IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Shapeshifter Regeneration, Question on the exact rate
U_Fester
post Feb 8 2005, 05:07 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 230
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 6,863



I have a question on Shapteshifter regeneration. I have searched my manuals, read back posts and the such, but I can not find the exact rules/rate for Shapeshifter PC regeneration. Any help would be much appreciateded.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demosthenes
post Feb 8 2005, 05:12 PM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 401
Joined: 7-June 02
From: Living with the straw sheep.
Member No.: 2,850



iirc a PC shapeshifter regenerates (Essence)/2 at the end of every combat turn, when in their natural form.
Also iirc, they don't regenerate at all in human form, and there's all kinds of other complicated silly stuff about regenerating drain and stun damage and physical drain and all of that nonsense...it's something of a can of worms, really.
Rules should be in SRComp.

[ Spoiler ]


[edit]Typos

This post has been edited by Demosthenes: Feb 8 2005, 05:13 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Feb 8 2005, 05:15 PM
Post #3


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



That was in 2nd edition. No longer valid.

In 3rd edition, all creatures with regeneration (pc's included) erase all their damage at the beginning of every combat round unless the conditions are met that causes them not to regenerate at all. Boom baby!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demosthenes
post Feb 8 2005, 05:19 PM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 401
Joined: 7-June 02
From: Living with the straw sheep.
Member No.: 2,850



Thanks Bit.

Note to self: must by SR3 Companion...

Shapechangers are no longer gimped by having a stupid version of a power that works inconsistently.

Note: what bothered me was the inconsistency, not the poor fuzzy-wuzzies being mistreated. Not my cup of tea, though I can see why some people might want to play one...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
U_Fester
post Feb 8 2005, 05:25 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 230
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 6,863



QUOTE (BitBasher)
That was in 2nd edition. No longer valid.

In 3rd edition, all creatures with regeneration (pc's included) erase all their damage at the beginning of every combat round unless the conditions are met that causes them not to regenerate at all. Boom baby!

Thanks Bit. I looked it up in 3rd Comp, but I guess I need to learn to read first. Must have missed it... MORE THAN ONCE!! :rotfl:

Just to clarify, they reg fully in both Human and Animal form at the end of each turn?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Feb 8 2005, 05:28 PM
Post #6


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



yep.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aes
post Feb 8 2005, 05:34 PM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 392
Joined: 13-January 05
From: Forgot where his meat body was
Member No.: 6,971



Which is why you geek them right after the mage. :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capt. Dave
post Feb 8 2005, 05:38 PM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 407
Joined: 22-March 04
Member No.: 6,183



QUOTE (Aes)
Which is why you geek them right after the mage. :P

Unless they regenerate...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Feb 8 2005, 05:42 PM
Post #9


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Which is why you have the mage levitate them, then geek them while they can't do much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Feb 8 2005, 05:56 PM
Post #10


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE (Tarantula)
Which is why you have the mage levitate them, then geek them while they can't do much.

Assuming they don't resist the levitate, that's actually a really good plan.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Feb 8 2005, 05:57 PM
Post #11


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



Sick though, Shapeshifter with empathic healing...

Forget offering free medical services in the barrens, you can finally get recognized by Krash Kart and Doc Wagon as a sentient and receive a SIN just like real people.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jrayjoker
post Feb 8 2005, 06:00 PM
Post #12


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,453
Joined: 17-September 04
From: St. Paul
Member No.: 6,675



So is there an allergy that limits the regen, like silver bullets on a werewolf?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Feb 8 2005, 06:01 PM
Post #13


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



nope, I think it either ups the damage code or the power, but I can't recall which.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jrayjoker
post Feb 8 2005, 06:02 PM
Post #14


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,453
Joined: 17-September 04
From: St. Paul
Member No.: 6,675



So the only way to geek them is to do overdamage?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Feb 8 2005, 06:03 PM
Post #15


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



Well, when they receive a deadly wound, you roll a 1d6, on a 1 they didn't heal and have to recover normally, otherwise they are a-okay (aside from potential magic loss)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jrayjoker
post Feb 8 2005, 06:06 PM
Post #16


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,453
Joined: 17-September 04
From: St. Paul
Member No.: 6,675



And that assumes they are magical, would the essence loss affect them in any way if they were not magical?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Feb 8 2005, 06:13 PM
Post #17


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



most shifters are magical, being awakened creatures, it would be veritable suicide to not have some magical skills
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Feb 8 2005, 06:17 PM
Post #18


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE (Jrayjoker @ Feb 8 2005, 11:02 AM)
So the only way to geek them is to do overdamage?

Arguably not even that does it. It says in the description of the power that they always regenerate all damage each turn unless they fail a regeneration roll. So unless they fail that regeneration roll, by the rules you could do 300 boxes of damage and they still get back up and kick your ass.

QUOTE
And that assumes they are magical, would the essence loss affect them in any way if they were not magical?
It would only affect them in that if they are attacked by a weapon focus they have to make an essence test at a TN of twice the level of the weapon focus, or that would doesn't regenerate. Beyond that, no. It doesn't matter.

QUOTE
most shifters are magical, being awakened creatures, it would be veritable suicide to not have some magical skills
Er, most trolls are awakened creatures, that doesn't make most of the magically active. Is there a quote somewhere that says a higher than normal percentage of shapeshifters are magically active?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Feb 8 2005, 06:20 PM
Post #19


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



well, they are dual natured.
that's a flaw for a reason.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Feb 8 2005, 06:22 PM
Post #20


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE (Nikoli)
well, they are dual natured.
that's a flaw for a reason.

Yep, while vampires aren't. Makes tham that much more unholy nasty.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
U_Fester
post Feb 8 2005, 06:24 PM
Post #21


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 230
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 6,863



Thanks for all the info. Now I can see why one of the guys wants to play this so baddly.... that and he averages a player getting killed every 1.5 games.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jrayjoker
post Feb 8 2005, 06:26 PM
Post #22


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,453
Joined: 17-September 04
From: St. Paul
Member No.: 6,675



Just because he can't save his character's life with some reasonable planning and sane actions doesn't mean he should get off the hook with a shapeshifter. I'd let him do it, but throw weapon foci at him at an alarming rate for trying to break the game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
U_Fester
post Feb 8 2005, 06:39 PM
Post #23


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 230
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 6,863



With both of our GM's I don't think that will be a problem at all. ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Feb 8 2005, 06:51 PM
Post #24


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



Remember, don't let him off the hook too easily. One of the most important and overlooked things about a shapeshifter is that a shaprshifter is NOT a human that can turn into an animal. It's an animal that can mimic a human. He should have to play his animal nature and dock him karma if he doesn't. Most shapwshifters really dont work all that well in scociety. There's nothing humna about a shapeshifter except their look, and only then only part of the time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
algcs
post Feb 8 2005, 07:36 PM
Post #25


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 6-December 04
Member No.: 6,871



QUOTE (U_Fester)
With both of our GM's I don't think that will be a problem at all. ;)

So your not going to let me play that IE that is a WereTurtle ninja? :(

On a more serious note I wouldn't mind playing a vampire. 8)



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 09:01 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.