IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Control manipulations, net successes or just plain successes
Joker9125
post Dec 1 2004, 05:23 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 606
Joined: 17-December 03
Member No.: 5,909



Do you use net successes or regular successes when determining how many successes are needed for a control manipulation spell to succeed?

Example:

Give a target has a willpower of 6 and makes no successes on the resistance test would I need...

A: 3 net successes (2 successes = 1 net success) or 6 successes

or

B: 3 successes
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Dec 1 2004, 05:29 PM
Post #2


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



All spells of that nature are resisted. Actually you can shorten that to all non voluntary spells are resisted.

In this case it is net sucesses.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Dec 1 2004, 05:32 PM
Post #3


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



B) 3 normal successes, since the target made no successes on his spell resistance.

By the way, your defination of net successes is a little off here. Net successes = Caster successes - target successes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Dec 1 2004, 05:45 PM
Post #4


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



Yeah, toturi made a point that I overlooked, where are you getting your wonky definition of net sucesses?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Dec 1 2004, 06:04 PM
Post #5


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



Yeah, I think you have "net successes" mixed up with the semi-common rule where you need two successes to equal one success (such as with Centering or Complimentary Skills). As mentioned, that's not what a net success is. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joker9125
post Dec 1 2004, 06:19 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 606
Joined: 17-December 03
Member No.: 5,909



My group has always used that definition to the extent that I never thought to question it. Hmm..................this changes things.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bigity
post Dec 1 2004, 06:21 PM
Post #7


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,840
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Lubbock, TX
Member No.: 3,024



Yea it would. Greatly. Man, for deckers alone that change would be killer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Dec 1 2004, 06:21 PM
Post #8


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



If you've been using that definition throughout the entire game, yes, you'll probably discover the game is completely different if you use the correct defintion. It applies in almost every field, combat especially.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joker9125
post Dec 1 2004, 06:23 PM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 606
Joined: 17-December 03
Member No.: 5,909



weve used the correct rules for combat but we just never used the term net successes for it.

EDIT: Weve just basically been calling every 2 sucesses a net success.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Dec 1 2004, 06:26 PM
Post #10


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,754
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Modesto, CA
Member No.: 6,465



Don't you need Net successes equal to atleast the Threshold value (1/2 Willpower in this case) to make it stick? So, target gets zero all the caster would need is 3+ right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Dec 1 2004, 06:28 PM
Post #11


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



Yep.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th June 2024 - 07:38 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.