IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Focus questions, sustained focus and odd weapon focus
Sokei
post Jan 15 2005, 07:47 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 23-November 03
From: Chicago (post bug/pre nuke)
Member No.: 5,839




I have a character that wants to use a sustaining focus from char gen , which i don't mind but as i read the description neither one of us could find the answers to some questions we had:

1. when does it shut off (if at all)
2. he seems to think that mages can focus spells at the focus (im pretty sure this isn't right , but i could be wrong)
3. does he have to cast the spell into the focus beyond the first time.

the other question , he has 1 arm that is cybertech which goes with his character background. he wants to make his cyber claws in his right arm into weapon foci... i personally don't think this will work but he insists, and i don't have an issue with him having them if they can even be made like that. so my question is , can cyberweapons be foci ? and if so would they cost more, and could he even use them in astral space because he has no arm and cyberware has no astral signature the foci would float next to him im assuming but wouldn't function ?

this could very well be a dead horse and i apologize if so :grinbig: any help is appreciated greatly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jrayjoker
post Jan 15 2005, 07:50 PM
Post #2


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,453
Joined: 17-September 04
From: St. Paul
Member No.: 6,675



Regarding #2, see this thread:

http://forums.dumpshock.com/index.php?show...48&hl=grounding

:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Jan 15 2005, 08:35 PM
Post #3


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



A sustaining focus is active from when you cast the spell into the focus until you shut off the focus. To activate the sustaining focus again, you must recast the spell. The focus is dual natured while active, so wards and spirits can ruin it if the mage is not careful.

Actually, cyberware (once paid with essense) is effectively a part of the mage for all purposes, although some uses may not translate to the astral. So a cyberarm does exist when astrally projecting, but the cyber SMG will not provide any astral bullets and the cyberarmor does nothing to slow down the mana type dangers of the astral.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canid13
post Jan 15 2005, 08:43 PM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 28-September 04
From: The Smoke
Member No.: 6,709



Cyber Implant weapon foci are very cool, since it's rather hard to confiscate them or leave them behind. Granted, they don't suit everyone though :o)

Yes, mages can cast spells at the focus, but not through it. Active foci are a hazard, but they do give you some cool benefits - it's a balance :o)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Panzergeist
post Jan 16 2005, 08:52 AM
Post #5


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,362
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Poway, San Diego County, CA, USA
Member No.: 5,676



Are you sure cyber armor doesn't protect against astral melee damage? Troll dermal armor does, doesn't it?

Cyber melee weapons can be weapon foci, but keep in mind that they are ALWAYS active, since they are always in contact with the character. This means he can't sneak through wards, and will often get accosted by magical security, and any police mage who sees him will see that he is carrying a weapon focus, and possibly ask to see a permit.

As for sustaining foci, they sustain a spell that has been cast into the focus. The spell can be cancelled by a thought as a free action, but it will also shut off if the focus goes out of physical contact with the target of the spell. That's the target, not necesarily the guy who owns the focus and casts the spell.

All foci have astral forms that go with the user when he projects.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 16 2005, 09:12 AM
Post #6


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Implanted Weapon Foci are not always active. All Foci can be activated and deactivated. A character could walk around wearing Weapon Foci Hardliner Gloves, or a Power Focus ring, and only activate them when he needs them. The same applies to any and all Foci.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sokei
post Jan 16 2005, 05:43 PM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 23-November 03
From: Chicago (post bug/pre nuke)
Member No.: 5,839



thanks that helped with a lot of questions, now i've got another one for you. My PC's mage has his right arm cybered, if he were to cast improved reflexes +3 (SR3) into his force 4 sustaining focus does he gain any bonus for his cybered arm? , the description says that there is no cyber version of this spell.

Also if the owner/target of the spell focus were to either pass out, fall asleep , be knocked out etc, does the focus keep going?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 16 2005, 09:51 PM
Post #8


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



The cyberarm is a part of him, so yes the arm would be affected by the spell. The reference to the lack of a 'cybered' version is just so mages don't chuck IR3 on top of a Sammy's Wired Reflexes 3.

As far as I know, Foci become inactive if the owner loses consciousness or dies.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canid13
post Jan 17 2005, 10:42 AM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 28-September 04
From: The Smoke
Member No.: 6,709



I thought that Sustaining foci remained active while it had a spell inside it, regardless of the status of the mage - except when he/she's dead. Nothing can sustain it that much (save maybe Living Focus adept power).

I've ruled, and this is a house rule mind, that cybered armour such as bone lacings or dermal sheaths don't help on the astral, but orthoskin would since it's bioware and that counts as natural (save synaptic accelerator).

One question though, does a Troll have Dermal Armour or Dermal Plating. My rulebook says it's plating, so the Troll gets +1 Body for damage resistance etc, but I've seen many references recently to a Trolls 'dermal armour' applying for reducing power and stuff.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 17 2005, 11:12 AM
Post #10


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Canid13)
I thought that Sustaining foci remained active while it had a spell inside it, regardless of the status of the mage - except when he/she's dead.

Yeah, and so would an Anchoring Focus.

QUOTE
I've ruled, and this is a house rule mind, that cybered armour such as bone lacings or dermal sheaths don't help on the astral, but orthoskin would since it's bioware and that counts as natural (save synaptic accelerator).


