Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowrun WOD?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Falkor
I was wondering if anyone has compared the SR4 rules with the rules for the new Worlds Of Darkness set. A lot of it seams to me to be the same system set up with different dice.

Attribute + Skill + Modifier = target 5 (D6) or 8 (D10)
Health is not set any more. It is based off a static number and you body/stamina.

I am not sure if I will like the new system or not, but so far I am not very optimistic about it. I have been playing Shadowrun since 1993, and I really do not want to see it die off. Please, let me know your thoughts good or bad on this.
tisoz
there was a flaming threadc about this when it was still all speculation and leaked info.
Nerbert
The mechanics are comparable. Which is to say nothing more, and nothing less then the two games can be compared. Just as apples and oranges can be compared to each other. Just as SR3 and SR4 can be compared to each other.

The games have nearly nothing in common besides their dice mechanic. And when I say dice mechanic I mean the very basic dice mechanic for performing actions. What this means is, from my perspective, largely a matter of personal opinion.
mintcar
I think any fears that it would be copied from the WoD rules has been settled by now, or replaced with new fears.
Falkor
Well sorry if I am rehashing anything. Most of the talk about this so far has just been in my game group. So far, most of us are really not looking forward to this. I think we plan to head out and get a small back stock of SR3 books to be safe in the next couple of years.
SirBedevere
I do think the game should have been called Shadowrun: New Era or something similar not SR4.