Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Shadowrun WOD?, Comparison.
Falkor
post Aug 19 2005, 09:27 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 7,575

I was wondering if anyone has compared the SR4 rules with the rules for the new Worlds Of Darkness set. A lot of it seams to me to be the same system set up with different dice.

Attribute + Skill + Modifier = target 5 (D6) or 8 (D10)
Health is not set any more. It is based off a static number and you body/stamina.

I am not sure if I will like the new system or not, but so far I am not very optimistic about it. I have been playing Shadowrun since 1993, and I really do not want to see it die off. Please, let me know your thoughts good or bad on this.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
tisoz
post Aug 19 2005, 09:31 PM
Post #2

Free Spirit

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 1,920

there was a flaming threadc about this when it was still all speculation and leaked info.

+Quote Post
Nerbert
post Aug 19 2005, 09:36 PM
Post #3

Moving Target

Member No.: 6,280

The mechanics are comparable. Which is to say nothing more, and nothing less then the two games can be compared. Just as apples and oranges can be compared to each other. Just as SR3 and SR4 can be compared to each other.

The games have nearly nothing in common besides their dice mechanic. And when I say dice mechanic I mean the very basic dice mechanic for performing actions. What this means is, from my perspective, largely a matter of personal opinion.

+Quote Post
mintcar
post Aug 19 2005, 09:41 PM
Post #4

Karma Police

Member No.: 6,505

I think any fears that it would be copied from the WoD rules has been settled by now, or replaced with new fears.

+Quote Post
Falkor
post Aug 19 2005, 09:48 PM
Post #5

Target

Member No.: 7,575