How does that work? The orthoskin is protecting the actual body of the projecting character, but does nothing to protect his aura. The same reasoning that doesn't allow the Synaptic Accelerator to work with AP would apply to Orthoskin.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canid13
post Jan 17 2005, 11:58 AM
Post #11


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 28-September 04
From: The Smoke
Member No.: 6,709



Well, I've never actually had a mage project with Orthiskin so it's never come up. But it seemed to make sense, though I'll admit the bioware/magic thing is very complex :o)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sokei
post Jan 18 2005, 05:28 PM
Post #12


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 23-November 03
From: Chicago (post bug/pre nuke)
Member No.: 5,839



so basically i have to worry about my this mage PC running around with a constantly active force 4 IR3 spell being sustained by his focus. I do know that if he takes another 4 force worth of foci I start rolling for addiction but aside from that he basically has a free Reflex boost that wards/mage guards/astrally active beasts are the only real hinderance.... now that i think about it thats a bit of a time bomb waiting to happen , heh , but wow. Now im really wondering why none of my players ever went for foci before, aside from the occasional weapon focus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 18 2005, 10:17 PM
Post #13


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Even better, you might as well only use a Force 1 spell and Focus combination. It's cheaper in both nuyen and Karma, and doesn't affect the outcome since the spell isn't limited in any way to Force. It isn't as difficult to drop and then recast when you encounter Wards ... even easier if you use a personalized version of IR3.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frenzy
post Jan 18 2005, 10:37 PM
Post #14


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Minneapolis, MN
Member No.: 6,962



A mage with an IR+3 Focus and an F6 Shield Focus is a very dangerous runner.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Jan 18 2005, 10:44 PM
Post #15


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,754
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Modesto, CA
Member No.: 6,465



QUOTE (Frenzy)
A mage with an IR+3 Focus and an F6 Shield Focus is a very dangerous runner.

It's been pointed out before that IR+3 isn't the end-all-be-all of sustained spells. On the average, it will gain the mage 9-12 and it's doubtful they've got 8+ reaction to push it into 3 actions, well not at chargen anyways.

Not that I am down-playing IR+3, but it's not as unbalancing as a version that would work on a cybered-up sam which thankfully can't exist.

Speaking to Armor, don't forget it projects a visible force field around the target, so it's also not very incognito way to operate if stealth is manditory, but if things gets hot and heavy it's more than useful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sokei
post Jan 18 2005, 11:11 PM
Post #16


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 23-November 03
From: Chicago (post bug/pre nuke)
Member No.: 5,839



yeah having that F6 sheild focus would be a huge advantage for him but seeing as how he has a magic of 4, wouldn't he suffer foci addiction ? i don't have the books on me but isn't that enough of a deterrent or is it more of an annoyance?



also , he runs a decent chance at creation of passing out whenever he casts into the focus.

This post has been edited by Sokei: Jan 18 2005, 11:13 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Jan 18 2005, 11:14 PM
Post #17


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,754
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Modesto, CA
Member No.: 6,465



QUOTE (Sokei)
yeah having that F6 sheild focus would be a huge advantage for him but seeing as how he has a magic of 4, wouldn't he suffer foci addiction ? i don't have the books on me but isn't that enough of a deterrent or is it more of an annoyance?



also , he runs a decent chance at creation of passing out whenever he casts into the focus.

IIRC, it's double your Magic Rating in allowed points before addiction, but I could be mistaken.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sokei
post Jan 18 2005, 11:16 PM
Post #18


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 23-November 03
From: Chicago (post bug/pre nuke)
Member No.: 5,839



sorry forgot to add the F 4 sustaining on top of the F 6 shield foci , so 10 foci force total vs the magic rating of 4.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 19 2005, 02:08 AM
Post #19


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Sokei)
sorry forgot to add the F 4 sustaining on top of the F 6 shield foci , so 10 foci force total vs the magic rating of 4.

Once again, why Force 4?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sokei
post Jan 19 2005, 02:29 AM
Post #20


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 23-November 03
From: Chicago (post bug/pre nuke)
Member No.: 5,839



this is one of my PC's characters, im just stating what he currently has as his starting equipment, the force 4 sustaining is all the foci he is starting with. i used the example of the force 6 foci as a possible reason to start rolling for addiction , sorry if there was any confusion. My main point was to clarify a few things i could see in the books such as when they shut off ( if at all ) and whether or not they would effect the cybernetic arm of his, because oddly enough the only foci that my previous mages took were weapon foci and i had no experience with sustaining foci in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Jan 19 2005, 03:11 AM
Post #21


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



it's not that he stands a chance of passing out, it's that he stands a chance of taking a hit from focus addiction.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fistandantilus4....
post Jan 19 2005, 04:53 AM
Post #22


Uncle Fisty
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 13,891
Joined: 3-January 05
From: Next To Her
Member No.: 6,928



I do remember reading somewhere that all foci have to be made from scratch. not necessarily by the person bonding it, but whoever first enchants it. In this case, they'd have to personally make all the wires/circuits/pistons/what have you for said cyber-arm. not impossible, but definitely a pain.
Is this a hold over from a different addition, valid in SR3, or do just need to cut back on some bad habits?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 19 2005, 04:58 AM
Post #23


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



You can enchant pretty much anything. It's just easier with non-high-tech stuff, or things you make yourself.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Jan 19 2005, 05:53 PM
Post #24


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,754
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Modesto, CA
Member No.: 6,465



QUOTE (Fortune)
You can enchant pretty much anything. It's just easier with non-high-tech stuff, or things you make yourself.

Yeah in MITS they make a comment about enchanting a lighter or pocket secretary or somesuch.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 08:54 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.