logo that will be on the poster for the game that never gets produced. It'll be a slightly different creepy unidentified skull.

[edit] or the dunner could be right
Spook
Six years later, I still have the promo sheet for "Shadowrun : Assassian" sitting in a box somewhere.

Sadly, after seeing bunk like what Halo became, I don't think it'll be any good if anything does come out of it.
KarmaInferno
QUOTE (From the Shadowrun RPG FAQ:)
Why isn't there a Shadowrun computer game or MMORPG?